We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine place for food lovers”
Review of The Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bull Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Wrotham B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a very old building so if you want ultra modern stick to the chains. If you want old world charm, great local food and comfortable rooms then come here. We stayed in a basic upper room which had a small but well appointed and perfectly usable en-suite. The bed was firm and comfortable, everything was clean and we slept most soundly. They have upgraded a lot recently and it certainly shows. A good stay and quite exceptional meals.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Josiah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 343 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

How this hotel qualifies for a 4 star AA rating is difficult to comprehend. Our room on the second floor did not have a wardrobe or even a hanging rail, and the en-suite bathroom was the smallest imaginable - about 2'4" x 7'0" (70 x 210cm) including the shower cubicle. To get to the far side of the bed entailed leaning over at almost 45 degrees due to the sloping ceiling, and the view from the window was dominated by two converging roof slopes. The floor was just bare floor boards (no rugs), and finally there was only one single-measure sachet of coffee provided (albeit with a reasonable number of tea-bags). Character might be one thing but not at the expense of basic amenities. Dinner and breakfast were very good however.

Room Tip: First floor rooms probably larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rogheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I recently stayed at the bull the staff were polite the lady that checked us in was lovely recommened places to visit explained how to use all the lights in the room. She also served our meal and drinks .thank you should have got your name !The food was amazing start to finish !.The room was exceptable considering the price. We will stay again a fantastic stay and meal .thank you

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiss m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here for a saturday night on a voucher. The reception was very dismal, and it took some time to get attention to book in. We were shown to our room, which was small but looked acceptable, until we worked out the practicalities. Virtually no wardrobe space, nowhere to store a suitcase, a shelf arrangement on one side of the bed and nothing on the other, one low power lamp on the shelf - inadequate once it got dark, no storage or shelving in the shower room, an annoying plastic shower curtain, and worst of all the noisey extractor for the kitchen was right outside the window. A disappointing room.
We went down to the bar for a drink before dinner, and were greeted warmly by the attentive friendly staff....and the beer was good. Our food order was taken as we sat in the bar. We went to our table when we had finished our drinks. Everything was going smoothly. Then the food was served. Excellent. This made up for the room, but when are hotels going to learn that its the whole package thats important. This was a superb pub and restaurant with friendly efficient staff totally let down by the room. I presume from the layout that the room next door was very similar to ours. I am aware its a very old building with limitations, but I suggest the owners look seriously at rearanging, perhaps combining, and updating the 2 rooms. Hopefully the result would be 1 happy customer prepared to return, rather than 2 unhappy customers that write bad reviews.

Room Tip: Say you dont want a small room nor one next to the kitchen extractor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Hotel reception does not give justice to the rest of the building as it is, to be honest, a little drab. However you don't spend any time at reception so why worry!? The rooms are done to an excellent standard, the beds are wonderfully comfortable and ALL the staff are very welcoming, pleasant and friendly. The Bar is large and very comfortable with settees and comfy armchairs in abundance and a roaring log fire. The restaurant has two open fires and the food is probably the best in Kent!
Wrotham is more of a Hamlet than a village, as apart from The Bull, there are 2 other pubs, a village store and a lovely church so not a lot to see or do, but that aside, a lovely location.
I will certainly be back to this one and would strongly recommend others to try.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which was the deluxe double and well worth a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simmo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here on a Travelzoo deal & were slightly put off by the attempts to get us to upgrade to a more expensive room - both on the phone when we booked & on our arrival. As we were only staying for 1 night, we didn't take them up on this. The room we were given was very nice & fine for our 1 night but it has to be said, it was small & only had a bedside cabinet on 1 side of the bed which was a little annoying .. and nowhere to put a suitcase. The bathroom was a shower room with a small shower cubicle. No problem except that the shower had a horrible plastic curtain which kept sticking to you as you were trying to shower - very nasty.

The meal was very good & generally the staff pleasant - with one exception but we assume that she must have a had a bad day as she couldn't seem to summon a smile & I did find it rather patronising to be asked if I needed help with the wine list - (I am actually a trained hotelier myself)

As far as value is concerned, we got what we paid for as it was a very good deal but if you were paying full price then the room we had isn't really suitable for 2 people for more than 1 night

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank superdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here early January. Loved it from the very start. The staff were really friendly and helpful, room was perfect, food great, bar really comfy with sofas to relax in. It was just what we were looking for and exceeded our expectations. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank Huckers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Address: Bull Lane, Wrotham TN15 7RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Wrotham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wrotham
Price Range: $87 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Sevenoaks and Maidstone with easy access to M20, M26 and M25. Newly renovated in 2012, this privately owned 13th century inn is now a 4 star AA rated hotel. In the historic village of Wrotham, The Bull Hotel has retained its original charm and has a spacious lounge bar with sofas and open fires. There is a large car park on site and the hotel has free wi-fi access. The AA rosette restaurant serves delicious a la carte and bar meals made using fresh local produce. Ideally situated for local country walks, golf, Brandshatch race circuit and shopping at nearby Bluewater and Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Wrotham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing