We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bull Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Wrotham B&B and Inns
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Bull last Friday, We were eating there with my daughter and her fiance for his birthday and decided to stay the night as we were of to Bruges the following day. The food was very good indeed and the wine list kept me happy. When we saw the room it was a lovely surprise. In such an old hotel (1385) we did not expect such a beautifully modern but classy conversion. The room was spacious and decorated with Laura Ashely. The bathroom was totally modern with a fabulous shower room and had underfloor heating and the light came on automatically when you entered. . Don't you just hate showers that are weak and you have to run around to get wet?? This was hot and powerful.

Breakfast was good and the coffee was very good. I shall return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    100
    38
    20
    16
See reviews for
44
158
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My partner stayed at The Bull for two nights due to a work contract. The staff were very helpful and friendly even making him a packed lunch without asking. The rooms are well decorated and clean. The negative points is it an old building therefore it is not soundproofed between rooms and also the plumbing system needs modernisation. If work called for it he would stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank juliatki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

What a shame.
Booked two rooms for one night with my grown up sons as a stopover. It looked just what we wanted on the internet and the Tripadvisor reviews seemed ok....
What a disappointment, as the title suggests i cant see how the hotel received 4 stars.
We entered the hotel from the car park at the rear down a corridor where the was a reception hatch (closed) which looked more like a youth hostel than a hotel. After a quick drink in the bar we checked in. Again the stairs and corridors were uninspiring and more like a hostel. The rooms themselves were much better and generally clean. Beds very comfy and nice linen. Room 4 which was a double had the smallest shower opening and smallest sink (couldn't fill the kettle) and such dim lights it made life interesting... A huge amount of traffic noise in room 4 (front of the hotel) and from the room above didn't make up for the comfy bed.
We ate in the bar off the A la carte menu, all having steak and home made chips. There was a strange after taste of fish which must have come from the fryer, which was off putting. The bread and butter pudding was undercooked and still very much bread in the middle. We all looked around and realised that there was only us in the bar and another couple in the restaurant on a saturday night... this told us everything we needed to know.
Leaving at 8am we tried to find a member of staff to check out and ended up leaving the keys with the chef. We didn't have breakfast as planned and arranged, but the aroma in the hallways and restaurant would have made the decision for us (not to have one).

I feel this review may be harsh, but in conclusion it simply didn't live up to its rating or value for money. service was average, customer expectations not met. All could be easily rectified but the fact that it was empty on a saturday said it all

Room Tip: No 4 - minute shower/ bathroom, Road noise, room above and thin floors No 6 - overlooking the car p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Bull is a lovely old building, and this is reflected in the rooms - full of strangle angles, with sloping doors and floors. Definitely not your run of the mill faceless hotel. My room was spacious and clean, with an excellent bed, and the bathroom was functional. Dinner was outstanding - superb presentation and cooking at a very reasonable price. Breakfast on the other hand was run of the mill, with very limited continental options. Service was very professional and friendly throughout. There is nothing to do in Wrotham, but the Bull is worth travelling for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badger5515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in June, and had a lovely 3 course a la carte meal. The pub is very quaint and charming, and the staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms are cosy, the mod cons are satisfactory, and the old dormer windows provide a unique experience in terms of Hotel accommodation these days. The bed was very comfortable, and location great for a rural break in a small village with Kent countryside on your doorstep.

Room Tip: Don't get too high up if you struggle with winding staircases and low beams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRM80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I didn't know whether to put this review under hotel or restaurant. It's neither really, it's a lovely old pub, with great rooms ( well ours was, couldn't try them all out obvs.) and delicious food. Our room was large and comfortable with plenty of room for two plus dog, and wooden floors so no complaints about dog hair on the carpet.
Dinner was brilliant, we started off with a sparkling English wine and ate asparagus topped with egg and then a lovely cod dish for me. Mr Starke had the pork belly which was scrumptious too with some local cheeses to finish.
Next morning, more lovely eggs, scrambled this time and then off down the road to France

Room Tip: We had a room at the front, over the bar so there was no one to disturb underneath, (we were travell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsstarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here whilst competing at Brands Hatch. It is a quaint old pub with excellent beers, a good wine list, excellent food and characterful rooms. Everything was clean and well looked after. It's about a 15 min drive from Brands Hatch so if you're at the circuit, this is a great little place to relax in. Breakfast isn't served until 8 so do bear this in mind if you've got an early start. Great value for money.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dgm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrotham
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Sevenoaks / Maidstone Hotel
4.0 mi away
Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Property: The Bull Hotel
Address: Bull Lane, Wrotham TN15 7RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Wrotham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wrotham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Sevenoaks and Maidstone with easy access to M20, M26 and M25. Newly renovated in 2012, this privately owned 13th century inn is now a 4 star AA rated hotel. In the historic village of Wrotham, The Bull Hotel has retained its original charm and has a spacious lounge bar with sofas and open fires. There is a large car park on site and the hotel has free wi-fi access. The AA rosette restaurant serves delicious a la carte and bar meals made using fresh local produce. Ideally situated for local country walks, golf, Brandshatch race circuit and shopping at nearby Bluewater and Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Wrotham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing