We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a restaurant with rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bull Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Wrotham B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“This is a restaurant with rooms”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here on a deal which included three course meal and bed and breakfast, and thus this was very good value.
We had to being our son at short notice, hotel added rollaway bed for an extra £10 which was reasonable,
Unable to check in early but process itself swift and without complication. Bar and restaurant area has been given a make over with some thought, nice ambiance and atmosphere.
However, communal areas to rooms could be more in keeping with an old inn such as this. Black gloss paintwork and prison like grey carpet make for an austere welcome.
Our room had a comfortable enough bed, tv and tea and coffee facilities. Some toiletries and ironing board etc provided on request. Small window is missing arm lever and thus you could push it open so not particularly safe or secure, and window frames need attention. Tiny shower room and toilet added in what must be a storage cupboard coming off the landing. Not heated and probably the worst shower I have ever been in. Tank must be level as no gravity pressure and no pump fitted so in order to get more than the tiniest trickle out, you have to sit on floor of shower and keep shower head pointing downwards, the full length of the hose. Impossible.
The room could do with having ceiling removed, as it could be a beautiful vaulted space. I imagine whoever owns it has not spent much time or consideration on the decor or detail of the rooms, although obviously only saw one, number 9. This could be restored more sympathetically.
Our impression was that the focus is on the restaurant, and the hotel side of things is sadly of less importance. The food was excellent and good value. Busy for the whole evening with non residents.
Staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome.
I would visit the restaurant again for sure, but as far as country inns go, I would love to see a little more of the effort made on the dining experience, extend to the residential areas of this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drucherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    100
    38
    20
    16
See reviews for
44
158
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sompting, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We booked this as a one night stay just to have a break from a hectic Christmas & New Year. We arrived about lunch time knowing that we had to book in at 3:00 pm. We went to reception and were told we could have the room now or wait if we wanted lunch. We decided on lunch. Good choice because these people are proud of their establishment and with good reason. Lunch was just a cheese platter and the platter was enough for 2. Good choice of local/English produce.
The pep ending meal was excellent, we watched other peoples food going to the tables and found it difficult to make up our minds. So basically food good, big portions and the service just what you would want. From bar service to serving staff everyone was friendly and nothing was too much for them. Very comfortable room and quirky due to the age of the building. Breakfast was perfect with a choice to suit all. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Suspect we didn't have one of the better rooms - low ceilings and a tiny en-suite - but the room had loads of character and everything that we needed so no real complaints as to the accommodation. The real plus points were the friendliness of all the staff, the excellent food and drink and just a very pleasant way to spend a night. I would look to stay there again and the deals such as that offered by Travelzoo give you an enjoyable break and real value for money

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davek01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Fab from the minute we arrived until we left. V comfortable, peaceful location, fantastic room - Room 5 - lovely food in the restaurant, service from booking in to meal time to bar was outstanding. Everyone was v welcoming and we loved it. Music in the bar was old fashioned, not loud and background music which was lovely too. Breakfast was brilliant and we loved every minute we were there. Heating was more than adequate in our room, the bathroom was very trendy and the bath huge ! Shower worked well too. Tea and coffee facilities in our room, low ceiling coming out of room and on the stairs so mind your head ! Although ceilings everywhere else were high. The floor sloped in our room which added to the qwerkiness of it all. Bed comfy and tv on wall worked well. No problems or issues at all. Loved it !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Last night we stayed in a lovely room with a four poster bed in this charming old coaching inn. We had a very nice welcome from the staff, who were all most pleasant. The bed was comfy with lovely linen and the bathroom was very modern and well appointed. Our three course meal was delicious, with good choices and the waiter was attentive. It was lovely and warm with log fires and an interesting history about world war two Spitfire pilots having spent off duty time in the bars.This was a birthday treat for my husband and I am looking forward to going back for my own.

Room Tip: Call and ask for guidance when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed in Room 5 which was definitely the best room to choose. Apart from the odd car passing it was quiet, peaceful and very homely. Lovely bathroom and comfortable bed which was a nice change from other places! Food was exceptional and the staff from the young lady on reception, to the waiters at dinner, to the barman and cleaners were all a credit to The Bull. The evening meal was fantastic and the breakfast was lovely too. The soft music played in the background was a great choice and very in keeping with the hotel - not blasting and pumping out loud music - definitely a plus for us and dont ever try to modernise it or you will spoil the ambiance. Could not fault the hotel in any way - it was a nice overnight stay for us away from the children for my husband's birthday. I believe in giving credit where credit is due as too many people these days moan far too easily but for us our stay here was pleasant, peaceful and relaxing. Great history to the place - read the framed print that is on show to the right of the bar for the history - pretty amazing.

Room Tip: room 5 - very spacious - on front of hotel so you can hear the odd car passing but no boy racers so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed in this place for the first time last night, and I loved it! The room/bed/bathroom were way above the bog standard business room in a Travel Lodge/Premier Inn/Holiday Inn. The food was superb and very reasonably priced. I stay in this area usually once a week, and will certainly be back here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaS43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrotham
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Sevenoaks / Maidstone Hotel
4.0 mi away
Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Property: The Bull Hotel
Address: Bull Lane, Wrotham TN15 7RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Wrotham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wrotham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Sevenoaks and Maidstone with easy access to M20, M26 and M25. Newly renovated in 2012, this privately owned 13th century inn is now a 4 star AA rated hotel. In the historic village of Wrotham, The Bull Hotel has retained its original charm and has a spacious lounge bar with sofas and open fires. There is a large car park on site and the hotel has free wi-fi access. The AA rosette restaurant serves delicious a la carte and bar meals made using fresh local produce. Ideally situated for local country walks, golf, Brandshatch race circuit and shopping at nearby Bluewater and Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Wrotham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing