We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Padang Bai Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Padangbai
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
349 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This gem of a hotel is tucked into a small area of Padang Bai beach.The guest is greeted with an infinity pool next to the office. This is a great way to know you are in the right place. The rooms surround a courtyard where there is a bar and restaurant.

The rooms are spacious and the air conditioning works. (At least it did in our room ... one of our party had a faulty one and unfortunately the hotel was full so they couldn't change to another room.) The bathrooms are standard and come with minimal toiletries.

The room comes with breakfast. The buffet is minimal, burt the food is good. You can order mie goreng (noodle stir fry) or nasi goreng (fried rice) as part of your breakfast for no extra cost. The restaurant is adequate for lunch and dinner, but there are better options around the town.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Every need and every request was fulfilled.

The rooms were clean, the beds and pillows were comfortable. There was a swamp gas smell in the bathroom, but it didn't persist. The beer was cold, the pool was warm, and the staff was great.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the beach have a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CommanderChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    138
    72
    30
    14
See reviews for
52
153
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were travelling from Ubud to Gili Air and needed a place to stay over for 1 night to catch our boat in the morning. After our arrival in Padang Bai we were very happy that we only stayed there for 1 night as we did not enjoy the village very much. The Padang Bai Beach Resort hotel was also not a very welcoming place (think: fluorescent lighting and ugly interiors) and most facilties were not working as well (no WiFi, the key broke, the bar closed early, very simple breakfast). It may be good enough for transit, but if you are looking for a beautiful and nice place to stay, we would not recommed Padang Bai and the Padang Bai Beach Resort hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaKaassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbbr, Manager at Padang Bai Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Maria Kassie,
we have no record of your staying with us as well as we have NO fluorecent lights... Is it possible you stayed in a different hotel with a similar name?
You are also not being fair regarding Padang Bai as village: yours are the classical comments of those who stay in PB for just one night and then hop to the "Gilis" without taking time to consider where they are, or worse, following some outdated "travellers" guides. Apart from having two of the most stunning beaches in Bali, Padangbai enjoys a great position which makes it easy to visit all the best the Island has to offer with daily trips and transfers of maximum one hour (ie without having to change hotel often). The village is calm and relaxed, super-safe and actually every day chosen by more and more people who decide to spend their entire Bali experience based in Padang Bai.
May be next time you visit Bali you will consider spending sometime in Padang Bai and get a real feel of Balinese life...?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Padangbai hotels

KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Check in was smooth and staff are generally helpful except for the two foreigners seen at the main office (looks like the managers).

Breakfast buffet was infested with flies. Something can be done about this for eg., putting lemograss candles or fly trapper, etc.

On the first night I was bitten by bugs but thought nothing of it (I stayed in Room 22). However, the bites continue in the next few days and then I realised they were bites from bed bugs. The management should do something to rid the bugs from Rooms No. 22 & 23. generally the room is clean. The staff acknowledged the complaints but did nothing much except to change room for my friend Room 23 (he managed to catchh the bugs and placed them in the glass for the staff at Padang Bai).

Water from the toilets tasted salty (when you bathe and brush).

The rooms are overpriced for its facilities and standards.

Room Tip: Rooms on upstairs balcony offer better privacy and view (rooms 20, 21, 22 & 23), provided they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kaliehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbbr, Manager at Padang Bai Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Kaliehs,
first of all, thanks for taking your time reviewing our Resort, I am probably one of the two "foreigners" you saw at the office, and if you were alone, well altogether we were three (you are Malaysian,not Indonesian...) unless if by using the word "foreigner" you meant a more specific racial target, in which case please allow me a laconic "no comment".
The issue regarding "bed bugs" has been completely solved the moment we were informed of their existance.
Anyway,we apologize for your incovenience:"bed bugs" unfortunatly can happen to any hotel, as they travel with and are brought by people. Hotels are normally prepared to react immediately by using certain chemicals and/or changing the materasses May I only draw your attention to the fact that, if you and your friend had not "waited few days..." before reporting, we could have solved the problem immediately ?
Kind Regards and hope to have you back with us as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in one of the upstairs sea view rooms for four nights. The room as well as the whole resort seemed to be quite well maintained and were clean, so there is nothing to complain about in this respect. However, the quality of the breakfast is average at most and the bathrooms tend to be rather smelly, which we could "check" in two rooms. Moreover, our luggage was moved from one room to another during our absence, though we asked the staff to wait for us beforehand, which was of course rather upsetting. Considering room rates, the complete lack of atmosphere as well as the service quality, a rating of two seems to be more than adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeneBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san rafe
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just stayed at the Resort and honestly cannot agree to some of the comments posted.
Breakfast: we found it great: warm bread rolls just out of a wood-fired oven, home-made jams, eggs any style...
The diving operations by Absolute Scuba Bali are perfectly run by a team of dedicated international and local guys which just seem to love what they are doing. One of the most professional place to get a course or fun dives we have ever seen. BTW, diving is Padangbai is world-class.
Indeed the swimming-pool is closed when diver's training is on and that is for everyone's safety...cannot complain if you decide to lodge in a diving resort...
Rooms are clean and well kept Yes, sometimes the "smells of Asia" come out but...that's where you are!
All in all we had a great service experience with the Staff and it is well worth the money it costs.
Padangbai is known as a passage to the Gilis. Nothing more wrong. Our suggestion is to spend some days there, visit the splendid White Sand Beach, the vilage is located in the middle of all the must-see of Bali so you can actually make day trips to all the best attractions of the island, we found it a totally safe place to stay (its people are very friendly), relaxed and laid back.
Next time we will surely spend the entire holiday there

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed for 10 days. Did scuba diving with Absolute Scuba (on site) for 8 of those days! Giovanni and Alena do a great job running the hotel and dive center. Very friendly and hands-on. Always attentive to any guest requests or needs. They work hard at making sure everything runs smoothly. They suggested I take the Advanced Open Water course while I was there, and I'm so glad I did. All the dive guides were experienced and I felt very safe during my 17 dives! The many dive sites that Absolute offers are great! The whole staff was friendly and helpful--from the housekeeping and reception staff, to the guides, drivers, and boat crews. My room was clean and comfortable, and maintained daily. I was in an upstairs balcony room. The restaurant and bar on the grounds were the only place I took my meals, because the German chef who runs them makes sure that the food and drinks are safe to consume--not a small consideration when trying to avoid "Bali Belly." You may find some cheaper prices elsewhere, but I wouldn't trust that the food was prepared as safely. Breakfast (included with the room) was always yummy--fresh hot rolls, fruit, eggs to order, and more. There's plenty of eastern and western foods on the menu, and the wood-fired pizza was great! Disregard any mention in other reviews about noise from the bar. It closes at 10 pm nightly, so there is no "all night bar noise" like you can have at other hotels near the Babylon Bar in town. I liked that this hotel was right on the beach, so you can enjoy the beach atmosphere, and yet easily walk through town and sightsee. But it is far enough down the road to avoid the noise and traffic from the Ferry terminal at the other end of the harbor. Many people might use it for only a night or two, but others stayed for several days to a week, and I'll vouch that my 10 days weren't long enough. I wish I could have stayed in Padang Bai even longer!

Room Tip: I hear the garden bungalows are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night between Sidemen and getting the boat to the Gilis.

We were shown to an upstairs room up some steep steps (almost at the front of the place) which were hard to get our bags up - once in the room it was v cramped and the bathroom door, handles and amenities were fairly rusty. There was a smell coming from the bathroom which they had tried to counteract with an automatic air freshener - when I lay down on the bed it was spraying the scent directly into my face so I had to move it away near the door.

There is aircon in the room however the windows above the door to the room and the door to the balcony were both open, therefore it did not work effectively.

We did not sleep well as there are lights on around the pool and bar area all night and the blind is white so the light just shines through. Fortunately this was just a place to crash as I wouldn't have wanted to stay there longer.

Although I had a wifi signal on my ipad, it did not work at all - we went to the Top Inn for dinner, just down the road and the signal was fast and strong there.

Room Tip: The bungalow rooms around the garden looked better than the ones we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woganmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padangbai
0.2 mi away
Bloo Lagoon Village
Bloo Lagoon Village
#2 of 4 in Padangbai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
3.4 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri Rai
Hotel Puri Rai
#3 of 8 in Manggis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
OK Divers Resort & Spa
OK Divers Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Padangbai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bamboo Paradise Homestay
Bamboo Paradise Homestay
#1 of 10 in Padangbai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#3 of 10 in Padangbai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padang Bai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padang Bai Beach Resort

Property: Padang Bai Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Panti Silayukti | Manggis, Padangbai 80872, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Padangbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Padangbai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Padang Bai Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Padangbai Beach Resort is devoted to providing excellent facilities and amenities to divers and travelers such as free, high speed internet, luxurious mattresses with duvet bedding, A/C and hot water showers with individual heaters in all the rooms. Our resort has an onsite spa and a cozy restaurant with an authentic Italian wood-fired pizza oven which serves an excellent breakfast buffet with freshly baked buns and croissants in the morning (in high season), choice of eggs cooked to preference, cereals, choice of coffee or teas, fresh fruits and juices, as well as Asian cuisine. We also have a pool bar for those wanting to relax while sipping some delicious cocktail drinks. We speak English, Indonesian, German, Dutch and French. Come and relax with us at Padang Bai Beach Resort, where comfort, natural beauty and tradition combine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Padang Bai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padang Bai Beach Bungalows Hotel Padangbai
Padang Bai Beach Resort Padangbai, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing