We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot in the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Grange aux Marmottes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Viscos
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely spot in the mountains”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is my favorite kind of hotel, both rustic and charming. It has stone walls, wood trim, tile floors, and lots of flowers both inside and out. The hotel is in a tiny stone village overlooking a mountain valley. The rooms are very comfortable, and the breakfast and dinners are served in lovey settings. The food is good, and it is so relaxing to not have to drive someplace for dinner. Be sure to try their housemade chestnut aperitif, delicious! We had a magical day at nearby Pont d'Espagne. I love waterfalls, and these are world class! The best views are right by the Hostellerie du Pont d'Espagne, but you will see other cascades all along the road up from the valley. Take the Gondola and chairlift and short hike to Lac de Gaube, it is a lovely mountain lake.

Room Tip: Best views are from the rooms in the main building. Room 5 has a small terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmsdms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    69
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
37
150
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

About as out of the way as you can get, at the end of a tiny cul-de-sac mountain village. The hotel is a set of higgledy-piggledy areas set on levels by a steep cobbled path, so not one for the disabled. The small public rooms are cosy and traditional in the nicest way. Bedroom 9 is spacious but looks out onto the hillside and has no window -only a patio door. We noticed the minibar fridge did not work and were moved to room 10 which has a tiny bathroom. But the compensation was an equally spacious bedroom, with a patio overlooking the valley! Wonderful. The demi-pension evening meal, equating to Eu21 had no choice but was consistently good and well-varied over our 4 nights, and excellent value. Reasonably priced wine. When I objected to one course they offerred a pleasant alternative. The restaurant was packed every night but well managed by a staff who clearly knew what they were doing. We really missed our waitress when she had the night off.
There is a small swimming pool and some walking paths nearby.
Charming, rustic, relaxing, rural mountain setting. Please sir, I want some more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GealCarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I picked this hotel because of trip advisor. Very happy that I did! Amazing location very close to Cirque de Garvarnie and many other Pyreneeian treats. A warm welcome by the owner greeted us, and they were so helpful with the meal requirements I had. I would love to visit again and would recommend to family and friends alike.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue_Goon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch England
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We were camping in the valley, and wanted a special meal. The Campsite owner sent us here and we were so glad she did! The views from the car park were breathtaking, the village very picturesque and we thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and decor in the restaurant. The food was superb and the set menus gave a good range of options. We spent 68 Euros and had 2 x 3 course dinners 2 glasses of wine and 2 coffees.
Certainly the Demi-pension looked a very good deal but we had to return to our little tent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LateGappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This hotel and its restaurant (open to non-residents) are in a very small village (approx. 50 inhabitants) high above the D921 road and the river that runs alongside it towards Luz Saint Sauveur. There is ample car parking with the nearest being adjacent to the small Maire about 20 meters down a concrete and stone pathway (which I imagine might be tricky for wheelchair users).
The hotel building is in two parts. The original, old farmhouse has a small outdoor courtyard and contains the reception area on the ground floor, with stairs leading to the main restaurant above and a further set of stairs to the separate breakfast room above that. Some bedrooms are situated in this main building. Almost immediately opposite is a 2 storey, more modern but rustic, chalet-style building which has several other bedrooms. The accommodation throughout is attractive as well as looking clean and tidy.
Our bedrooms were very comfortable and had well-equipped, if a bit small, shower rooms with the usual en suite facilities. Perfection would have included a view from the bedroom window given the lovely village setting. However, the hotel has a small swimming pool and terrace where it is possible to ‘lounge’ and take-in the views (but the pool was not open in mid-September when we were there, even though the weather was sunny and warm).
We enjoyed our two evening meals at the restaurant (we were on the demi-pension plan which others have also recommended). Throughout our stay, we found the service both in the hotel and restaurant to be efficient, friendly and helpful. Our waitress did enjoy having some banter with us each evening but, unlike some others who have commented in an earlier review, this was well contained and made us feel at ease. Despite being on the demi-pension rate which includes a fixed dinner menu, when asked the hotel was very happy, at no extra cost, to provide an alternative to one course which I did not fancy. In addition, they are happy for guests to switch to a different menu or order from La Carte if they so wish and to credit the demi-pension rate against this. All-in-all we were very happy with these flexible arrangements. In addition, the restaurant has a good wine list and prices are not unreasonable. As mentioned earlier, breakfast is taken on the floor above the restaurant and is buffet style. There was a good selection including small, freshly made croissants each morning.
There are plenty of attractive walks in the immediate area including mountain bike trails for the adventurous.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The hotel is high on a mountain near Garvanie in the French Pyrennes. The staff are very friendly and the demi pension. Is a very good deal. The food is very good. For a 2 star hotel the place is highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Con_Thai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Beautiful spot up a winding narrow road above the valley floor with fantastic views of the Pyrenees. Picturesque hillside village, stone buildings, slate roofs. Very nice restaurant on premises. Lots of flowers. Free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GChad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viscos
3.9 mi away
Hotel & Residence Balneo Aladin
3.3 mi away
Hotel Le Montaigu
Hotel Le Montaigu
#1 of 5 in Luz-Saint-Sauveur
127 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel du Lion d'Or
Hotel du Lion d'Or
#1 of 8 in Cauterets
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Le Bois Joli
Le Bois Joli
#4 of 8 in Cauterets
76 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Hotel De France
Grand Hotel De France
#3 of 3 in Pierrefitte Nestalas
101 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Le Pas de l'Ours
Hotel Le Pas de l'Ours
#6 of 8 in Cauterets
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grange aux Marmottes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grange aux Marmottes

Property: La Grange aux Marmottes
Address: Village, 65120 Viscos, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Viscos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Viscos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Grange aux Marmottes 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your La Grange aux Marmottes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing