We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“beautiful views”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed here from 16 to 21 February 2014 and it is an excellent hotel. The staff mostly comfortable with english, very supportive and quick service. I had a stove in my room and ordered firewood for it and it was there before dinner that evening. The food was excellent, breakfast with a large assortment of foods, juices and coffee. The water was hot when needed, the heating excellent as it was very cold outside some days. The bartenders make very good drinks and pour liberally and as late as you wish to stay.
a nice area for walking, and the villiage is close enough to visit
The rooms all have nice baths with jacuzzi tubs, something rare in spain I am told.

Room Tip: I never used room service, not even sure it is available really, and there is a spa but never had th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulr147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    141
    55
    30
    11
See reviews for
57
170
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed in Puerta de Gredos as a Vaughtown volunteer and really did enjoy my experience. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The view from the hotel to the surrounding mountains is nothing short of spectacular. Unfortunately if you're looking for liveliness, the nearest town is about a half hour walk away and will be shut if you go during siesta. However if you're looking isolation, Gredos is ideal. You can go for a walk in the other direction to town passing fields, farms (including an ostrich ranch) and come to a river, which is great when its sunny. The food on the resort is spectacular, with a great choice of local dishes and cooked to your preference. The quality did dip a little by the end of the week though. The lounge area is very comfortable, as is the library which was ideal for one to one conversation sessions as part of the Vaughantown experience. The bar is usually unmanned but its ok as its right next to reception who will serve you what you ask for and is very reasonably priced. All in all a great stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Criztiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed here for the Vaughan town language course. The rooms are very comfortable and airy. most had a terrace or balcony. The lunch and dinner were varied and very tasty. the breakfast although good was always the same. It seemed that the bar was not manned all the time.

Room Tip: the Rooms in the "stables were all the same and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianwNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Everything about this hotel was genuine four-star material, except for (some of) the food.

The rooms were very smartly appointed and comfortable, the views of the mountains spectacular, the spa facilities sumptuous and the overall atmosphere highly relaxing.

The breakfasts, however, included mass-produced pastries and cheapskate cornflakes, the seafood was rancid, and the bread was the same plain-jane stuff every day. "Vegetarian" seems a foreign concept, too. I'd also add that the staff have poor English, which is unacceptable by today's standards.

But despite these issues, I left the hotel feeling refreshed and cheerful, and would readily recommend it to anybody wishing to escape to the country for some detoxification and/or pampering.

Room Tip: There is little between them - they are all very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DragonIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here as a Vaughantown volunteer, so my room and board were covered for me.
I was surprised when I arrived at the beauty of the area, photos that I had seen previously did not do it justice.

The rooms were lovely, mine was spacious and comfortable, the only thing that I missed was not having a proper window to enjoy the view - there was a velux window, but with me being short I couldn't even reach it let alone see anything out of it! The bathroom was lovely, the jacuzzi bath was nice but make sure you cover the jets with water completely before you switch it on!

The food was good, but perhaps if I were to go back I wouldn't eat there all the time. Breakfast had a nice continental selection and had plenty of fresh fruit which I really liked.

I think that the only downside would be having to pay to use the pool, I wouldn't be very happy to pay for an hour at a time, I would prefer a whole day pass.

I think I would like to return here, just for a few days away from it all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank danilou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent 2 nights at this hotel in March and all I can say is that we all loved the palce. Room was spotlessly clean, breakfast awsome (we never missed a thing, personnel were making sure everything was available at all times) and the silence and the peaceful atmosphere were perfect.
My 4 year-old daughter loved the placed. Reception area has a very nice Cafe to relax in the evening.
Staff were very friendly, but the ladies working in the morning were the best!
I truly recomend this place for a peaceful break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susareq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

A nice old building set in glorious countryside just outside the village of El Barco de Avila. Very comfortable rooms with en suite and balconies. Several different buildings on the estate have been converted to hotel rooms. Some are a short walk from the main building were the restaurant is situated.
The hotel has an award for its food but I found it a little disappointing with the same salad each day and vegetables very overcooked the day I had them as an entre option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purrpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Barco de Avila
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mirador de Gredos
Hotel Mirador de Gredos
#2 of 6 in El Barco de Avila
306 reviews
18.3 mi away
El Milano Real
El Milano Real
#1 of 1 in Hoyos del Espino
231 reviews
21.5 mi away
Parador de Gredos
Parador de Gredos
#1 of 2 in Navarredonda de Gredos
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Hotel Nabia
Hotel Nabia
#1 of 2 in Candeleda
269 reviews
16.4 mi away
Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera
Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera
#1 of 1 in Jarandilla de la Vera
546 reviews
15.4 mi away
El Balcon de la Vera Hotel Restaurante
El Balcon de la Vera Hotel Resta...
#2 of 2 in Villanueva de la Vera
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos

Property: Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos
Address: Carretera Llanos s/n, 05600 El Barco de Avila, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Avila > El Barco de Avila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in El Barco de Avila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to El Barco de Avila and Sierra de Gredos, historic set of the late s. XVIII, enjoying a perfect location to rest and relax. It offers its customers a rural setting surrounded by gardens. You can practice different activities in the area depending on the time of year, including horse riding, hiking through the Sierra de Gredos, etc. It has 50 rooms divided into 35 standard (10 for up to 3 people, 25 are doubles), 10 duplex mini-suites with fireplace, 4 duplex suites (with whirlpool) and 1 standard duplex. All rooms are exterior with whirlpool tub, hairdryer, telephone, mini bar, satellite TV, Internet access, safe and air conditioning hot-cold air. Room duplex with living room downstairs and bedroom upstairs. Other facilities include a restaurant, cafe, various lounges, small library with board games, spa (addittonal charge)with gym, jacuzzi, sauna, Scottish shower, bi thermal shower and steam room, solarium, indoor heated pool in winter, Internet access, meeting meetings, exhibitions and seminars, sports court, paddle tennis court (additional charge), bicycle rental service (additional charge), PS4 with various games available (additional charge), public computer and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Izan Puerta De Gredos Spain/Province Of Avila - El Barco De Avila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing