We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel Churrut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Churrut
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vera de Bidasoa
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We are from Barcelona and we regularly meet up with friends from Madrid to spend a few nights together and visit different areas of Spain. Our Madrid friends found this hotel, and what a superb find it was.

The hotel itself was charming - amazingly welcoming, exceedingly comfortable, beautifully furnished - and the staff were tremendously attentive and polite.

Forget earlier complaints about traffic noise - the town of Vera is now bypassed, and none of us had any problems with noise.

We ate dinner in the restaurant only twice, but this was because we tended to eat too much at lunchtime, whether in France or in local "sidrerias" in the surrounding area. At 25 euros per head including an excellent local wine, we all agreed that dinner was excellent value for money. The breakfast too was also very good indeed (and included "pa amb tomaquet") as well as the usual selection of cheeses, hams, cereals, croissants and other morning goods, as well as fruit.

Wi-fi is included free, and there is a wide range of books in English, Spanish, French and Euskera that you can just picj up and borrow.

All in all, one of the finest rural hotels that we have come across in the last 10 or 20 years.

Room Tip: Our friends and ourselves were both on the 2nd floor - huge beds, comfortable armchairs, and having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandemonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    48
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
83
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Churrut 3 nights. Our room was on floor 1 (1 flight up from the ground floor). The room and bathroom were spacious, clean, and the beds very comfortable. The building is in a tastefully restored old building, very charming. Our room had a private balcony, bordered by flowering vines and overlooking a large courtyard garden. There was no need for air-conditioning while we were there, we kept the windows wide open all night and heard very little road noise. Our room was 1 room away from the closest room to the road. The common spaces (lounge, breakfast room) were well appointed and pleasantly charming. Breakfast was a generous buffet. There is a restaurant attached to the Hotel and we would have eaten there more often but the menu was rather limited. One comment: for safety's sake, it would be a good idea to supply rubber bath mats for the tub... it is quite slippery. Bera and the surrounding region are simply wonderful -- we loved the area and would like to return.

Room Tip: The rooms on floor 1 have larger and more private balconies than the rooms on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BABASMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

A really charming hotel, family run, personal attention, a very historic building, a good restaurant and a restful place to stay. The small town of Vera de Bidasoa is close to the French frontier and at the western end so handy for San Sebastian, Biarritz, Pamplona. A good spot to wander, to use the mountain railway or just relax. For anyone sailing from Portsmouth to N. Spain it is a great stop for a night or two before moving on into SW France or into Spain...or before catching a ferry.
We were really delighted to have found it and would love to return.Stayed in August but looked a good winter possibility.

Room Tip: Garden view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irthlingborough43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

It is true that the suite comes with one king bed in the bedroom and a separate lounge, but… the suite is above the main road. No need for wake-up call, you will wake up by trucks. Please, tour all day in the mountains, and in the villages, where you can find cooler and quite places with air conditions at hot days. The owner of the hotel is very nice person, but for the price of the suite you will get only a ventilator. So, for the price of four stars hotel in the area, you get a two star hotel.

Room Tip: The suite is just a large room above the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ephi_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
204 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

As a travel journalist, this is my first ever comment on Tripadvisor in 3 years as a member/subscriber.. Hotel Churrut provided us with a sanctuary on a black and stormy night as we drove from Bordeaux on our way to Aragon. It is just over the Spanish border, some 20 kms from the French Basque Country.

Room 33 is beautifully designed with the largest bed I have ever come across in Spain. Lovely terrace with a view we discovered in the light of the next morning. The dinner menu with local Navarra wine included was great value at 25 euro and breakfast was excellent.

The hotel's owner is an interior designer and it shows. The staff could not have been more helpful which is never guaranteed in rural Spain.

Well worth going back for longer than just a one night stand. Congratulations on a wonderful hotel.....


.

Room Tip: Room 33 with a terrace and a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucetaylortravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

i loved this little hotel... very warm and cozy on the rainy days that I stayed there. It's an old building very nicely restored and the public rooms are beautifully furnished with overstuffed chairs and sofas and many antiques. A robust continental breakfast is served on a sunny glassed-in porch, and the more formal dining room offers excellent evening meals. My bedroom was spacious and had a small terrace overlooking the gardens. Housekeeping was impeccable and service could not have been better.

There have been complaints about traffic noise but I was not bothered by it, and I kept my balcony doors open each night. I was told that a bypass was recently constructed which accounts for the lack of oversized vehicles passing the hotel. A safe bet would be to ask for one of the larger rooms overlooking the gardens.

I would definitely return here for a few days if I were to find myself in this part of the world again. The friendliness of the owners and staff and the comfort and ambience of the hotel make it very special indeed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony/terrace overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank primrose87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lokeren
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Beautiful litlle hotel with well-equiped, good quality rooms. Very good buffet breakfast (with a good variety of meat, cheese, fruit, etc...) and excellent restaurant. Also very nice social rooms, where you can prepare your own long drink and read a book in comfortable sofas. But the hotel has two big issues: one is the nearby road, where heavy traffic goes on and off from very early in the morning. The second problem is the airconditioning.....from the neighbouring hostal. These two make such a horrible noise that a good sleep is completely out of the question.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twixelien1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vera de Bidasoa
6.9 mi away
Arantza Hotela
Arantza Hotela
#1 of 1 in Arantza
201 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Rural  & Spa Atxaspi
10.1 mi away
Balneario de Elgorriaga
Balneario de Elgorriaga
#1 of 2 in Elgorriaga
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hotel Baztan
Hotel Baztan
#1 of 1 in Elizondo
69 reviews
19.9 mi away
Iribarnia Hotel Rural
12.2 mi away
Hotel Senorio de Ursua
Hotel Senorio de Ursua
#1 of 1 in Arizcun
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Churrut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churrut

Property: Hotel Churrut
Address: C/ Fueros 2, 31780 Vera de Bidasoa, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Vera de Bidasoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vera de Bidasoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Churrut 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Churrut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing