We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like Home (if only my home were like this!)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rectoral de Cobres 1729

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rectoral de Cobres 1729
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vilaboa
Yorklyn, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Feels like Home (if only my home were like this!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have visited this charming inn near Vigo, Spain several times in the past 8 or 9 years, and always come away feeling that I did not stay long enough. Situated high enough to offer perfect views of the ria (like a Spanish fjord) from every room, the old rectory building was virtually rescued from ruin by the owners who saw its potential as an inn.
There are thick stone walls typical of structures throughout Galicia; the breakfast room, in partIcular, feels as though it sat unchanged through the centuries; speaking of breakfast, I must echo the comments of other reviewers in praising the quality of the breakfasts at Rectoral de Cobres.
The location is ideal for exploring Galicia and northern Portugal: it's only 80 km (about an hour driving) from Santiago de Compostela, about 15 minutes from Vigo, and 90 minutes from Porto. On one excursion, I visited the seaside town of Noia, featured in the 2004 Oscar-winning movie The Sea Inside. On another, Finisterre, considered by the Romans to be the "end of the earth. " And, a visit one year to the famous pilgrimage town of Santiago de Compostela prompted me to walk the 800-km Camino Santiago from France to Santiago several years later. Excellent restaurants are nearby, with several a mere 15 minute drive.
Beaches?? Hop over to Vigo, where there are several. Or take the ferry from Vigo to Islas Cies for pristine beaches with lovely blue water.
Yet, if your intention is to "stay put" -- as mine indeed was after walking the Camino and returning to Cobres for R&R -- you are also ideally located. Within walking distance is a seafood restaurant to surpass any in your experience. The inn has a swimming pool, empty on the occasions I used it, and a little bar where Juan Carlos pours the best brandy in the world.
Don't miss Recoral de Cobres if you are ever in Galicia.

Room Tip: I've stayed in several rooms, and all of them were wonderful. I don't think they all have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicacamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had a wonderful two days in a very cosy and unique house.
If you are looking for an authentic, very tastefully decorated house with a character in which you will feel like home, this is the place to stay. It is very close to the wonderful Atlantic coast and beautiful countryside of Galicia as well. The owners are very warm and pleasurable to talk to, felt like visiting friends in their house rather than customers.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cicekten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

It is located near Santiago de compostella. From the hotel you can see the sea. Your very near small charming beaches and Wonderfull seafood. The room was realy beautiful. The service is great. The owners made a book what to do in the area. The breakfast is the best we had. Fresh fruit and fresh juice. And nice local cakes and chease and ham.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We found this through the Sawday series and unsurprisngly it was excellent. Our room (5) was a great size and had a jacuzzi bath! views are very relaxing such that sipping G&Ts overlooking the sea at sunset is difficult to beat. Breakfasts are a relaxed affair but of a size that negates lunch...well almost!

This is also a good location to explore the area and is close to some amazing beaches for the days when lazing by the pool is not enough.

There is a very good restrauant at the marina and a cheap and cheerful family affair adjacent to that. If you want to eat in the marina it is best to make a reservation, esp if it is nearing the wekend. We went on spec on a Wednesday and, being English, had a table for 2100 thinking we were being 'very continental', when in fact it started to fill up at 2330! There were though loads of 'reserved' signs out even when we got there. We had no chanmce on the Friday. Three days is probably enough unless you want to do lots of 'beach' and are happy to drive furtyher afield for dinner.

Big thumbs up for this extremely friendly and comfy hotel that has an air of 'nothing is too difficult' about it.....and oh, the G&Ts!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nahrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We needed a place to stay on a leisurely drive through Galicia on way to Portugal and stumbled on this online. It turned out to be a great find. The place is lovely and the hosts wonderful. Its a lovingly restored old rectory, with ivy clad walls and tastefully decorated interiors Add to that that we had the first good breakfast we had on the whole trip and it's a highly recommended place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NMUSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed at the Rectoral de Cobres with my husband and 6 year old daughter in June 2011 as part of a two-centre holiday with Inntravel. We love walking, seafood and great wine so visiting Galicia, with a sneak peek at the Camino de Santiago was a real draw.

We picked up our rental car at Oporto airport and headed north with a little nervous anticipation. When we arrived at the hotel and saw it's high, ivy-clad walls we were intrigued... The large, secure gates led into an exquisite courtyard with a tiny chapel and beautiful flowers everywhere. The tables were set for a small wedding with a reception on the terrace. Randi, our utterly charming hostess, assured us that the wedding party would be finished by 10pm and it was. But we had the treat of witnessing the spanish at a family celebration, the bride and groom in their finery and a bouncy castle, that our daughter was made very welcome on.

A cold Estrella beer by the pool was also pretty good too.

The hotel does not have a restaurant so we ate nearby. Both restaurants were within walking distance and both offered excellent food.

Our room was spacious and clean, with simple but elegant furnishings and a sweet little balcony overlooking the ria or fjord below. A ria is like a deep tidal inlet, with steep wooded sides, and around Vigo there are many mussel beds beneath small pontoons and wooden platforms.

In the lounge area outside there was a great self-service espresso maker and Randi was always on hand for a cold drink from the bar, a little chat, tips on where to eat and visit or just shooting the breeze.

The public rooms on the ground floor are lovely and cool on even the hottest days and the large shady terrace at the back overlooks the fjord, affording one of the prettiest views I've ever enjoyed over breakfast. The best breakfast I've had in any continental hotel, hands down! So, relax and allow plenty of time to work your way through home made cakes and preserves and best quality cheeses and cold meats. Yum!

This is such a special hotel, very welcoming, very relaxed, very romantic and to be savoured slowly!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne_dolezal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

We stayed here for three nights with my parents.
The building is beautiful and the veiws out across the water stunning.On our first morning dolphins were playing in the sea as we were having breakfast.One of those fabulous store away memories.The rooms are really lovely and the public areas are beautifully decorated in a style fitting with the building.
Its nice that there is a bar for drinks on the terrace before dinner and there is also a decent sized pool.
Be aware the room rate does not include breakfast.Also that it is between two very busy roads one a motorway so there is constant road noise.Its not intrusive but always there.We were surprised the area was so industrialised it was hard to find an unspoilt bit of coastline.Vigo is a huge sprawling city and Pontevedra not much smaller but if I was to visit the area again I would certainly stay here.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — road noise and the surrounding area
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank clurina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilaboa
3.2 mi away
Hotel San Luis
Hotel San Luis
#2 of 2 in Vilaboa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
6.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Nagari Boutique & Spa
16.4 mi away
Parador de Baiona
Parador de Baiona
#3 of 7 in Baiona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Dabarca Hotel Apartamentos
Dabarca Hotel Apartamentos
#9 of 29 in Pontevedra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
8.3 mi away
Pazo Los Escudos Hotel and Spa
20.1 mi away
Torre do Rio Rural Hotel
Torre do Rio Rural Hotel
#1 of 3 in Caldas de Reis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rectoral de Cobres 1729? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rectoral de Cobres 1729

Property: Rectoral de Cobres 1729
Address: San Adrian de Cobres, 36142 Vilaboa, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Vilaboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vilaboa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rectoral de Cobres 1729 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor country hotel with 8 double rooms and beautiful views over the Vigo fjord. Near the golf club and the Vigo airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rectoral de Cobres 1729 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rectoral De Cobres 1729 Vilaboa, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing