We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Horse and Groom
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Redesdale Arms Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor House Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Royal Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Noel Arms Hotel(Chipping Campden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa(Chipping Campden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Stocks Inn(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stag Lodge(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Stow Lodge Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Unicorn Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
195
35
7
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
195
35
7
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubexcellent foodfresh milkhakeusing local produceporkdelicious mealgarden roompuddinglittle toucheslocal farmwine listcomfortable roomsbar arearoad noiseboth nightslarge bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 247 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2010

After alot of research decided to stay at Horse and Groom, prob the best choice I could have made. We stayed for 2 nights and couldn't fault it. We were greeted by first names and shown to our room (which was lovely, it was rm 1 ) fresh milk for tea was provided as was homemade flapjacks. We ate in the restaurant downstairs where the food was to die for, it was so fresh and tasty and you got the feeling the chef was passionate about his food. The breakfast in the morning was also very good with fresh eggs from their own hens.
Nothing was too much trouble for Will and Tom the owners and would definitely go back without a second thought

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue_RossScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Fresh, home grown produce a great, experimental chef and attentive front of house all add up to a warm welcome and satisfied diners.
Positioned close to Moreton in Marsh, Chipping Campden, Broadway and Stowe The Horse and Groom is the perfect place to pitch up and explore.
Or kick back and chill out.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank kittensmitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

The Inn is accessable by bus or pre-arranged car for hire, but probably best by car. We arrived early afternoon and we shown to our room on the 2nd floor. The room was spacious, with a very pretty view out our bay window. Feeling a little peckish, we went down to the pub for a bite and a beer. Ordered the pork meatballs in tomato sauce on creamed polenta - Wow! The sauce tasted like it had been slow slimmered for hours and you could see the fresh ingredients used in making the meatball. What a treat! The Inn is in a central location for visiting other locations in the Cotswolds (which can reached by the local bus).
The staff are sincere and friendly. Unfortunately, during my stay, I required some urgent medical attention. Richard (the Manager) arranged a local car for hire that arrived within minutes. The incredibly nice driver (sorry, I've lost your card) took me to the local hospital and even returned to take me back to the Inn. I was quite taken aback by the hospitality of these people.
We enjoyed a romantic dinner at a table for two in the very cozy pub. Food was excellent. If we are ever back in the area, I would definately return to the Horse & Groom. Thank you for such a nice stay! Sandra & Kerry

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Everything about the Horse and groom was wonderful. From the very warm welcome we received from the manager when we arrived to the friendly attentive service when we checked out. the food is fabulous, rooms clean, comfortable with everything you need. I loved sitting on the window seat of my room watching the world go by.

The pub is relaxed, laid back, not fussy, but has attention to detail. I loved the fact that it looked like a team with everyone seeming to genuinely enjoy what they were doing and knew what they were doing. All the staff came across as working for the same goal and passionate about the business. We felt part of the hotel not in the way which you can at so many others. I echo all the other comments on this site, we don't normally go back to same place twice on holiday but we will be back a with friends next time. Thank you to all at the Horse and Groom.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We have stayed at the Horse and Groom on two occasions and cant recommend it enough. The rooms are spotless and the staff very helpful and friendly. The food here is just wonderful, fabulous cooked breakfast and fantastic dishes on the evening menu, with the freshest local ingedients. The restaurant / bar is busy and has a lovely atmoshphere. This is the best place we have stayed in a long time and will definately be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katelwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews