We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horse and Groom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse and Groom
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

A bit of a long journey for us but again I proved to my husband that I pick great places!!
What a great stay we had. The room was wonderful, the food fantastic and such a treat to be waited on so well. Staff all lovely especially Ang who suggested a few places to visit and hit the nail right on the head.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McLunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    30
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
134
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
berkowil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

My husband and I travelled here with 2 other couples and we had the most wonderful time. We were looking for some place to get away for a casual but special weekend celebration and this could not have been more perfect.
The room was lovely and comfortable (bit bathrooms, cozy bed, gorgeous views from window seats, home cooked biscuits instead of store bought).
We decided to book the restaurant for dinner on Saturday night so we wouldn't have to drive home and what a treat - the meal was absolutely delicious. We all want to go back just to eat the butternut feta salad again!
We also took advantage of a tour with Farmer Dale, a recommendation they had in their guest book and another surprise treat. R Dale is a local farmer who took us out for 2 hours to explain how the local farms work and it was really an inside look at a world we knew little about.
The best thing about our stay was how friendly and accommodating Tom was. As much as we love exploring all over Britain, we now just want to go back to Horse and Groom!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berkowil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Horse and Groom, Bourton on the Hill in Sept 09 for 4 nights. Tom the owner gave us a lovely welcome despite the place being full of people. Our bedroom was very comfy with tea/coffee facilities plus homemade flapjack!
We ate at the restaurant 3 times and every meal was excellent. Our particular favourite being the panacotta. The restaurant was very busy every night and we can see why the place was so popular with visitors and locals. It was nice to see that all the food was locally produced. The eggs at breakfast even came from the hens in the back garden!
We would most certainly go back for a stay again and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidaymakerCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

We stayed at the H&G for four nights in July and it was absolutely perfect. The garden room was comfortable and quiet with a zen feel to it and french doors opening on the terrace. We booked a package including breakfast and dinner which was a great idea because looking for a decent place to eat after a day of walking in the fields wouldn't be much fun, especially since we had no car. The food is terrific with a fresh local twist on a variety of classic dishes. Not your typical British pub experience to say the least. The staff is also very friendly and professional.
Bourton-on-the-hill is a great base for day walks, some starting at the door and some a short bus ride away. Our favourites included Chipping Campden to Hidcote gardens, Broadway to Snowshill and Stanton, Blockley and Sezincote.
We spent 4 days in London prior to this and frankly I would have preferred one less night there and 1 more day in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anachronist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

I loved this place. The brothers who own it share a real passion for good food and local ales. The rooms are not massive but then this is a country pub. The style is tastefully a mix of old and modern. Clean rooms and nice touches like fresh milk for your tea and local made biscuits in your room.

The food was great. Lots of local produce so you knew where everything came from. My other half a CAMRA member loved the local ales on tap.

Near to Batsford arboretum which is lovely at any time of year...but we did see it almost empty at 10 in the morning under 2 foot of snow in bright sunshine which was the most magical thing I have every seen! Not much else in Bourton-on-the-hill but plenty within driving distance. But if you want a quiet getaway with lovely rooms, service, ales and food under one roof you must visit this place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatherineE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at this gorgeous little Inn. We had the cheapest room, but it was really gorgeous - modern, yet comfortable and very spacious. The bathroom was a good size, the shower was really powerful, the bath filled up quickly and there was plenty of hot water at all times. You would pay £200 for this type of room in many places.

The room itself was well laid out, with a TV and DVD player mounted on the wall at the end of the bed. There were tea and coffee facilities, and lovely extra touches such as complimentary locally made flapjacks and fresh milk provided daily.

The restaurant was really good - and the leisure deal is worth taking advantage of. The wine list was also really good, although quite small, and then they also have some featured wines which I think change weekly.

Breakfast was included in the rate, and was really good and filling. Choose from fresh fruit, greek yoghourt and honey etc, followed by full english and then toast,pastries etc. They use fresh locally sourced products where possible, and have a vegetable garden and chickens so all veg and eggs are very fresh.

We had a lovely relaxing time here, the owners were so friendly without being in your face, and there is lots to do locally. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

The Horse and Groom is a charming gastropub with comfortable, modern rooms and a friendly staff, well-located in the Cotswolds. My husband and I enjoyed a restful, pleasant, tasty two-night stay.

The location: Easy to find, an hour and forty-five minutes drive from Heathrow, in a small village, with walking paths nearby; a good base for exploring the Cotswolds. (It is on a busy road, which is a slight downside, but also allows for easy driving throughout the area.)

The pub: Warm, lively, popular with the locals. The food is excellent, with local and seasonal ingredients and a nice selection of wine and beer. Service is very friendly and professional. Breakfast for overnight guests is exceptional, including eggs from the chickens in the back yard.

The rooms: Modern and clean, with a comfortable bed and a nice bathroom; quiet, with some slight street noise in the morning in our room, which faced the street.

The Horse and Groom was a perfect place to stay for our visit to the Cotswolds, and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Hill
1.9 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
1.9 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
5.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Groom

Property: Horse and Groom
Address: Bourton on the Hill, Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Bourton-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With all the laidback charm of a true Cotswolds country pub, at the Horse and Groom we pride ourselves on our friendly service, award-winning food and drink and sumptuous B&B accommodation in individually styled bedrooms. Located in the heart of Bourton on the Hill, here you can retreat for a leisurely meal, stop by for a drink and stay over for a relaxing break. Our light and airy bar is well stocked with real ales and wines and the beautifully restored dining room, with its log fire blazing in the winter makes a welcoming setting in which to enjoy our exquisite classic British cuisine with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Horse and Groom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse & Groom Hotel Bourton-On-The-Hill
Horse And Groom Bourton-On-The-Hill, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing