We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Gastro-pub/B & B”
Review of Horse and Groom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse and Groom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked reservations here because of the reviews we'd read on Tripadvisor - and we're happy we did ! Tom and his brother are very friendly, and accommodating. We stayed two nights. The first night we were in room 2, which is in the front of the inn and has a nice large window, so there was a good breeze coming in. It was a very nice room with a comfortable bed. I was surprised how well appointed the rooms were, with a very modern bathroom, and the bathroom had a nice window as well. There was a nice tea set up, with home-made flapjack biscuits in each room. There was a large King size bed in the room, and since there were 3 of us - they put in a blow up mattress in the room as well.
The second night, we moved into two rooms, I was in room 4 - still at the front of the inn, again with a big window for a nice breeze, but my friends were in Room 2, facing the back garden. Their room was very stuffy and warm, with no air circulation. They had a small window in the room and one in the bathroom, but the curtains were very thin, and since meals are served in the back garden, they felt like they had very little privacy. Nevertheless, we loved staying there. I would just recommend staying in the rooms that are in the front of the inn.
As far as the meals - - we had dinner there one night and the food was varied and excellent - all fresh, home-grown vegetables and deliciously prepared. We had breakfast there two mornings and they were also really good. They leave a paper in your room each evening, that you fill out with the choices of food you would like for breakfast, and then it's ready for you when you come down in the morning.
We all liked staying in the Horse and Groom, and would come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jainsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 240 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful night's stay at the Horse and Groom, recommended to us by friends. Our room was spacious, clean and beautifully appointed with a large comfortable bed, fresh milk for tea and some scrumptious home made flapjacks to enjoy after a busy day out. Our meal in the evening was delicious, using good quality, locally sourced ingredients to create fresh prepared soups, beautifully cooked steaks and scrumptious puddings. Everything was packed with flavour. The atmosphere in the bar and restaurant was buzzing with happy and contented diners, and Tom and his staff could not have been more friendly and welcoming. A refreshing night's sleep was followed by a delicious breakfast, again using ingredients that supported the local dairy and other producers. If you visit the Cotswolds we would really recommend staying and dining here.

Room Tip: Room 1 is spacious, light and overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We recently happened upon this pub after a disappointing visit to another nearby eatery, which we did not stay for food at. The Horse And Groom was perfect, the menu divine and the Toffee Meringue was worth coming back for once more!! Lovely staff, great setting, sat outside with our fog overlooking the veg garden and hills beyond! Will go again the next time we are in the area! Just lovely!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lord_n_lady_weaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Absolutely wonderful pub food in a friendly atmosphere. We've been to the Horse & Groom a few times now and been very impressed every time from Starters through to Desserts. The menu has been different every time we have visited but the results were consistently good. Definitely worth a trip here when in the Cotswolds and, if it's a sunny day, the outdoor tables are set in a lovely garden with views over the rolling hills!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were recommended to sample lunch here by a lady in Moreton-on-Marsh where we were not all that impressed by what was on offer. How right she was! We had a great lunch, two of us having mussels and one salt beef and served by attentive, happy and delightful staff. We felt very welcome from the moment we entered and, after the second and third rate establishments we are sadly used to in Cornwall where we live, it was so exciting and totally refreshing to find something of excellence.

After our visit to Sezincote we decided to return on this very hot day for some liquid refreshment and were tempted to stay for supper. We managed to get a table in the garden again on what was a stunning evening. We had a simply delicious meal. I ate Cornish plaice which was better than I'd eaten at Rick Stein's in Padstow and for a third of the price! My partner had the poussins and my mother the wonderful burger. This place is fantastic and we're immensely impressed. We would love to have such a quality establishment local to us in Falmouth but sadly we are too often ripped off, not valued as customers and subject to the substandard "tourist" fayre at highly inflated prices.

The staff were so responsive and, on the hottest of days continued to appear enthusiastic and happy to serve. It was one of the best experiences of eating out in UK that we've had, if not the best! Thanks for a simply delicious meal. The vegetable selection of sweet young carrots and beautifully tender runner beans was a delight. The "frites" were gorgeous and the desserts of summer pudding, apple and gooseberry flapjack crumble and selection of cheeses were first class and accompanied by coffee one could actually taste and the signature homemade nougat.

We can't thank you enough. Absolutely fantastic experience, wonderful value for money and you've added to our love of the Cotswolds. Excellent attention to detail in every aspect, beautiful garden, idyllic setting and surely the quintessential Cotswolds and middle England experience - brilliant and thank you so much. Faultless experience and we just love you! So many places in Cornwall could learn so much from you...thanks to the lady we met in Moreton-in-Marsh for this wonderful recommendation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We arrived after touring the countryside. We had no idea about accommodation prior to arriving to Horse & Groom (HG). We stopped in for lunch and stayed for the night! Best choice we could have made.

After a bit of a time trying to find parking (HG is aware of the issue), we went in to enjoy lunch. HG was packed and we would find out why. Placed our order, if no seating is available outside (and you want to be outside – view is great), make sure you ask to be put on the waiting list (your name on the chalk board). The outdoor seating provides spectacular views, garden atmosphere, while the inside is just as quaint.

We enjoyed the made from scratch everything menu, vegetables from the garden out back, the burger was fantastic! We finished our meal sadly and proceeded to pay our bill. Talked with one of the owners (two brothers) about area accommodations, we did not know HG was a B&B. Luckily one room was available! We were shown the room and even given a discount for the stay. Room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was as delightful as lunch the previous day. Homemade breads, jellies, and honey is just the start of the menu. Service was impeccable.

As for parking, HG is aware of the issue. In the near future a new parking will be developed for even better service.

HG is centrally located to all attractions, drives, and views in the area. Best experience in the Cotswold’s.

Key Points:
•Get there early for eats or wait-list for outside seating;
•Owners and staff are great on all aspects;
•Pay extra for the room with French doors to the outside patio, great for evening wine and sunsets.

Room Tip: Arrive early for lunch & dinner as HG becomes very busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SD-CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent friendly happy staff, owners who care, top class food and drink, restful room (garden room), area of outstanding natural beauty, and best of all you feel valued as a customer....what more can you want.

Room Tip: We love the Garden Room, even the rural alarm clock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Hill
1.9 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,022 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,150 reviews
1.9 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
285 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
785 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#4 of 18 in Moreton-in-Marsh
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Groom

Address: Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Bourton-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Hill
Price Range: $91 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horse and Groom 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With all the laidback charm of a true Cotswolds country pub, at the Horse and Groom we pride ourselves on our friendly service, award-winning food and drink and sumptuous B&B accommodation in individually styled bedrooms. Located in the heart of Bourton on the Hill, here you can retreat for a leisurely meal, stop by for a drink and stay over for a relaxing break. Our light and airy bar is well stocked with real ales and wines and the beautifully restored dining room, with its log fire blazing in the winter makes a welcoming setting in which to enjoy our exquisite classic British cuisine with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Horse and Groom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse & Groom Hotel Bourton-On-The-Hill
Horse And Groom Bourton-On-The-Hill, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing