We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was incredibly disappointed and won't be returning”

Megalong Valley Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An exclusive 2000 acre private estate wilderness Horse Riding Lodge set in the heart of the Blue Mountains 2 hours from Sydney. Operating for the past 22 years providing unique experiences such as wilderness getaways, horse riding, bushwalking, cycling and food adventures.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Was incredibly disappointed and won't be returning”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I'm an experienced rider myself and only had the one hour ride option. I found there to be very minimal tuition for the beginners on the ride I went on a very small amount of communication also. The scenery wasn't anything flash (although was told the rides that go for thee to all day are much better) I was given a horse which seemed to want to follow constantly and there was no chance of going past a plod in the group which was rather frustrating after driving for over an hour to get there and paying 50 dollars.
The horses have shiney coats but most of them are over weight with very poor feet quality all horses were almost falling asleep on the ride and every horse tripped over even the smallest of sticks.
All tack was fitted very poorly and when trying to figure out what to do for my daughter to have a pony ride I was met wi very little words and grumbles with vague arm gestures.
I found it a waste of money and won't be going back.
For a beginner rider it's probably not that bad though. However for me I was so disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Reneigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Informed022, Owner at Megalong Valley Farm, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
In response to your experience. . We are sorry, we don’t go out of our way to provide a disappointing experience, we endeavor in every possible effort to earn accolades.
We had advised that during the school holidays, many children wish to ride and the rides are geared toward their safety and enjoyable outing. We have a selection of quiet sedate horses just for that purpose and the more robust horses for more experienced riders. Our longer rides extend further into the spectacular valley which has captivated many thousands of riders over the past twenty years. We are a specialty centre with unique components and cater to not only riders, but to a great and varied client base from home and overseas media markets who demand top horses and equipment for their filming needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    0
    3
    6
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Disappointing, expected alot more"”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We drove in after a wonderful lunch at a tea room nearby, we had to open and close the gates at the entrance (which wasn't a problem really). We went up to ask the staff if we could have a look at the farmyard, but the answers we got were disappointing and didn't make much sense (did they even have animals?). They then offered us a pony ride, but they said we'd have to wait ten minutes, we offered to wait but they wanted us to go a creek nearby. That "creek" they had told us about had nothing to do. In the end we decided to go home, without going back to farm. Disappointing, expected alot more.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Informed022, Owner at Megalong Valley Farm, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Your review is rather perplexing. Opening a closing a gate is usually not an issue worth commenting on, but obviously there was an element for concern for you. For Some time now the farmyard has not been accepting the public, with the high costs of maintaining such a facility, but we have several small ponies for the children to ride, led by the parents. Many children have their favorites as well as the donkeys, sheep and alpacas that roam free at the front of the property and they love to bring down carrots and bread for them.

When you requested a visit to the children’s farm you were advised that we only provided pony rides now , but you would have to wait 10 minutes for the next available pony. The staff member suggested that a nice spot if you wanted to have a picnic was at the nearby creek. She was not to know you already had lunch. Since we do not have the farmyard open to the public, she was only trying to be helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Just a little unorganised. Could do with a bit of a clean as well. Great location though. Fantastic!

Helpful?
3 Thank kate_014014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Kids loved the animals”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

You can visit with your little kids just to hand feed the animals, our kids love it

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank DamienSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundeena
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“not what it is advertised to be”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Megalong Valley Farm WAS once a beautiful working farm with an interesting heritage centre, onsite accommodation and lots of activites including horseriding. Now it is a shadow of it's former glory and will no doubt dissappoint most visitors. The horse riding is still acceptable but the accommodation is woeful and should be avoided. It is charged at 4-5 star prices and would be lucky to be 1 star in reality. There are no facilities for campers, as claimed, and all in all it's a depressing place to visit with even the staff's morale affected by the bad management of the whole facility.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
15 Thank riaBundeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Informed022, Owner at Megalong Valley Farm, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Sorry that the venue have changed its operations. It ceased as a working farm and heritage centre in June 2011 resulting from the drop in overall tourism numbers to the region with the GFC downturn. The accommodation provides a great getaway for people from the hustle and bustle of the city and is designed to fit in the overall wilderness getaway experience.

We do strive to meet expectations and our feedback forms in our rooms and our rides all reassure us that we are in fact exceeding their expectations. We genuinely care about our guests and those choosing to stay with us to expect a country stay equating to what is portrayed in our images. The venue for twenty years has endeavored to be accurate in what it does and provides; and not to oversell itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Megalong Valley Farm also viewed

Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Megalong Valley, Blue Mountains
 
Megalong Valley, Blue Mountains
Megalong Valley, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Megalong Valley Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing