We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bull Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Wrotham B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value, wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed as a couple on recommendation from a colleague and took advantage of the "gourmet break". We paid a bit extra for the newly refurbished 4 poster bed room (room 3 - very big, beautiful and worth the bit extra). The food in the evening was superb. We were expecting high end gastropub food, but instead got top end restaurant quality food, with friendly service and a knowledgable owner to advise on the wine. Leisurely cooked breakfast in the morning with a newspaper was very welcome. Lovely place, being brought up by the bootstraps room by room, would definitely go again and recommend to all.

Room Tip: Room 3 is great now, and apparently room 5, when it's refurbished, will be the one to go for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_J_London_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    100
    38
    20
    16
See reviews for
44
158
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

I have frequented this hotel on several occassions and it gets better each time. Several of the rooms have been refurbished so as to match the charm and ambience of downstairs. Roaring inglenook fires accompany the excellent cuisine and the staff are always friendly and courteous.
With superb road links to all the all the London Airports, i would have no hesitation in recommending this hidden gem.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

The Bull Hotel is near junction 2 of the M20 but far enough away to avoid traffic noise. The rooms are very comfortable and the food is excellent. Good real ales, fine wines, and the cook can rustle up a great fillet steak. Having tried a few places in Kent this is now my favourite.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim186349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

I asked for a quiet room and was put at the front, by the road. When I asked for the music to be turned down one afternoon at 4.30, I was asked why as it wasn't time to go to bed! The bar music was under our room.
I don't like a cooked breakfast. This meant a packet of serial and toast. No fruit, no bread or rolls,no yogurt, no nothing! One fruit juice-orange. I was given apple when I asked.
If you want non feather bedding ask for it in advance or you will get a single duvet on a double bed, as I did.
This hotel could be great if someone bothered about it. Lovely big room but dingy and dirty old carpet.
Staff pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

From the outside it looked beautiful. The inside needs up-dating. When we got to our room it was freezing! The heating wasnt on but there was an oil filled small heater with 1 wheel on which fell over when you crossed the room. There was a lamp on the bedside table but the plug was on the other side of the room!? The worse thing about our stay was the party that was in the building across the carpark which went on til 1am! No one told us when we checked in considering our old drafty window backed onto the carpark! The music seemed to get louder and people were shouting in the carpark until close to 2am! When we went down to breakfast in the morning we had to wait for a while to give our order because it seemed the staff we too busy making sure their regulars got 2nd helping of whatever they requested!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

My daughter and I had the pleasure of staying at the Bull during British Superbike final showdown weekend. Its very easy to access Brands from here, 10 minutes by car, 5 by Ducati:)
From the time we arrived, nothing was too much trouble. Room was clean and smart, incredibly cosy and superbly 15th Century quirky.
But the food, well....... Rib eye steak from locally born and bred cattle was just stunning.
We were just disappointed we only had one night to stay there due to work commitments.
Certainly will be going there again - not sure that other previous negative comments are helpful to a business that is clearly proud of its history and customer service.
Fantastic place. Jayne and Em - Little Wenlock, Shropshire

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ducatisti695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

internet description was misleading. Bed and bedding might have been new but little evidence of anything else in room being refurbished. WIFI ! I was advised to try outside if I wanted to get on line. A bit surprised to find service charge added automatically, when we had to ask twice for a menu, and we spent plenty of money on drinks.
Have not received a reply to my complaints, and don't believe this is the best way to run a business.
Our stay will not produce any repeat bookings.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 46homer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrotham
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Sevenoaks / Maidstone Hotel
4.0 mi away
Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Property: The Bull Hotel
Address: Bull Lane, Wrotham TN15 7RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Wrotham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wrotham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Sevenoaks and Maidstone with easy access to M20, M26 and M25. Newly renovated in 2012, this privately owned 13th century inn is now a 4 star AA rated hotel. In the historic village of Wrotham, The Bull Hotel has retained its original charm and has a spacious lounge bar with sofas and open fires. There is a large car park on site and the hotel has free wi-fi access. The AA rosette restaurant serves delicious a la carte and bar meals made using fresh local produce. Ideally situated for local country walks, golf, Brandshatch race circuit and shopping at nearby Bluewater and Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Wrotham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing