We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Babel Monfrague
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 30, 2012

What a fantastic week we spent here with our friends. Wonderful accomadation-well situated for birding holidays in Extramadura. Modern, clean & comfortable - a pleaure to stay here. Jose is very knowledgeable about the birds and locations and very fluent in English. Nothing too much trouble. Looking foward to staying here again in the future. Thanks Hose. Delia & John

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Delia and John, thank you very much for your opinion,

Here we are, always ready to help you in your birdwatching holidays.

See you soon, regards for the UK,

JOSE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Casa Babel Monfrague
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 164 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

Bente og Niels Larsen
Jonna og Tage Forsom, Denmark

We spend one week in this cosy house in Torrejon el Rubio. It is a very nice place, easy to find and a fine place to start out your birding trips. We had 2 days with Jose(the owner). He knows the god birdingspots and we really saw a lot these days. Besides he told us where to find more for our selves. We really had a fantastic time

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Jonna, Tage, Bente and Niels, thank you for visit us.

I enjoyed a lot with you in our guided tours in the Extremaduran nature looking for birds, great days with a lot of species.

Regards for Denmark,

JOSE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I only can recommend the accomodation of Casa Babel, situated close to Monfragüe N.P., an excellent place to stay there and to make excursions. A place for bird watchers and people who love nature. The house and the rooms with open and friendly atmosphere are equiped with everything what you need. Jose – the owner is helpful und attentive. I also liked the village of Torrejon el Rubio – friendly people and calm atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uwanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Uwe and Anka, thank you very much,

It was a pleasure to know you, I hope see you soon, in Extremadura or may be in Berlin.

Regards for Germany,

JOSE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

we have just had a week at jose house with friends, the house in fantastic with everything you would need for your stay. we will be telling our friends about our hols. thanks to jose for all the imformation he gave us as we were on a birding holiday. we will be back but next time we will come for 2 weeks.
thanks again jose
graham& ann

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Graham and Ann,

Thank you very much for your words, this helps us to continue working much better every day.

I hope see you soon, regards for UK,

JOSE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were surprised by the spacious, well equiped and clean Casa Babel. Add the central location to many birding sites in and around Monfragüe NP and nice cities as Trujillo and Caceres and you understand our high ranking of this casa rural. José, the owner, is very well informed and showed us many interesting areas. We certainly recommend this place for birdwatchers and other nature lovers.

Ben Huisman, Den Bosch, Netherlands

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Hola Ben, thank you very much for your opinion.

Monfrague National Park and Extremadura are probably the best place in Europe to see raptors, vulture and many more bird species.

From Casa Babel we try to help our clients in all they need to enjoy your holidays, giving them birdwatchers expert advice as well as guiding tours.

I hope all is ok in Netherland,

Best regards for you and Paulijn,

JOSE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Casa Babel is a nice place to stay and ideally situated for birders who want to fully explore Monfrague National Park, the Arrocampo Biosphere Reserve and the plains between Cáceres and Trujillo. My brother and I had a good and clean room upstairs. The buffet style breakfast was simple, but adequate, and offered the opportunity to start at any time. The place offers facilities for cooking and has a fridge to store stuff in. The living room is nicely laid out with 2 couches, 2 comfortable chairs and 1 coffee table. Torrejon itself is only a small community and therefore does not offer a great variety of restaurants. The owner, José , is easy and friendly to communicate with in English and readily shares his extensive knowledge of the wildlife with the guests. Highly recommended to nature lovers, who are looking for simple and clean accommodation including breakfast and want to be close to Monfrague National Park and within easy driving range to (the plains between) Cáceres and Trujillo.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are quieter than room downstairs, where people enter through the front door, have bre...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willem-Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Gracias Willem-Jan for your opinion,

Torrejon el Rubio is as you say the best place for birdwatching in Extremadura, Monfrague National Park, Arrocampo reservoir and Caceres, Santa Marta and Trujillo plains are less than 40 minutes for our accommodation.

I hope see you soon and share good moments,

Regards for the Netherland,

JOSE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Casa Babel is a very nice place to stay, value for money. The bed was good, the room clean. Breakfast was simple but adequate. As you can use the kitchen and fridge you can buy some extras yourself. We even cooked a simple meal one night. José, the owner, is very friendly and has great knowledge of the surroundings. He can give loads of tips of where to spot certain birds. The first morning of our stay we went on a tour with him. He showed us the main sights and birdspotting places in the Parque Monfragüe and took us on a small detour to spot bee-eaters outside the park. The village Torrejon is nothing special, but the walk to the bridge over the river outside the village is definitely worth the effort. We saw lots of birds on the way and kingfishers and a snake-eagle at the bridge. If we ever go back to Monfrague, we'll stay at Casa Babel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Gracias Annemarie,

I hope you have enjoyed your birdwatching days with us, I enjoyed a lot the guided tour in Monfrague and the bee eaters of course, among many other bird species.

Best regards,

JOSE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torrejon el Rubio hotels
0.8 mi away
Hospederia Parque De Monfrague
Hospederia Parque De Monfrague
#1 of 1 in Torrejon el Rubio
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurante Carvajal
Hotel Restaurante Carvajal
#3 of 6 in Torrejon el Rubio
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Rurales Sierra De Monfrague
Apartamentos Rurales Sierra De M...
#4 of 5 in Torrejon el Rubio
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Rurales Monfrague
Apartamentos Rurales Monfrague
#2 of 5 in Torrejon el Rubio
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Rurales Natura
Apartamentos Rurales Natura
#3 of 5 in Torrejon el Rubio
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Rurales la Canada
Apartamentos Rurales la Canada
#1 of 5 in Torrejon el Rubio
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Babel Monfrague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Babel Monfrague

Address: Calle Cervantes 8, 10694 Torrejon el Rubio, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Torrejon el Rubio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Torrejon el Rubio
Price Range: $67 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Babel Monfrague 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Babel is located next to Monfragüe National Park, surrounded by lush pristine countryside, within the area declared as Biosphere Reserve by UNESCO, in the town of Torrejón el Rubio. Casa Babel is a birdwatchers ecotourism accommodation which has four confortables double rooms with ensuite bathrooms, rented by room with B&B or whole house rental. The house is situated in the heart of Extremadura, the ideal central point for exploring Central and Western Spain, its rich natural biodiversity and its birds. Come and discover the amazing landscapes that surround it and the hundreds of bird species that inhabit them. Discover the ecosystems where lives the Spanish Imperial Eagle, the Bonelli's Eagle, the Black Vulture and a long list of animal and plant in the best preserved and most biodiverse region of southern Europe.From Casa Babel and Extremadura Wildlife, we provide half-day and full day guided birding tours as well as customised birding holidays.--- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Babel Monfrague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Babel Monfrague Spain/Torrejon El Rubio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing