We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel & brilliant holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Suite Princess

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suite Princess
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Taurito
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel & brilliant holiday!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

It's a funny old world, isn't it? When I saw some of the critical reviews of this hotel I wondered if folk had the wrong place - or maybe they're just paving the way for a refund/compensation claim?
Anyway, here is our experience of this brilliant hotel.
First the package part - we went with Thomsons and their part of the holiday was great - booking, paying, airport check-in on line was simplicity itself and there were no queues at either airport - we simply dropped off our bags and got on with the holiday. The transfer from airport to hotel was just over 1 hour, rather longer than we had expected and the rep left the coach along the way, but that was no major problem and we arrived at around 10pm.
Now the hotel part - they obviously realised that, having arrived at that time we didn't want to spend a long time checking in - the whole process was extremely friendly and efficient and a glass of cava was offered while we were completing the details. Up to our room and wow - how impressive - we were in 7022, so a high(ish) floor with a great view out over the pool and sea which we didn't really appreciate until the following morning. We had gone for the upgrade so the room included a bottle of wine and a late of fruit on our arrival, plus a minibar stocked with water, tea/coffee making facilities and a mini-safe included in the price. The room was well up to our expectations with beach towels cleverly arranged as a pair of kissing swans and rose petals scattered on the bed. Up early next morning and then we really appreciated having a room n this floor for the superb view over the surrounding mountains and nearby Puerto de Mogan. All the meals were first class, hot food served on hot plates (sadly lacking in many places we've stayed in before) and enough variety to satisfy even the most faddish eater. Much f it was being cooked as you waited at breakfast and dinner. The dining room was not over busy (although the tables were quite close together which I can imagine may be a touch trying when the hotel is full) and we managed to get a seat by the window for every meal bar one. Wine was included with dinner and very good it was too. In fact it was worth upgrading for the branded drinks - g&t before dinner and licquers after. The entertainment was generally good, Elvis the 4 Tops and The 3 Tenors tributes in particular, some of the rest was not so good particularly the 2 man "resident" duo who tried to stage a music quiz using a gazzoo!.But the pair who took over from them later in the week were much better. There was a Thomson rep on duty most of the time, very friendly and knowledgeable, but we rarely needed to speak to them.
Now the island - you really need a car to get around unless you've gone just for the sun and hotel - don't hire it at the hotel - if you walk up past the little row of shops behind the hotel, about half way up there is a little kiosk called Jure Car Hire - very efficient English speaking guy and we got a new Renault Clio for 3 days for 99 Euros ( would have been 150Euros at the hotel once you added in insurance and tax). The island roads can be quite tricky but are perfectly ok if you drive carefully. We went up the coast as far as Punto de La Aldea on the first day, up into the mountains through Fataga to San Bartolome and back via Santa Lucia the second day and up the a lake called Presa de Las Ninas on the third day (if you do this go early because the road is quite narrow and twisty in places, and you want to avoid anything coming n the opposite direction!)
The last days we just spent relaxing, got the hotel courtesy bus to Puerto de Mogan, water taxi to Puerto Rico and back by local bus.
In conclusion, Playa Taurito is a quiet resort but an ideal base for exploring the southern half of the island. The hotel was great - if you go make sure you stay in this hotel, not the other princess hotel across the bay, which loses the sun quite early in the evening. This was our first trip to Gran Canaria, but if and when we return this hotel and resort will certainly be our first choice.

Room Tip: Go for a room on floor 7 or higher for the best views. It's worth paying the etra to upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,427
    993
    389
    92
    46
See reviews for
187
2,378
31
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,202)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel was a pleasure to stay at. Very clean (they never stopped cleaning). The food was excellent and even for a two week stay plenty of choice whether that be traditional Spanish or English. With every room having a seaview you can't lose. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spacious and our lovely maid produced some amazing towel sculptures (an elephant, Rabbit and Swan). The entertainment programme was much better than expected and the in house guitar duo were great. Now the gripes, we have never paid for a fridge in an all inclusive hotel (being diabetic we need one for insulin not beer!!) Also paying for a safety deposit box? Be prepared the dress code for the evening meal trousers only, no tailored three quarters. The blackband upgrade really is not essential unless you desire bottled wine at your dinner table and no fridge cost. Be prepared to pay €1.5 for beach towel exchange. Apart from the above which really did not take away from a wonderful (kid free) location, an overall great holiday we would recommend. Make sure to book the romantic meal it was fantastic. Its our first holiday with Thompsons we will certainly use again.

Room Tip: We had room 4025 overlooking the pool and sea. A perfect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carcrazypete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the Suite Princess for a week's holiday. This was the first time we had visited Gran Canaria. We initially had a problem with the room but this was changed when we asked. Everything about the hotel was very good- the room, the food, and the pool area. All the staff were helpful ( sometimes too efficient in the restaurant as they whipped the plates away before we had both finished!!) and always courteous and respectful. We particularly liked the piano bar and Niko the pianist, was the best entertainment if you enjoy gentle, easy going entertainment. We also saw the Three Tenors but don't think Glyndebourne or the Royal Opera House will be beating a path to their door!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay at this adult only hotel. Every room has a sea view and the position right next to the beach was the best situation of all the hotels in Taurito.
The food was very good, with a large selection, especially for dinner, the range always covered a few cuisines which made it easy to find stuff we liked.
Many drinks were available on tap (even Sangria), but we particularly enjoyed the cocktails in the piano bar of an evening.
It is worth pointing out that in our opinion we didn't feel the black band upgrade was at all necessary, with the only real benefit appearing to be a bottle of wine with dinner, which can be purchased everyday for less than the cost of the blackband. Plenty of other drinks, including house wines and cava on tap.
The only negatives for us were that the entertainment was generally quite poor, staff did not enforce the non-smoking outside areas where you could sit in the sun with your meal and lastly, beware the Thomson excursions can mean sitting on a bus for a long time picking people up from other hotels.
Overall though a very relaxing stay, good staff and would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from this hotel from my honeymoon and it's the best holiday and hotel I've ever been too the food was lovely the staff and everything about it was amazing always beds by the pool and the room was always clean and tidy the view was nice from our room on level 5 with sea view was unreal I'm glad I booked that hotel and will be going back there ASAP

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bristolboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Good food,accommodation,friendly and helpful staff.
This is our third visit in three years which speaks volumes.I've recommended this hotel to three other couples all have enjoyed their stay and will be returning.What else can I say?
Graham & Penny Prince
Northants (stayed last week in April)
ps only hassle transfer 2hrs!! Thomson fault not hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Very disappointed with this hotel. The buffet food was cold most nights and not a lot of variety. You had to be up at the crack of dawn to get a sunbed, why do people insist on sitting in exactly the same place by the pool everyday. I noticed some days towels were left on sunbeds for hours on end, why? It says in the book in the hotel room that sun beds are not to be reserved but they are.
Wifi should be free, but it cost 19 euros for 1 week, total rip off. Would never go beck to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beachbabe022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIBELLOPEZREY, Gerente at Suite Princess, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Suite Princess.
We are very concerned to learn of your disappointing experience during your stay and would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.
We look forward to having another chance to welcome you back, under more favourable circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taurito
0.0 mi away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
3,916 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#9 of 16 in Mogan
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Lago Taurito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Princess

Property: Suite Princess
Address: C/ Alcazaba, 4 (Urb. de Taurito) | 35138 Mogán, Gran Canaria, Spain, 35138 Taurito, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Taurito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taurito
#1 Family Hotel in Taurito
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taurito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Suite Princess is a hotel for adults (16 years and above) who want to enjoy an all-inclusive vacation directly at the sea. The 4 star hotel is located in the sunny south of Gran Canaria, the picturesque Puerto de Mogán is just 4 km away. All rooms of the adults only hotel feature sea- or garden view. The Suite Princess in the bay of Taurito boasts two buffet restaurants, a theme restaurant and 3 bars. The main restaurant serves breakfast and dinner. Three times a week there are theme nights featuring food from Italy, Spain or the Canary Islands. The Gala Night offers international specialties. The entertainment programme not only includes sporting activities such as aerobics, aqua aerobics and archery but also culinary delights. Suite Princess guests may look forward to cooking classes (paella, tapas, mojo sauce), wine tasting, cocktail presentations, sunset sessions with cava and canapés and the weekly Black&White night. For those who just want to relax in their holidays may choose between sun-kissed or nice, shady spots in the pool landscape of the hotel. Jet Ski , parasailing, jetboat, flyboard or banana boat - Watersports fans are definitely spoiled for choice. One of Gran Canarias leading Watersports-Centre is located at Taurito Beach. Wi-Fi (chargeable) is available in the public areas of the Princess Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suite Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Princess Hotel Taurito
Suite Princess Grand Canary
Hotel Suite Princess
Suite Princess Taurito, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing