We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing example of an Al Sawday gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rectoral de Cobres 1729
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vilaboa
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We found this through the Sawday series and unsurprisngly it was excellent. Our room (5) was a great size and had a jacuzzi bath! views are very relaxing such that sipping G&Ts overlooking the sea at sunset is difficult to beat. Breakfasts are a relaxed affair but of a size that negates lunch...well almost!

This is also a good location to explore the area and is close to some amazing beaches for the days when lazing by the pool is not enough.

There is a very good restrauant at the marina and a cheap and cheerful family affair adjacent to that. If you want to eat in the marina it is best to make a reservation, esp if it is nearing the wekend. We went on spec on a Wednesday and, being English, had a table for 2100 thinking we were being 'very continental', when in fact it started to fill up at 2330! There were though loads of 'reserved' signs out even when we got there. We had no chanmce on the Friday. Three days is probably enough unless you want to do lots of 'beach' and are happy to drive furtyher afield for dinner.

Big thumbs up for this extremely friendly and comfy hotel that has an air of 'nothing is too difficult' about it.....and oh, the G&Ts!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nahrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Rectoral de Cobres 1729
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 42 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

We needed a place to stay on a leisurely drive through Galicia on way to Portugal and stumbled on this online. It turned out to be a great find. The place is lovely and the hosts wonderful. Its a lovingly restored old rectory, with ivy clad walls and tastefully decorated interiors Add to that that we had the first good breakfast we had on the whole trip and it's a highly recommended place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMUSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed at the Rectoral de Cobres with my husband and 6 year old daughter in June 2011 as part of a two-centre holiday with Inntravel. We love walking, seafood and great wine so visiting Galicia, with a sneak peek at the Camino de Santiago was a real draw.

We picked up our rental car at Oporto airport and headed north with a little nervous anticipation. When we arrived at the hotel and saw it's high, ivy-clad walls we were intrigued... The large, secure gates led into an exquisite courtyard with a tiny chapel and beautiful flowers everywhere. The tables were set for a small wedding with a reception on the terrace. Randi, our utterly charming hostess, assured us that the wedding party would be finished by 10pm and it was. But we had the treat of witnessing the spanish at a family celebration, the bride and groom in their finery and a bouncy castle, that our daughter was made very welcome on.

A cold Estrella beer by the pool was also pretty good too.

The hotel does not have a restaurant so we ate nearby. Both restaurants were within walking distance and both offered excellent food.

Our room was spacious and clean, with simple but elegant furnishings and a sweet little balcony overlooking the ria or fjord below. A ria is like a deep tidal inlet, with steep wooded sides, and around Vigo there are many mussel beds beneath small pontoons and wooden platforms.

In the lounge area outside there was a great self-service espresso maker and Randi was always on hand for a cold drink from the bar, a little chat, tips on where to eat and visit or just shooting the breeze.

The public rooms on the ground floor are lovely and cool on even the hottest days and the large shady terrace at the back overlooks the fjord, affording one of the prettiest views I've ever enjoyed over breakfast. The best breakfast I've had in any continental hotel, hands down! So, relax and allow plenty of time to work your way through home made cakes and preserves and best quality cheeses and cold meats. Yum!

This is such a special hotel, very welcoming, very relaxed, very romantic and to be savoured slowly!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne_dolezal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

We stayed here for three nights with my parents.
The building is beautiful and the veiws out across the water stunning.On our first morning dolphins were playing in the sea as we were having breakfast.One of those fabulous store away memories.The rooms are really lovely and the public areas are beautifully decorated in a style fitting with the building.
Its nice that there is a bar for drinks on the terrace before dinner and there is also a decent sized pool.
Be aware the room rate does not include breakfast.Also that it is between two very busy roads one a motorway so there is constant road noise.Its not intrusive but always there.We were surprised the area was so industrialised it was hard to find an unspoilt bit of coastline.Vigo is a huge sprawling city and Pontevedra not much smaller but if I was to visit the area again I would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank clurina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2007

The friendly hosts and cute dogs, great service and cosy breakfast by a log fire while having breathtaking views....just 15 mins drive from Pontevedra's hussle and bustle. We had a lovely stay here, in the misty and romantic corner of northwestern Spain. Its also around 45mins by car to Santiago de Compostela so a great base at which to set up and do day trips. Food at the tapas place recommended by Juan Carlos was fabulous - called the Jaqcueivi and set in the old town of Pontevedra, opposite the theatre. Galicia is chilli though so don't forget your windbreaker/cardigan/brollie!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kuki79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

Stayed in this old priest's house in September 2006 for 2 nights. The location on the Rias Baixias in Galicia is good, with lovely views. The building is old but rooms are large and the bathroom was large too. Our room had a little balcony and two other windows. There is a small bar and breakfast served in the dining room was fantastic - best I've seen in a long time. Fresh OJ, eggs, cold meats, fruit, breads, toast, homemade jam, all really good.
Only downside was that they double booked us. We had booked for 3 nights (booking made 4 months previously) but when we arrived they said they needed all 8 rooms for a group of Russian businessmen from the fish industry who always stay every year. So for our 3rd night we were bumped to the Parador in Pontevedra - only a few miles away and more expensive. They payed and escorted us there and didnt charge for our bar drinks either. It was a shame as it was a lovely place.
A warning is that there is no village where you can get an evening meal. There is a good restaurent at the nearby marina (15 minutes walk or 2 minutes by car) but that is all there is within easy reach.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alisonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ignacio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilaboa
8.3 mi away
Pazo Los Escudos Hotel and Spa
3.2 mi away
Hotel San Luis
Hotel San Luis
#2 of 2 in Vilaboa
26 reviews
6.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Nagari Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
NH Collection Vigo
NH Collection Vigo
#2 of 44 in Vigo
900 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Villa De Marin
Hotel Villa De Marin
#1 of 1 in Marin
25 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Duerming San Vicente
Hotel Duerming San Vicente
#19 of 25 in O Grove
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rectoral de Cobres 1729? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rectoral de Cobres 1729

Address: San Adrian de Cobres, 36142 Vilaboa, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Vilaboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vilaboa
Price Range: $58 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rectoral de Cobres 1729 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor country hotel with 8 double rooms and beautiful views over the Vigo fjord. Near the golf club and the Vigo airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rectoral de Cobres 1729 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rectoral De Cobres 1729 Vilaboa, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing