We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in the hills above Sitges1”
Review of Masia Casanova

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyelles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Masia Casanova
Ranked #1 of 1 Canyelles B&B and Inns
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in the hills above Sitges1”
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We found it on the internet last year, and stayed here for 4 days in July 2007. Loved it so much, went back again this year! (same time - July)

Note: For the summer months, the B&B is exclusively gay & lesbian.

Outside the hustle and bustle of Sitges (10 mins away), up in the hills. if you have a car (recommended if you want to access Sitges and environs) be warned - the access road is horrendously steep, and the last few 100m's are BADLY potholed. Taxi drivers have been known to refuse to do the last push up the hill! But worth it for the views, and the lower temperatures (away from coast, up the side of a mountain).

Rooms are wonderfully styled, with air-con, and great on-suite facilities.
Honesty bar in operation.

Food is reasonable, if a bit simple and over-priced - definitely the evening meal could do with a few Euros being shaved off (€25).

Will be going back again ...

  • Liked — Location, overall ambiance
  • Disliked — Pricey, basic evening meal
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

Gay owned B&B I stayed here as part of a group of woman celebrating a friends 40th. Booking the place out it comfortably accommodated the nine of us. Each room is uniquely decked out, large and with huge bathrooms! The pool area was lovely (although it was a little cold to swim). The spa wasn't working which was a bit of a disappointment but the relaxed easy going atmosphere made up for it. Our hosts were wonderful, very helpful and cooked great breakfasts (included in the price) and organized a special birthday dinner at our request (bringing in a local woman to cook paella!). Up in the hills behind Sitges La Masia is just far enough away from the crowds while still making for a reasonable taxi fare if you want to enjoy a few vinos in town. The road leading to the Villa is rough so go easy if you have a rental. It's not at the top end for a B&B but if you like an easy going atmosphere this is the place to go.

  • Liked — Friendly easy atmosphere
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank altitudegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2007

We have just returned from the most magical 5 days at the Masia Casanova. A hidden oasis 10 mins drive from the centre of Sitges. The
rooms were spotless, beds comfortable and we were made to feel so welcome by the two charming owners, Jean & Simon. Highly recommended.
We will return......

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank londonguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2007

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at La Masia Casanova. The house and grounds were beautiful (even in February), the food delicious and the hospitality gracious. We found La Masia on the internet and based our decision to stay there during our trip to Barcelona and Sitges on the previous reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed in the least. We highly recommend La Masia Casanova.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2006

We stayed for 2 wonderful nights at this lovely B&B. The operators (Simon & Gene) could not be more accomodating and friendly. The room was wonderful and clean with lots of ammenities. They have a wonderful pool/spa/sauna that really seperates this place from anywhere else we stayed during my 1-month europe trip. The location was somewhat difficut at first to find but the map on their website was really clear. This B&B is really an oasis and the owners are doing a wonderful job.

The GPS coordinates are N 41 16.667', E 001 44.359'. This will lead you to the front door if you have a GPS.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ginosesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam Holland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2005

I just wanted to say that it has been one of the most beautifull places I ever saw! My boyfriend and I were there for one week and just came back.
There were these more than friendly and relaxed hosts two guys who just recently took over it was clean plenty of everything we felt very comfortable! the room was excellent cant give a higher rating and I booked again for spring! a must!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank geneworrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2005

My partner and I stayed at this amazing villa about 20 minutes from Barcelona. We highly recommend a stay here, if you are looking for a lovely, relaxing spot. They have nice rooms, wonderful views and a sparkling pool. We do recommend a rental car, if you stay here. On a side note, when we stayed here, the parents of the owners were running the place. They were very nice but a little unorganized. Apparently a new Dutch couple was coming into run the place, the day we left. Wonderful spot!

Helpful?
5 Thank BulldogMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyelles
2.3 mi away
Hotel Palou
Hotel Palou
#1 of 2 in Sant Pere de Ribes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.4 mi away
Masia Sumidors
Masia Sumidors
#1 of 3 in Sant Pere de Ribes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibai, Una Osteria Contemporania
Ibai, Una Osteria Contemporania
#2 of 3 in Sant Pere de Ribes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masia Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masia Casanova

Property: Masia Casanova
Address: Pasaje Casanova 8 | Urb Vora Sitges, 08811 Canyelles, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Canyelles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Canyelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Masia Casanova 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Masia Casanova Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing