We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel With Issues”
Review of Suite Princess

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suite Princess
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Taurito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent a week here and enjoyed our holiday. The flight there was a nice spacious plane but on return was old tired cramped plane. Transfer was quite smooth being last but one dropped off at hotel. On way back we had to pick up two hotel guests. so trip to airport took 45 mins. comfy coaches so again not too bad a journey. check in was done smoothly and we were told if we wanted food to go down to floor 1 to get cold buffet.Room was nice and spacious but air con was not good. It didnt cool you down at all. You could feel it if you stood in front of it. The beds ...well if you like lying on a bed of tennis balls or a door then these beds are for you. The Lone Peppers were very good, theyre not meant to be the original singers so they sang as themselves in theyre own way, very entertaining. The pools were nice and clean with one heated and one not. No children shouting and screaming in them was heaven. The dining room was a bit warm and men have to wear long trousers which i think is a good idea , it sorts the string vest and shorts syndrome. Beach is just down from other sun bed area and through a gate of which you need your room key to get back in. Food was nice with a good variety. The fish is very nice and fesh cooked. We were on floor 7 and it was a good view and pretty quiet . We booked this hotel on the say that it was child free and couples but this was not the case as i dont class a family with 3 kids a couple or a mother and daughter so what do Thomsons define as a couple. The toilets in public areas only had one toilet in so as a result after a show everyone feels the need to go but then have to que. The bar staff were very pleasant and polite. Overall if they get more comfortable mattresses and sort the air con we would return and recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tikajaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,851 - 1,857 of 3,260 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is very quiet and relaxing. There are plenty of sun beds. The hotel staff and Thomson reps are excellent. Most of the entertainment is good, especially the two guitarists. The food is average for an all inclusive hotel. A previous review said that their cheesecake tastes like proper cheesecake but, it does not. There is no need to upgrade unless you like quality wine. We had a room on the 2nd floor and we were dreading it because of previous reviews about low level rooms. However, it was large, clean, very quiet and had a sea view.

The two things that spoil the hotel are air conditioning and toilets. The air conditioning throughout the hotel is useless especially in the dining room where it is difficult to enjoy a meal without sweating. We left the air conditioning on in the bedroom but it did not make any difference and we were too warm every night (especially the night when the air conditioning broke).

There are not enough toilets in the hotel in public areas. On the level where there are restaurants and bars there is one toilet cubicle for women with three sinks, one toilet cubicle for men with three sinks and one toilet for people with disabilities. I often felt rushed with people trying the door handle and knocking on the door. This did not help my irritable bowel any. On one of the nights my husband was offered drugs in the toilet.

It claims to be a couples hotel but there were some single people and a girl that only looked 15. We were disturbed one morning by the people in the room above us. It sounded like they were wrecking their room whilst shouting as loud as they could.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 111Shaun111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I booked this hotel , via Thomson, after studying your reviews. I was not disappointed. From arrival to departure, we were really spoilt by the staff and all the hotel has to offer. The pools are lovely and warm and there are plenty of loungers around, with extra quiet areas just away from the pool. The hotel have an excellent acoustic guitar duo that play regular, chilled out music, in the corner of the pool area, where the staff offer free champagne. The food served up is varied and should please every type of taste bud! An additional 'romantic 5 course meal' is also thrown into the all inclusive deal, with the meal set outside, again supported by chilled out live music. The entertainment was a good variety, with the main salon offering live tribute acts, operatic/classical singers, acrobatic acts, a flamenco evening and even a Bollywood show! The piano bar was chilled out and a lot cooler environment that the main salon, where the air conditioning wasn't very good. It also had a lovely selection of free cocktails. Sports competitions were plentiful, if you wished to participate, as well as cooking displays, massage and tai chi and yoga classes. The bedrooms were beautiful, with balconies and all rooms having a lovely sea view.The holiday really had everything. My only complaints was the air conditioning in my room only felt cool if you stood directly underneath it. The nights were very sticky and we had to give in and open all the windows. I heard quite a few couples saying the same, although another customer told me his room was too cold! I used the gym regularly, mainly to burn off all the food and drink! It wouldn't pass a UK health and safety test as all the equipment was more suitable for a 'home style gym' than a hotel. One of the weights machines nearly collapsed around me! Other than this, a perfect holiday and I will definitely return and I have already recommended the hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our first time at this hotel,( do not believe the Thomson 1st or 2nd drop off as we were about the 6th) but that was the only negative, from the moment we arrived we felt good. Yes a lick of paint is required here and there but the place is open all year round. The food was the best we have ever had in a hotel, the room was spacious, bedding & towels were clean but general room cleaning could be better. Plenty of sunbeds around a very peacefull pool, close together yes but get one on the end of the row so you can move around.Big white sofas overlooking the sea VERY romantic at night, the entertainment at night is hit & miss but laugh it off Elvis was so poor everyone was shouting "NO MORE" at the end of his turn but so funny. Ask for a quiet room, if you are stressed out as we were before we arrived you will leave very chilled out. Do not bother with a upgrade unless you wan slippers/dressing gown & a small bottle of wine with your meal use the money for trips or just to treat yourself. We will be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, you do not hear anything from the bars or entertainment whilst in your room or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chrisjon42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just arrived home after a fantastic holiday. This was the first time that we have been to a couples only hotel and certainly won't be the last. We didn't choose to upgrade to a black band as we felt that we wouldn't get the benefits from it. This was a personal choice but we were still given a lovely, clean room on floor 4 in a quieter part of the hotel. I had already requested this by email. Although the room perhaps needed a lick of paint, it was always very clean, spacious and had a wonderful view of the bay, (not sure how anyone could say otherwise). There was a large variety of food available all day up to 10.30 at night. I think even the fussiest eater would find something. Men had to wear trousers to dinner at night but most men changed after. The entertainment was first class, especially the Black brothers and the 2 young guitar players. We went on a few trips, I would recommend the water taxi that travelled between bays, the jeep safari was great fun but be prepared to get very dirty (not suitable if you have a bad back etc). We also went to the Music Hall Tavern which was a hilarious drag act that travels the Canaries. The Las Palmas trip was ok if you like shopping but this could have been done by using the cheap local buses.Thompson had 2 great reps there that were on hand every day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms with the lower numbers are quieter, ie 4001-4009, 5001-5009 etc. Upper floors are for black ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michaela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just returned from the Suite Princess after a relaxing week.
We arrived in the early hours & were warmly greeted by Reception staff & swiftly checked in. Earlier emails to the hotel regards requests paid off as all our requests were met.
A cold buffet & drinks were available in the restaurant, which were welcomed after a long journey.

The room was far better than expected ,given that some reviewers said the rooms were dated. We were not in an updated room but on viewing a couple we didn't feel we were missing out .
Beds & pillows were comfortable & there was adequate storage & plenty of hangers. Bathroom clean & always hot water for my bath although hubby said his showers were a bit hit & miss!

We upgraded to sun-loungers on the balcony ,which were worth not having to worry about space by the pool. A tip for those wanting sun loungers, there were piles of them on the end of 4th floor corridor, so worth asking if none available by the pool.

The restaurant was very stuffy as other reviewers have said but the food was nice. Lovely choice , lovely breakfast especially if you like a cooked breakfast.
Lunch was eaten outside at the other restaurant although you could eat inside , again adequate.
We usually holiday AI in Turkey & granted there is not the choice you get there regards food & drink & it is not 24/7 but we were happy enough with what was on offer. It was expensive in comparison to Turkey but the view & the sun loungers on the balcony made up for it.

We found the staff very friendly & helpful. Reception were always very helpful which was lovely as from experience we know it is not always the case.

Entertainment was enjoyable , although I wasn't keen on the lack of lighting, I would have liked it a little brighter, although hubby didn't find it a problem. Regards the pillars in the entertainment lounge ,there were lots of seats available & you could seat yourself away from the pillars.

We are happy to return to this hotel. We didn't think the upgrade worthwhile as we are not wine drinkers . I drank very little alcohol but what I had was fine. We opted for the fridge & sunloungers & had the safe .Water if freely available at reception.

Please ask if I can be of any help regards this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for late check out before you go .high floors are good but all have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LeoloverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our second time here - it has been refurbished since last time and is now adults only. The refurb only seems to be the public areas which are now muted shades, modern and up market -excellent.
Our room however was very tired and in need of decorating. Having said that, the suites are big, no sidling round the bed to get to the wardrobe!
All balconies face the sea and get the sun.
Food is the best of any holiday hotel I've been to - plenty of choice and well cooked. As a veggie, I'm usualy reduced to salads - not here, always something hot for me.
The hotel plugs its upgrade package - don't bother. You can pay when booking in for the fridge, safe and sunbeds on your balcony - each costs 12 euros a week.
As all inclusive you get locally produced drinks, but again only think of the upgrade if you're a serious drinker. The local whiskey is foul so steer clear, other spirits, wine and beer are fine and at meal times the upgraded wine is only the cheapest on the wine list, locally produced stuff. If you want the better wine you still have to pay.
It's made quite clear in the write up this is a quiet hotel, and it is. No good if you like night life - you'll have to go in to the next town for this and taxis have gone up dramatically since we were here last. What was a few euros ride is now over 10. Not sure it's suited to young coulpes either, unless you just want a complete and total do nothing holiday.
The hotels own night time entertainment was pretty dire - tribute acts who simply sang songs without even trying to sound like the originals.
The 'panio bar' was not a piano bar when we were there - some nights a mediocre saxaophone who had a limited repertoire, other nights a duo doing poor covers of songs.
But then, we didn't come for the night life, so no issue for us.
The most posiive thing for us was adults only - usually we find pools off limits because disruptive kids, not here. And dining was a pleasant experience, no kids running round or crying babies.

Room Tip: They are all good but ask for a higher floor as there are some badly located ground floor rooms adjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taurito
0.8 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,332 reviews
0 mi away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puerto de Mogan THe Senses Collection
0.1 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
497 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Princess

Address: C/ Alcazaba, 4 | 35138 Mogán, Gran Canaria, Spain, 35138 Taurito, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Taurito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Taurito
Price Range: $190 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Suite Princess is a hotel for adults (16 years and above) who want to enjoy an all-inclusive vacation directly at the sea. The 4 star hotel is located in the sunny south of Gran Canaria, the picturesque Puerto de Mogán is just 4 km away. All rooms of the adults only hotel feature sea- or garden view. The Suite Princess in the bay of Taurito boasts two buffet restaurants, a theme restaurant and 3 bars. The main restaurant serves breakfast and dinner. Three times a week there are theme nights featuring food from Italy, Spain or the Canary Islands. The Gala Night offers international specialties. The entertainment programme not only includes sporting activities such as aerobics, aqua aerobics and archery but also culinary delights. Suite Princess guests may look forward to cooking classes (paella, tapas, mojo sauce), wine tasting, cocktail presentations, sunset sessions with cava and canapés and the weekly Black&White night. For those who just want to relax in their holidays may choose between sun-kissed or nice, shady spots in the pool landscape of the hotel. Jet Ski , parasailing, jetboat, flyboard or banana boat - Watersports fans are definitely spoiled for choice. One of Gran Canarias leading Watersports-Centre is located at Taurito Beach. Wi-Fi (chargeable) is available in the public areas of the Princess Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Suite Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Princess Hotel Taurito
Suite Princess Grand Canary
Hotel Suite Princess
Suite Princess Taurito, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing