We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem!”
Review of Horse and Groom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse and Groom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night on the way home from Cornwall and were not disappointed! In fact we will return. We had Room 1 which was large and very well appointed. They have a good sense of humour here - don't be surprised at some leg pulling - it's a very busy and jolly Pub with delicious food - they care about food here: on the breakfast table there is a note saying all the milk served is produced and bottled on a small Cotswold farm where all the cows are known by name. Vegetables are freshly picked from the garden, marmalade and jam is homemade - wonderful selection of local beers on tap - it's different and delightful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herdwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 239 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a meal on a Tuesday night in August and it was packed! There aren't many tables, so pre-booking is recommended. The food was delicious and well priced and the service was excellent. The only negative is that the car park is very small with vehicles double parking. Still, as everything else was so good, this wouldnt stop me going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MB3203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We visited this brilliant pub on the way back from the Severn Valley Railway. Despite not having a reservation, the staff bent over backwards to fit us in. It was my brother's birthday so were looking for somewhere a little special.

The food was nothing short of excellent - no complaints from any of us. Plenty of options on pump at the bar and incredibly friendly and attentive staff. I would highly recommend the puddings as well.

Definitely worth a detour!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubawyclef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Choosing a venue for a casual supper for 8, to include three 90yr olds is always going to be a big ask, add wooden floors, wooden tables into the mix and a menu on a chalk board updated faster than orders can be taken, and this could been a difficult evening. However, good natured staff good food, beer and wine made a most enjoyable outing for everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank scotsphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked reservations here because of the reviews we'd read on Tripadvisor - and we're happy we did ! Tom and his brother are very friendly, and accommodating. We stayed two nights. The first night we were in room 2, which is in the front of the inn and has a nice large window, so there was a good breeze coming in. It was a very nice room with a comfortable bed. I was surprised how well appointed the rooms were, with a very modern bathroom, and the bathroom had a nice window as well. There was a nice tea set up, with home-made flapjack biscuits in each room. There was a large King size bed in the room, and since there were 3 of us - they put in a blow up mattress in the room as well.
The second night, we moved into two rooms, I was in room 4 - still at the front of the inn, again with a big window for a nice breeze, but my friends were in Room 2, facing the back garden. Their room was very stuffy and warm, with no air circulation. They had a small window in the room and one in the bathroom, but the curtains were very thin, and since meals are served in the back garden, they felt like they had very little privacy. Nevertheless, we loved staying there. I would just recommend staying in the rooms that are in the front of the inn.
As far as the meals - - we had dinner there one night and the food was varied and excellent - all fresh, home-grown vegetables and deliciously prepared. We had breakfast there two mornings and they were also really good. They leave a paper in your room each evening, that you fill out with the choices of food you would like for breakfast, and then it's ready for you when you come down in the morning.
We all liked staying in the Horse and Groom, and would come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jainsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful night's stay at the Horse and Groom, recommended to us by friends. Our room was spacious, clean and beautifully appointed with a large comfortable bed, fresh milk for tea and some scrumptious home made flapjacks to enjoy after a busy day out. Our meal in the evening was delicious, using good quality, locally sourced ingredients to create fresh prepared soups, beautifully cooked steaks and scrumptious puddings. Everything was packed with flavour. The atmosphere in the bar and restaurant was buzzing with happy and contented diners, and Tom and his staff could not have been more friendly and welcoming. A refreshing night's sleep was followed by a delicious breakfast, again using ingredients that supported the local dairy and other producers. If you visit the Cotswolds we would really recommend staying and dining here.

Room Tip: Room 1 is spacious, light and overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We recently happened upon this pub after a disappointing visit to another nearby eatery, which we did not stay for food at. The Horse And Groom was perfect, the menu divine and the Toffee Meringue was worth coming back for once more!! Lovely staff, great setting, sat outside with our fog overlooking the veg garden and hills beyond! Will go again the next time we are in the area! Just lovely!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lord_n_lady_weaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Hill
1.9 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,965 reviews
1.9 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,171 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
260 reviews
4.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,045 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Groom

Address: Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Bourton-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Hill
Price Range: $141 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horse and Groom 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With all the laidback charm of a true Cotswolds country pub, at the Horse and Groom we pride ourselves on our friendly service, award-winning food and drink and sumptuous B&B accommodation in individually styled bedrooms. Located in the heart of Bourton on the Hill, here you can retreat for a leisurely meal, stop by for a drink and stay over for a relaxing break. Our light and airy bar is well stocked with real ales and wines and the beautifully restored dining room, with its log fire blazing in the winter makes a welcoming setting in which to enjoy our exquisite classic British cuisine with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Horse and Groom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse & Groom Hotel Bourton-On-The-Hill
Horse And Groom Bourton-On-The-Hill, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing