We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Couple of Days” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horse and Groom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse and Groom
Certificate of Excellence
walsall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Couple of Days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Had a wonderful time.
The food is to die for with fantastic service.
Rooms are bright, modern and spotessly clean. Garden Room is lovely and opens onto a beautiful garden area to sit and have drinks.
Ideally situated to explore the area without being right in the heart of a busy tourist centre. Lots of lovely walks or short car journeys to main attractions.
Richard, Magda and all the staff cannot do enough for you.
Didn't really want to leave - which says it all in my book.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank villagirlWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    30
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
134
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Two nights at the 'Horse and Groom' - great last minute rate rate on the deluxe double. One of the loveliest experiences I (we) have ever had. Delightful (and enormous) room and great breakfast. Didn't eat there in the evening but food (I gather) is great and we look forward to that pleasure on some future occasion.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I am hesitant to even write this as my husband and I loved it so much we'd like to keep it all to ourselves!! On a spur-of-the-moment trip to the Cotswolds with my sister-in-law, we bought a Rough Guide to the Cotswolds and paged through looking for accommodation for that evening (a Monday). There's a section on the less-known villages, and that's where we found the Horse and Groom. Tom answered our call and said he could give us 2 rooms and would make a place for us for dinner, despite being fully booked. Strolling around Little Slaughter, we fell into conversation with a charming local lady who inquired where we were staying. When we told her she said it was "the best restaurant in the district and always full". We got a warm welcome and were shown to very comfortable and well-decorated rooms with full bathrooms. The chalk board menu is extensive, wines really interesting and the atmosphere in the bar/diningroom casual, friendly and fun. The dinner and breakfast were delicious, with the emphasis on local produce. The inn is on the road so there is traffic noise, but this is not a problem during the nights as the village is off the beaten track.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kightleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Have just come back from an overnight stay at the Horse & Groom. Everything was perfect, lunch, evening meal and breakfast. Our room was clean and provided everything we needed, including our own personal door to the garden. The service was excellent and we were impressed how efficiently our evening meal was served even with a party of 30 also sharing the restaurant with us. Thanks you for the birthday candles with our breakfast! We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The food was excellent an everything was locally sourced and beautifully cooked/presented. Will recommend this to all our friends.

Room Tip: We had a very peaceful night's sleep in the garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineNortha... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

we stayed here last year and had a loverly stay but breakfast was odd time constrainghts to fit the staff, we then later took friends for dinner and waited ages between each course food was ok but have better at a harvester

we were in the area last week an thought 3rd time lucky

no such luck having been told 1st come 1st served we arrived at 6 and dinner starts at 7 we had a drink in the garden and then at seven went in for our dinner only to be told " no chance" the place was rammed with old people so luckey escape, on my way out overheard staff commenting " is he kicking off ? " my 1st reaction was to kick off

I can only say this place is over rated and the staff rude and I really question the kitchen staffs cleanlyness having observed a member of the kitchen staff arriving in scruffs the getting food from the out side storage

good luck

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neillio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Horse and Groom, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Hello Neillio

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your visits to us. It is disappointing feedback such as this that spurs us on in our quest to be the best at what we do. There is nothing worse than not knowing when we get it wrong.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor experiences you have had here. Clearly you have not been wowed by us and it sounds like your third visit fell well short of the high standards to which we strive. Already we have discussed with the team a number of the issues raised by your review and made changes to our procedures and practices.

I would very much like to discuss things further with you so would be grateful if you would contact me at greenstocks[at]horseandgroom[dot]info at your convenience.

Our apologies once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is a really special place to stay. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Richard and Tom were incredibly hospitable. We took my Mum for her birthday and it was a great success. Can't praise the place enough. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. What more can I say.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Following a favourable review, we booked an evening meal, and can only say that our visit was well worth it. The reception at the bar, the service in the restaurant and the food was all first class, and had it not been the last night of our holiday, I am sure we would have re-visited.
Unusually, the only menu was written on a large blackboard, and I would have preferred to have studied a copy of it at the table, rather than deciding on my food choice whilst standing in the middle of the bar; however, if the menu changes regularly, then perhaps the blackboard is the best option. This minor personal criticism in no way detracts from the excellent 5 stars this venue richly deserves. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank groovyxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Hill
1.9 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
1.9 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
5.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Groom

Property: Horse and Groom
Address: Bourton on the Hill, Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Bourton-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With all the laidback charm of a true Cotswolds country pub, at the Horse and Groom we pride ourselves on our friendly service, award-winning food and drink and sumptuous B&B accommodation in individually styled bedrooms. Located in the heart of Bourton on the Hill, here you can retreat for a leisurely meal, stop by for a drink and stay over for a relaxing break. Our light and airy bar is well stocked with real ales and wines and the beautifully restored dining room, with its log fire blazing in the winter makes a welcoming setting in which to enjoy our exquisite classic British cuisine with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Horse and Groom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse & Groom Hotel Bourton-On-The-Hill
Horse And Groom Bourton-On-The-Hill, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing