We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the authentic greasy spoon experience”
Review of Oakdene Cafe

Oakdene Cafe
Ranked #5 of 7 Restaurants in Wrotham
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Diner, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Oakdene Cafe is a traditional English transport cafe situated on the A20 near Wrotham, Kent at the junction of the M20 and M26 (j2 / j2a) near Brands Hatch motor racing circuit. The cafe can comfortably seat over 140 people at any one time, Oakdene Cafe serves extremely generous portions of good home cooked, traditional english food and offers excellent value for money. The Oakdene Cafe is also a world-famous motorbike cafe, hundreds of Bikers congress here on a Wednesday Evening and Sunday Mornings, Bikers have been using this cafe as a convenient stopover for over 40 years. The Oakdene Cafe is also used by People travelling to Brands Hatch who often stop en-route to have a breakfast as the cafe is on the A20 at Wrotham, only 4 miles away from the world famous racing circuit. Brands Hatch holds major racing events all year, including the British and World superbike championships.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
429 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“the authentic greasy spoon experience”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

After admiring the landscaped grounds you enter this establishment and meet the maitre d' behind the counter who exchanges your cash and order for a cloakroom ticket which you take to your table.
After a while one of the ladies emerges from the kitchen with a plate of stuff and announces your winning number, that's for me you say, and promptly tuck in to the fried delights before you.
This is the authentic greasy spoon experience and you get it here, no more, no less.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    5
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unhappy return”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I used to live near this transport cafe and looked forward to visiting it on this particular morning. I can't really complain about the food. It was a fried breakfast and was well cooked and good enough value. During previous visits staff were always warm and welcoming and the place was always busy and buzzing. During this visit I was astonished by two things. A. How quiet the cafe was, in terms of lack of customers. I was visiting at the tail end of rush hour but in previous years you could guarantee a queue at this time. B. My order was taken in a sloppy, uncaring way and the food dropped at the far edge of my table. All done with a complete lack of care. I watched and observed all customers being served in the same manner. The level of care was also reflected in the poor state of the "clean" cutlery. Such a pity! This used to be an icon of a cafe. I know it is always busy on a bikers Wednesday evening or Sunday morning. Perhaps they have enough customers to make a living and don't need to care.
Again! Such a pity, to see what was one of the best of its kind in what appears to be a decline in care and standards.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I dont know how else to say how bad this place is.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I go every Sunday to the Oakdene to meet up with my biker mates and try to get breakfast. The service is terrible because its a gamble if the food you order, A, turns up inside of an hour and B, is what you ordered.On a Wednesday night biker meet I overheard another biker trying to order his Sunday breakfast, in the hope it would turn up on time. The staff are very friendly, but the person who takes the orders is really, really slow (there is always a queue of at least 6-8 people). The chairs outside are mostly broken. I keep returning because I'm a believer in the hope this place will get better. But it doesn't.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vallumlj
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Cafe a proper one”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great cafe with lots of bikers and lorry drivers which makes it seem like a proper cafe.

Great food, good location always worth a treat at the weekends

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vallumlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrotham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unspoilt transport cafe”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

traditional 1960s transport café - museum or film set as has not been redecorated or furniture updated in 40years. Step back into the past. Good food. Even the car park has not been properly tarmacked.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakdene Cafe also viewed

 
Wrotham Heath, Sevenoaks District
West Malling, Kent
 

Been to Oakdene Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing