We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic fantastic fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property
Outside of  Slatters Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside of  Slatters Cottage
Stable door and view of garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Outside of  Slatters Cottage
Stable door and view of garden
View of Garden at Slatters Cottage
Living area and inglenook fireplace
Living area and inglenook fireplace
Dining area and kitchen
Dining area
Kitchen
Bathroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Local Award Winning Gastro Pub - the Horse and Groom
Village view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Doreen S
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic fantastic fantastic”
Reviewed March 9, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Had a fantastic holiday at this delightful cottage ( immaculate when we arrived) a real home from home they have paid a lot of attention to the finer detail of this cottage. We had a really peaceful stay which was what we came for and celebrated my hubby's birthday and Mother's Day (cake was very welcoming) lovely and warm with the wood burner ( we did bring some logs from home as have a log burner) but there was plenty there ( first 12 are free). Location very picturesque lived around here 20 years ago so lovely to come back visited many places Bourton on the water and Broadway beautiful Moreton on the marsh market on a Tuesday morning well worth a visit. Had a lovely meal at the coach and horses Longborough (traditional pub grub) Horse and groom a lovely pub and food looked lovely more a la carte but very busy so need to book.
Will definitely re visit and recommend. Brian the owner very friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet of location and fantastic home from home cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartoflea...
Thetford
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic Cotswold hideaway perfect for a romantic weekend.”
Reviewed December 9, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Slatter Cottage was exactly as described; pretty, cosy, comfortable and well located. Excellent instructions were sent out by the owner who responded quickly to all my enquiries and the cottage had everything we needed for the weekend, down to classic films on DVD, wireless connection and milk in the fridge! 5 minutes drive from the nearest shops, and 2 minutes walk to the nearest pub (which is excellent). I look forward to coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosiness and location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca P
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic and cosy cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We found Slatters Cottage to be a clean, well maintained and comfortable cottage. Though sleepy, the location was ideal for getting away from the hustle and bustle and for enjoying time as a family, and made for a peaceful mini-holiday. The area is perfect for walks and fresh air. Would recommend as a lovely little location for a short honeymoon or romantic break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, lovely open hearth and log-fire
Liked least: Local amenities not close by, but this is well advertised
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisliz
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable little cottage in the heart of the cotswolds”
Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

First time I've ever booked a cottage for a weekend break and booking anywhere different again will be difficult as anywhere else would have to be pretty special to beat The Slatters! It was clean, warm and very comfortable. No wonder so many people return over and over again. The beds were gorgeous, which is always a worry when you stay anywhere away from home. It's true you have to be careful with the flush on the upstairs toilet as it isn't very powerful or a long lasting flush; but don't let this put you off. They have thought of everything utensil wise if your cooking at home and the log burner is to die for on the cold winter evenings. The Horse and Groom up the road is superb but gets very busy so when you've booked the cottage plan and book at least one meal there during your stay. I love the cottage so much I'm going back in February with my husband!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon G
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chocolate Box Perfect Cottage, absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Ww could not fault this cottage at all! Everything about is was excellent.

We celebrated our 7th Wedding Anniversary there, it was romantic, cosy, immaculate and attention to detail was above and beyond the call of duty.

We have told all our friends and family they must visit and we can't wait to go back.

The only downside for some would not be the cottage itself but the fact you needed to drive to the nearest convenience store, unless you walked to Longborough over the field. This was not an issue to us, as we are good walkers and both drive.

I would love to hear about the history of Slatters Cottage and gleaned as much information from the neighbour as I could!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: none of it
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trudyb123
new york, ny
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Basically Snow White's Cottage - But still had a few small issues”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
6
people found this review helpful

While I overwhelmingly recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a romantic trip with their partner, I value reviews that give the full picture of a place, and as such I'd like to give a complete picture of what staying at Slatter's is like.

The good:

- Friekin Adorable. It is pretty much what I would expect Snow White to live in. Small, cozy, uneven ceilings and floors, tattered in a wonderful way, pots and pans hanging cutely in the tidy kitchen, sugar cubes, a lovely cake upon arrival. Little objects and doo-dads everywhere that satisfy any kind of cottage lust you possess.

- More for the guests than the average self-catering cottage provides: paper towels, firewood for the perfect little fireplace, spices, a good selection of cooking utensils, plenty of linens and towels, and lots of other little things you might not have thought of.

- Fabulous location in an idyllic village. It is steps away from a one HUNDRED mile footpath that will absolutely knock your socks off if you are not used to living in the countryside. (Seriously, we walk out onto the footpath and the first thing we see is a wild white horse galloping around.) The cottage is also easily driveable to everywhere in the Cotswolds

- Accommodating owner who cares about his guests

The not-so-good:

- Smallness. I am 6'1 and feel too big for it. I can't imagine having any more than 2 people here. That is sort of what you're going for when you stay in a cottage like this, and I'll bet the proportions are not bad as cottages in this price range go, but it's still worth noting.

- Fridge. It is a mini-fridge, so you can buy some stuff at the market (one town over) but don't go too crazy or your groceries won't fit.

- Toilet flush. Our biggest issue is that the toilet upstairs has such a weak flush that it was unusable for solid waste. We had to use the bathroom that is outside in a kind of supply closet for those type of bathroom visit. We told Brian about this on the first day and he offered to help but we figured we'd just use the outside bathroom, which was fine, but not ideal.

- Finally, overall it's a BIT more rustic than we expected. Don't come here expecting a luxury experience, but rather an top-tier rustic experience. I am admittedly a spoiled traveler who loves 5 star hotels, so take what I'm saying with a grain of salt.

All that said, once again Slatter's Cottage gets an enthusiastic recommendation from us. We had some of the best times we've had on any vacation in recent memory here, as the setting is divine. And the cottage was cozy and easy to call home. Just don't expect a Ritz Carlton dressed up like a cottage.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2014
Thank you for your review – both good and “not so good” points; we appreciate all feedback which helps us improve where we need to.

A few comments in reply. It’s a small cottage – can’t do anything about that. We do have three people stay on a regular basis and they seem to cope. We have a normal size fridge – in fact it’s slightly larger internally than normal (for the UK at least !) as it is a larder fridge with no ice box. We have a separate, mini, freezer as well. Toilet, we were unaware of this before your visit – no one has mentioned before – we will get it fixed. We are pleased you found it “rustic” – we aim for a warm, cosy feel as you note in your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Again, thank you for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAmps
March, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Picturesque and cosy cottage in great central location”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Beautiful, tastefully decorated cottage, very clean and comfortable. There are lovely walks directly from the cottage and plenty of walks and pretty villages within an easy 10 mile radius. Finishing touches such as tea, milk and a lovely home made cake were very appreciated. Would definitely recommend.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing