We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too short a stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Horse and Groom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse and Groom
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Too short a stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed here for just one night (sadly) although the friends we were with had stayed for two. Lovely "pub with rooms". Great modernsied rooms (extremely clean) and lovely food, much of it locally produced and much of the fruit, salad and veg from the garden, as well as eggs from the chickens in the garden. Completely booked for Saturday dinner and rightly so. The staff are just wonderful too.

Only comment - and not enough to mark down for as we could easily have checked this before we booked - if you are a light sleeper go for one of the two rooms at the back if you can. With the windows open on a summer night the road outside is quite busy.

Room Tip: See review if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitby1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    30
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
135
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norton St. Philip
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here as a surprise birthday present for our son & his wife. Tom, the very friendly landlord, was great at conspiring with me to decorate our dinner table with birthday balloons etc. Recently decorated rooms in modern style at a very reasonable price. The restaurant menu is constantly changing (good) and plenty of wines by the glass. And most essentially good local beers -my son reckoned the Guinness was also good. Super food, particularly puds. Although on an A road we didn't find the traffic a problem at night. Lovely garden at the rear and stunning views towards Moreton in Marsh. All in all an excellent stay - we will return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chromeorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed one night for my birthday, had been to the pub before for Sunday lunch which was great, and decided to have a very short break, in one of our favourite parts of the country. Lovely room, had obviously been refurbished and was absolutely spotless, the bed was really comfortable. The room looked out over the beer garden which we weren't able to enjoy as being July and my birthday it rained. The food was wonderful and the ales pretty good, the breakfast was superb but I let the side down and couldn't finish it, the works just defeated me - it was the second piece of wonderful black pudding! Great place, calling it a pub doesn't really do it justice, the staff were very friendly and welcoming. All in all a great place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

There's not much I can add to what has already been said. This is a little jewell of a place. We had the garden room which although was more than I had meant to pay, was lovely. Service was second to none but still very friendly and informal. The food was SO tasty. My husband had the rib eye steak and I had an Old Spot pork chop. All produce is local and some even grown in the kitchen garden. Milk and butter was from their own farm. The home made croissants at breakfast were to die for. No it wasn't a cheap night away but certainly affordable for a special occaison, highly recommended. Also a good base to visit other places in the Cotwolds and the Broadway Tower a couple of miles away is also worth a visit. Go early to miss the crowds. Good website too to see the style of all the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blunderwoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Tom, front line and was there from start to finish. That said all the staff were great with down to earth friendly service. The room we had presented well and given our tour of England so far good value. Still have to say it was the pub hospitality, food, staff ( the whole package) that really made it. O and of course the parking which was truly a crack up!! Looking fwd to returning next year!! Tim and Bron

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aerocompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
READING
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed a family reunion at this wonderful pub. The owner's Tom and Will have ensured the place is comfortable and very welcoming. The staff are all friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The 5 bedrooms are individually furnished with wonderfully comfy beds. The breakfasts are scrumpcious.... freshly cooked using local produce. The eggs come from the chickens in the garden. The dinner menu is varied and the desserts are divine. The tea tray in the room included delicious home made flapjacks...a lovely touch. Free wifi kept the boys happy!
I'm only sorry we do not live nearer and could pop in on a regular basis.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

My wife & I celebrated our wedding anniversary at this "pub with rooms" and we both agreed that this is without doubt the best place of its type that we have ever stayed at!!! Although not cheap-our room was £135 per night (b&b)- it was worth every penny and we intend to go back as soon as we can find a good excuse. The front of house was run by Tom while the kitchen is the domain of Will. These two brothers have owned/run this place since they bought it 6 years ago and what a cracking job they make of it ! NOTHING seemed to be too much trouble for Tom if it was within his power to do it and he always had a ready smile and a bit of friendly chat. Will ,we hardly ever saw but he came to the fore with his "team" in the kitchen where they produced food that we reckoned could not be bettered. Everything is cooked from fresh with ingredients that they are proud to source as locally as possible. The blackboard menu changes as food is eaten and new supplies arrive so there is a gradual change which over the 3 days we were there produced interesting delights each evening.The wine list is more than adequate and ,we felt,fairly priced.
The room we had (No.1) had a lovely big bed , bags of room and looked out over the garden; the bathroom had everything that you would expect and lovely fluffy big towels.
Breakfast was superb.As far as we could make out everything was either Organic or truly home made which meant that the tastes were amazing ; and when did we last get milk in an old fashioned ,glass,milk bottle and be disappointed if there was ANY suggestion that the milk might come in a boring milk jug !!? The honey/strawberry jam/marmalade were all home made as well.......I could go on for ages.
It came as no surprise to learn that they have won awards for what they "do"and deservedly so . W e just wish we lived in Bourton-on-the-Hill so we could eat there every week but then again perhaps that would NOT be a good idea as we would put on too much weight!!
If you like good food cooked well then this place might suit you down to the ground but if you like crisp table clothes etc etc and hope the food is the same then this probably is not quite your cup of tea so leave it for people who really like the good things in life to enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatherofanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Hill
1.9 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
1.9 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
5.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Groom

Property: Horse and Groom
Address: Bourton on the Hill, Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Bourton-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With all the laidback charm of a true Cotswolds country pub, at the Horse and Groom we pride ourselves on our friendly service, award-winning food and drink and sumptuous B&B accommodation in individually styled bedrooms. Located in the heart of Bourton on the Hill, here you can retreat for a leisurely meal, stop by for a drink and stay over for a relaxing break. Our light and airy bar is well stocked with real ales and wines and the beautifully restored dining room, with its log fire blazing in the winter makes a welcoming setting in which to enjoy our exquisite classic British cuisine with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Horse and Groom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse & Groom Hotel Bourton-On-The-Hill
Horse And Groom Bourton-On-The-Hill, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing