We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely lunch in the garden”
Review of Horse and Groom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse and Groom
Certificate of Excellence
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“lovely lunch in the garden”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

innovative food, friendly service, and not too expensive.

Room Tip: we didn't sleep there, just had a lovely lunch in the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewravesax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    31
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
137
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We booked on the spur of the moment and were welcomed to a bustling dining room and bar. The menu was short but varied, I would describe it as modern British with interesting Asian twists. Beware the deserts - they are delicious but do not shy away from calories. But...the surrounding countryside is gorgeous and a long walk after lunch helped settle things.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I have just spent a wet and windy April weekend at the Horse and Groom for my husband's birthday. We had booked a standard double room but, as we were the only guests, they kindly upgraded us to the spacious garden room, with direct access to the well kept pub garden. The bed was comfortable, pillows very soft, and the room was clean and tidy.

Not only do you receive a warm welcome at the pub but you are also treated to wonderful goodies not normally found even in the best hotels, including June's scumptious homemade flapjacks, a flask of fresh milk and handmade local bath products in the bedrooms.

A highlight for us however was the beautiful breakfast. Dining in the quiet bar with the morning papers, a checkered tablecloth, pint of local milk, pat of local butter, eggs from the pubs own hens and homemade jam (again made by June, on this occasion peach and vanilla), set us up wonderfully for a day of damp sightseeing.

We also dined one evening in the pub and were again treated to wonderful local produce and food far exceeding the usual pub quality. My husband was particularly impressed with Granny G's toffee meringue! Good value for the quality of food and drink on offer.

Would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

It's a bit late by 2 years but my wife and I stayed for one night our wedding night !! What a find. At the time living in Pershore so wanted a local and idyllic place to stay after our wedding ! Truly perfect, we had the Garden room we said woudnt it be great if we woke up and snow was outside!! It was January !! Well it snowed! We woke up pulled the curtains WOW! The whole experience is etched in our memory , Tom's charm and friendliness to the whole ethic of there business. Home grown produce and chilled relaxed friendly bar staff. With views of the Cotswolds which is picture postcard perfect.. A true Gem in the heart of the Cotswolds , miss this and you'll regret it . Simon and Tanya Johnson married 30/01/2010 in Pershore Abbey.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ironmansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed two nights as we were going to a wedding locally and decided to make a weekend of it. Our room was at the front of the building and was decorated very stylishly, comfortable bed and great view down the hill. The bathroom was perfectly fine but did look a little worn in places. The breakfast was very good indeed and we ate in the pub one night. Very good food indeed - it is a very popular place. We very much enjoyed our stay and walked into moreton one afternoon and the local aboretum. Great place to stay and explore the local area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WightGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I checked this site when looking for a good pub for lunch when out in the Cotswolds and was impressed by the number of excellent reviews. They are all richly deserved. The menu is varied and the food is expertly prepared. Check out their website for examples but remember to book a table if you expect to visit at a busy time. There is a small car park at the side of the pub which fills up fast and it is easy to get blocked in as some people double park to avoid parking on the main road. I would add this to my list of best pubs in West Oxfordshire and look forward for another opportunity to eat there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuckinengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed here as a solo traveller for three nights in January 2012 while I was house hunting in the Cotswolds. I booked the large double room which was spacious and bright with contemporary, simple furnishings. The en suite bathroom was bright and spacious too.
The small touches in this pub were very thoughtful; the flask of fresh milk supplied every day for tea and coffee, the homemade flapjacks, interesting, locally-produced toiletries. Free Wi-Fi is available and TV service was good.
The breakfast choice is wide, with many of the items sourced locally. I can't remember the last time I had breakfast with a pat of locally produced butter and an old fashioned glass bottle of milk from the local dairy on a gingham checked tablecloth!
Staff were all friendly and helpful, even scraping my iced-up car windscreen for me early in the morning.
I would definitely return. The Horse and Groom is a relaxed, friendly, cosy retreat away from the hustle and bustle of every day life!

Room Tip: Large Double was bright and airy and at the back of the hotel. Road through Bourton on the Hill can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beijingjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Hill
1.9 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,849 reviews
1.9 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,114 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
315 reviews
5.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Groom

Property: Horse and Groom
Address: Bourton on the Hill, Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Bourton-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With all the laidback charm of a true Cotswolds country pub, at the Horse and Groom we pride ourselves on our friendly service, award-winning food and drink and sumptuous B&B accommodation in individually styled bedrooms. Located in the heart of Bourton on the Hill, here you can retreat for a leisurely meal, stop by for a drink and stay over for a relaxing break. Our light and airy bar is well stocked with real ales and wines and the beautifully restored dining room, with its log fire blazing in the winter makes a welcoming setting in which to enjoy our exquisite classic British cuisine with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Horse and Groom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse & Groom Hotel Bourton-On-The-Hill
Horse And Groom Bourton-On-The-Hill, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing