We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage, great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Outside of  Slatters Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside of  Slatters Cottage
Stable door and view of garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Outside of  Slatters Cottage
Stable door and view of garden
View of Garden at Slatters Cottage
Living area and inglenook fireplace
Living area and inglenook fireplace
Dining area and kitchen
Dining area
Kitchen
Bathroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Local Award Winning Gastro Pub - the Horse and Groom
Village view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
StuartMcB
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great cottage, great location”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

My partner and I took one of our parents to Slaters Cottage for a 3 night stay. The location is excellent and cottage was lovely, very cosy, nice and warm (great woodburner). We ate in one night and had everything we needed (and more). Both bedrooms and bathroom were all good. Cosy for three, but that ties in with the Cotswold style. The owner made sure everything was in place for us, we really couldn't really have asked for more. Note the pub litterally 5 minutes walk up the road is fab (Horse & Groom). Also Sunday lunch at the Churchill Arms in Paxford was fantastic (would actually drive down for the day just for another lunch of the same quality).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was so pretty and location perfect for us
Liked least: We got stuck into a jigsaw puzzle and could have done with a brighter light downstairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleanor E
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended. A cosy, comfortable and relaxing stay”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I am so impressed with Slatters Cottage. All you could need for a home-from-home for your trip to the Cotswolds.
It was all we could ask for a clean, well maintained cottage with lots of charm and some nice touches to make our stay more special.
It is ideally placed for exploring the Cotswolds. With all your shops just up the road in Moreton-in-Marsh you can go here for supplies if you just wanted to curl up by the log fire for a few days also!
I wouldn't hesitate to book again and would recommend to anyone who was thinking of booking a short break or long relaxing stay in the Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was an all round winner for us!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katt
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed September 1, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

I recently spent six nights at Slatter’s Cottage in Bourton on the Hill with my parents. The cottage was wonderful, every thought has been given to what may be required during your stay and the Welcome Pack is detailed and explains how to operate/use all items in the cottage. The cottage was immaculately clean, the bedding cosy, the beds comfortable and the bathroom of a great size.
The village itself was an ideal base for touring the Cotswold’s and I was able to run to and from Moreton in Marsh each morning for a bit of exercise. The neighbours were all very friendly and helpful and always ready for the chat. The local pub, the Horse and Groom was excellent and we ate there twice. The staff was extremely knowledgeable about their meals and made good wine suggestions. I would not hesitate to recommend Slatter’s Cottage to anyone visiting the Cotswold’s and hope one day I have the chance to return and stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The period character and location of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois, United States
Reviewed June 19, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosiness of the cottage and the walk-about in the village and surrounds.
Liked least: Had NO dislikes or apprehensions
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kate D
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and so relaxing”
Reviewed March 24, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Found this through Trip Advisor's ten best cottages and it certainly was. Small and perfectly formed it is great for a couple or small family. They have thought of everything, even to the welcome cake and milk.

The surrounding area is of course beautiful. we really enjoyed both Batsford and Sezincote as well as some of the more well known places.
We were really lucky with the weather so were able to have our morning cuppa sitting in the garden in the sunshine.
Would strongly recommend for anyone wanting to stay in a typical Cotswold cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and homeliness
Liked least: Although not a problem for us the stairs were a bit steep
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVPetal
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect New Year break”
Reviewed January 8, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

What a wonderful cottage. Loved every minute of it. And although it is located in lovely countryside, our favourite part each evening was coming 'home' to the cottage and lighting the woodburner. Fabulous time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage.
Liked least: Cant think of any complaint.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom h
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“superb romantic honeymoon hideaway”
Reviewed December 20, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Everything is just right here. Comfy beds, fluffy towels, a gorgeous sponge cake as a welcome gift, milk in the fridge, easy to light log burner and a pub with the best food in the county (Horse and Groom) just 200 metres up the road. (And it is UP, but it's down on the way back, thankfully!)

We were here almost 10 years to the week that we met and it was a very special time. The ambiance of the cottage is wonderful, and there are dozens of waymarked footpaths accessible from the front door.

On our first day we visited Budgens at Moreton On Marsh to stock up on provisions for the week, excellent quality stuff, then we parked our car in the cottage parking place and left the engine cold for 7 days. Bliss!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: steep hill up to the pub (but I'm a fatso, it's only 200 metres or so!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing