We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to meetup”
Review of The Moat

The Moat
Reserve with OpenTable
The Moat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Wrotham
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“nice place to meetup”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have used this pub/restaurant several times and alway had a good time, there's plenty of parking and lots of room inside.
It has a good menu with lot's of choice, it's very reasonably priced.
The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much bother for them

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brianandmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    92
    61
    36
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice pub”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visited this pub/restaurant on a Saturday evening - the restaurant was full, but the service remained good. The food I would say was average. There is plenty of parking especially as this was a Saturday evening, I had visited this pub for a light lunch one day in the week and it was very nice. The prices for both lunch and evening meals are very reasonalby priced. I would definately go back for lunch but would not rush back for an evening meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackieb463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub, Food & Atmosphere”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had a lovely meal here with Friends. The Pub is relaxed & nicley layed out. The Service is good, the food is superb, I had a vegetarian Jafrazi & it was the best curry I had tasted outside an indian! The is plenty of parking & prices are very resonable. The only reason I am not giving 5 stars is due to the fact 2 people on our table of 10 had to wait an extra 5-10 mins for their mains. Otherwise pretty much spot on.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo678_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“poor sunday lunch”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

my partner and myself took my mother for sunday lunch here 21st october 2012 the overall look of the moat is lovely both inside and out. we booked a table for 1.30 for the 3 of us on arrival we were greeted promptly and taken to our table this was good as we did not wish to have a drink first.we ordered our starters and this arrived promptly as the restaurant was relatively quiet, my partner had stuffed mushrooms which were very nice i myself had fishcakes ok nothing to write home about. we then waited for our mains one roast beef and two roast pork we waited and waited and waited by this time an hour had passed and the restaurant had filled up. My partner had to find someone to remind them we had not had our mains they did not remove our dirty plates from our starter when they went to check on our roasts how bizarre. eventually they arrived with no apology for the wait. my beef was luke warm and not nice at all very chewy so left it the potatoes were no better and thus was accompanied with limp cabbage and hard carrots my partners and my mothers lunch had suffered the same fate sadly. desert i ordered the winter spiced creme brulee and my partner crumble the brulee was just baked custard not nice but the crumble was ok very disappointed would not visit here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bettert than expected.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Maybe I have a low expectation of the local restaurants but this was better than I expected. We went on a Sunday lunchtime for a 12:30pm sit down and had prebooked a table. Most of our party of seven had a roast dinner. The portions looked small once the warm plates arrived, but turned out they were oversized plates and we were all nicely full afterwards. Staff were friendly and fairly on the ball, checking in to see if we were ok and needed extra drinks from time to time. The bill came to £20 per head, with most have 2 drinks or tea and coffee and a couple of deserts. I think this is good value and a they've got a good selection of real ale. I would go back here in the future.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevechit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moat also viewed

Wrotham Heath, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to The Moat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing