We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint relaxing inn during your camino”
Review of Pazo Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pazo Santa Maria
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arzua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was a stop we had during our camino.The couple running it were friendly and our rooms were part of an old residence (100's of years old)refurbished a few years ago. The bathrooms maintainance could be improved but the atmosphere was fantastic. Wish we could have stayed longer.A bit out of the way but well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugartee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 262 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

The setting:
Beautiful hotel lovely views of rolling green fields, large rooms, fresh country air, peace and space.
The food: reading previous comments I had lunch in town ( as restaurant is not open then). The dinner, braised beef and potatoes was the best meal I have eaten since arriving in Spain 1 month ago , I'm a food lover,
The service: Sylvia, the reception girl & waitress was a gem, always smiling sweetly and available to assist in any way.
Loved it and will return. Being 1km out of town is a BONUS.

Room Tip: try not to neighbour the one with the spa bath (bit noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gab R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

A little far from the town centre but then that's nothing that we weren't aware of courtesy of Google maps. Very well kept charming old farmhouse style establishment, warm welcome from the lovely hostess, great rooms with stone walls, wooden beams & very good size. Only slight disappointment was limited variety when ordering dinner. Breakfast was good - great to find a place that does egg & bacon !! All round very pleasant stay, would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plett_Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The place is a refurnished very old country house, the place is really beautiful. Caldo Gallego highly recommended. The place is a little far away from Arzua city center.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nesterix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Pazo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your kind contribution, we are happy that you like our restaurant and especially our signature dish "the caldo gallego (Galician Soup)"
Thanks to your input, we decided to put a free taxi from the center of Arzúa for all those like you who are walking by the road.
Greetings from Spain and apologize and "not perfect" English

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2008

We used this pazo as a base to explore Galicia and it was a peaceful place to come back to after being out all day...this place is really meant for this, and that is why they only provide dinner, not food all day (the breakfasts are excellent by the way). The owner and staff were friendly and efficient, and the views from the terrace calming at the end of the day. If you want to watch TV there is a television room for that purpose. A great place to come back to after a long day's drive...

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gales1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Last week we had booked the Pazo de Santa Maria in Arzua, rather outside Arzua. For those of you walking the Camino beware its an additional 1.5 km off the Camino, there was no heating, therefore no place to dry gear, no TV and the woman who owns it is very rude. She hung up on us twice and was altogether unreasonable regarding our complaints. There is no food available during the day, therefore you have to go back into town (3km round trip) to get lunch. We did not stay and she had the audacity to charge my card without my authorisation. I am writing this review so that other travellers particularly those on the Camino do not make a similar mistake. We managed to get into Hotel Suisse, a small hotel (albeit a lower calibre) with food available all day and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Keelybubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Pazo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Dear Customer,
Please excuse our delay in giving response to your criticism because we did not know the use of TripAdvisor.
Thanks to criticism like yours, we decided a taxi free for all people who have reserved rooms come from the French Way Arzúa leaving them in, thus saving the distance of one kilometer (no farther).
Moreover, we do not have meals at noon, that's something that gives early warnings and tried to prevent the pilgrim asks us, we do not know when you arrive each.
Thank you for your contributions help us to improve.
Greetings from Spain and apologize and "not perfect" English

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Gapi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emoraleslopez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Pazo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arzua
4.9 mi away
Casa da Igrexa
Casa da Igrexa
#2 of 3 in Arzua
87 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Suiza
Hotel Suiza
#3 of 3 in Arzua
140 reviews
8 mi away
Hotel Carlos 96
Hotel Carlos 96
#1 of 3 in Melide
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
La Cabana
La Cabana
#1 of 1 in Palas de Rei
230 reviews
22 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
856 reviews
20 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pazo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pazo Santa Maria

Address: O Pazo s/n - Santa Maria, 15810, Arzua, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Arzua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arzua
Price Range: $97 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately home built with stone walls and hardwood ceilings, located at the crossroads of the French Way (1 km.) and the Road North of St. James Way (500 m.) This unique country resort offers visitors all the amenities: Restaurant service, terrace view service, massages, bike rental and storage facility, laundry service, backpacks carrier, satellite TV with international channels, free parking, free internet access, library, garden & kitchen garden, meeting & banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pazo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing