We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations!!”
Review of Taurito Princess

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taurito Princess
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Taurito
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I spent a week at taurito princess in early June and couldn't really fault it! Having read a few bad reviews we were unsure what to expect from the hotel but there was no need to worry.
We booked a private transfer to and from the hotel which I would highly recommend! We were at the hotel in under 45mins and had our cases unpacked and a cocktail in hand before the coach transfer had even arrived. This hotel is the last to be dropped off and the first to be picked up. On arrival, check in was very good, it was quick, everything about the hotel was explained and our room was all ready plus the hotel opened the restaurant again for us as we arrived after evening meal had finished.
The room we had was on the 9th floor and had lovely views of the sea, pool and the waterpark. We stayed in a standard room (didn't see the need to upgrade to a premium room) which was very spacious, both the balcony and bathroom were bigger than you would expect. The bathroom has been refurbished with a modern finish although the shower did leak and turned the room into a swimming pool if towels were not on the floor. The bedroom itself was big enough for us for the week, basic but very clean and comfy beds were an unexpected bonus!
Being on the 9th floor we did use the lifts alot and had no problems all week. They didn't break down once and we never waited more than 5 minutes for one to come, this wait was only ever at breakfast time really.
Food, a big part of an all inclusive holiday and this hotel delivers tasty and varied meals. Breakfast and lunch/snacks are very similar to most 4* AI hotels, hot and cold options, English breakfast and continental options, toastie/pizza/burger for lunch as well as pasta, seafood, meat and local dishes. The cakes and pancakes available from 4pm each day were a treat not to be missed!! Evening meals, although always of a high standard were a little odd and did make us laugh. Each night had a theme e.g. tex-mex, spanish, french etc but we found there was only ever a few dishes from this cuisine. The rest was chinese! Every night! Not that this was a problem for us as it was very good chinese food!
The drinks flowed all week, both from the self service stations and from the bars. We found the self service areas to be very handy in the daytime when you wanted a quick drink but as they mainly had plastic cups, we preferred to use the bars in an evening. The beer, sangria and cava were all very good, even the pre-mixed cocktails were not as bad as I was expecting!! As with the room, personally we did not feel upgrading to the premium package was necessary. The local spirits we had were fine and the premium cocktails were available at a small charge anyway. The bar staff in the entertainment bar were excellent!! They were efficient and quick but always friendly and happy. Some nights we even chose to sit at the bar instead of watch the act as the bar staff were far more entertaining!
Which brings me round to the entertainment available in the hotel. The daytime programmes were good, my partner took part in a few of the sports activities which were always popular and well organised. The animation team were amazing! It astonished us how a group of people could have so much energy when they work such long hours! Joshua, the sports guy (and singer if let loose with a microphone and guests!) and louisa, the fitness lady, were especially energetic, friendly and entertaining. They put on a good dance show one evening, by far the best entertainment of the holiday. The acts that performed on the other evenings were just bad! Each night was like stepping into a wierd parallel universe of singers that mimed, acrobats who dropped each other, dances who had 2 left feet and magicians that had just visited a joke shop! We did find each act very funny so that was our entertainment and had a laugh between us but if you are looking for serious entertainment then keep looking. The karaoke and quizzes were always good though.
The resort of Taurito is very small and quiet. If you are looking for a loud, action packed holiday then taurito is not the place. However if you are coming on holiday to relax, soak up the sun and maybe take part in a few water sports then here is the place. The mini golf is quite good too!
All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel to other couples of all ages and families. Don't listen to the bad reviews, its all nonsense!! We would go back to taurito princess tomorrow if we could!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
17  Thank KimB1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taurito_Princess, Gerente at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for having chosen the Taurito Princess Hotel for your stay in Gran Canaria. Our staff will be very happy to read your nice comments about them and our facilities.

Thank you for your opinion.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,129 - 1,135 of 2,540 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

Location: wonderful cove with gardens which set next to cliffs. You could be in the caribean when you are sitting the gardens or eating outside the Italian restraunt. Not a very busy resort but if you want peace and quiet you will love it. Felt very safe for children.

Rooms: basic, but very clean and spacious. Lifts worked well. We were on the 11th floor (room 1103). Amazing views. On 2 English speaking tv channels. Disney for kids available which was cool for my 5 year old son. Fridge worked well.

Entertainment: The entertainment staff at this hotel were the best I've ever experienced. They were mainly german and dutch (spoke great English). Lovely people - charming and fun. Their dance show routines in the evening were class and so much fun. They should go on X Factor. Also very funny watching them running round the hotel dressed as monkeys and creeping up on guests - brilliant to watch! Most of the shows made for a very nice evening.

Mini kids club: Adil, Charlotte and the team were fantastic with my son. He wanted to go to kids club most days. Nice facilities for the kids. They did a kids club dinner one evening which my son loved. thanks guys and enjoy the world cup!

Food: Very nice quality. Good variety. Also nice Asian food 2 or 3 times per week. Canarian themed food once a week - lovely and a huge effort made in terms of presentation. The deserts could get a bit boring, however the apple pie after 4pm in the Italian with ice cream was superb! We loved the Italian restaurant for its food but also because its lovely locatation. A pretty spanish waitress kept kissing my son which was also nice! Also pancakes some days after 4pm was superb - made fresh with the option of cream and other delicious toppings. Drinks machines worked well. Great having self service and the cava was especially nice and chilled. My son loved the help yourself ice cream (so did I!") We went to the Premier dinner one evening. Its was wonderful and i would highly recommend. Live music, waiter service and a wonderful sun-set. We danced and got quite merry! Only £13 each. Breakfast was bad in a good way - too much choice (very naughty bacon). Diets stay at home is all I can say!

Staff: mainly OK. Not very chatty or smiley in the ground floor restraurant however they worked very hard. Hotel director arranged for a bottle of Cava for my table when I asked, as we received some positive news whilst away - very nice touch - thank you. reception staff a little hit and miss.

Beach: looks nice but some parts of the beach very dirty. We experienced human waste near rocks. We reported this to the life guard and hotel reception. BEWARE!

Pool: Very clean and pretty. No ball games which was annoying. Life guard very observant.

We travelled to Maspalamos (gorgous sand dunes) and also the pretty village Mogan (2 miles away). Would highly recommend. Mogan is also a blue flag beach....

This was a wonderful holiday - thank you Taurito Princess. We have stayed at over 50 different destinations around the world over the years and I would say this was in our top 10 so far for a simple break in the sun. Also the local water park is good fun! Cheaper to buy the tickets from the holiday rep.

Room Tip: All floors have great views. 11th floor was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank justin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taurito_Princess, Gerente at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Justin,

thank you very much for having chosen Taurito Princess for your holiday. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We apreciate that you have taken your time to rate our hotel.

We look forward to welcome you again in the Taurito Princess Hotel.
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Just returned from the Princess Taurito. Enjoyed the holiday, for 1 week, would have gone stir crazy if it were for two!
LIKED : Very clean, spacious hotel with a lovely pool overlooking the cove and sea. Food was plentiful, lots of choice, only drawback for me (being coeliac) was there was lots of food I couldn't eat! Staff tried to be very helpful, however most of the food on the hotplates were not suitable. I had to keep asking as it wasn't labelled. Thankfully it wasn't the height of the season and staff were busy but not run off their feet. I would suggest they label, would make life a lot easier all round. They did however provide me with delicious freshly cooked gf pizzas, (had to order in advance).
Animation Team were excellent, very polite, engaging with guests in conversation and the usual activities, they work extremely hard. Bar staff, Restaurant staff and cleaners excellent job.
DISLIKES : Our room 830 was very disappointing, I can only describe it as unwelcoming, tired, worn & drabby, the shower leaked all over the floor which made it very dangerous when leaving the shower, this was reported and they changed the trim on the shower door, but it was the actual bath that was leaking. Another irritation was no clean poolside towels unless you paid for them, having to pay for a safe and fridge! The two tiered system, paying on arrival to upgrade to premium. Sun beds & umbrellas on the beach were 9 euros per day? And they were empty, suprisingly, people choosing to sit on towels. Surely the hotels in the area could get together and beds could be offered free of charge to guests, such a shame to see them all empty.
Not a lot to do outside of the resort and was sadly lacking in cleanliness and maintenance, lots of litter left hanging around in bushes and flowerbeds, cracked and dangerous paving stones, even fencing that if leant on would have caused injury.
We have been to many Platinum hotels, the rooms have been superb, no two tier system,towels, room safes and fridges free of charge
I was unaware that Tomson Platinum Hotels were graded on customer feedback and not actually by Thomson representatives. I will certainly be looking more closely when choosing my next Platinum hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Gill,

Thank you very much for having chosen Taurito Princess for your Holiday. We appreciate you taking your time to rate our Hotel. Our staff will be happy to read your opinion about them.

We thank you for your review.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Transfer: if youre lucky and get the first drop off, it is approximately 45 minutes.

Reception: polite friendly staff. As we arrived late (towards the end of the evening meal serving time) we had the option of having our evening meal before checking in. Which we were grateful for.

Rooms: could do with a bit of updating but very clean and tidy.

Pool: plenty of sunbeds, with a no towel policy (which works well and is an excellent idea!). Music can be quite loud and monotonous. although there is a hotel shop which sells inflatables for the pool, there is a strict policy of no inflatbles in the pool. Toilets around the pool are not the the same high standard as the rest of the hotel.

Food: usual breakfast choices in the main buffet restaurant, lunch is served in the snackbar/restaurant by the pool and has a variety of different choices daily as well as the usual snacks you would find at most hotels: burgers/hot dogs/chicken nuggets etc. Evening meal is served at both the main buffet restaurant which is themed every night and the pool restaurant which is italian themed. Although the main buffet restaurant had themed nights quite often Asian food was served in addition to the theme. As seems to the norm with buffet food, it quite often seems to be warm rather than hot. Overall the food was tasty and very good.

drinks: variety of different bars and self service areas. Usual choices of non branded drinks. All areas serving drinks/ food were kept very clean.

Entertainment: animation team working all day keep guests entertained with a variety of different activities for both adults and children. Although guests were encouraged to take part the animation team never pestered.

Other reviews mentioned the lifts, whilst we were there they all worked all the time but were a little slow.

surrounding areas such as Peurto morgan are worth visiting and taxis are very reasonably priced, for example peurto morgan was 10 minutes drive and cost around 7 euros. There is also a small waterpark just ourside the hotel as well as the beach which is clean and has a a variety of different water activities.

Overall, very enjoyable holiday.
Just please turn the pool music down a touch!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lauraaimee150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Laura,

Thank you very much for having chosen Taurito Princess for your vacation. We are happy to read such a nice review regarding your stay with us. We are continuously working to keep up the high standards our guest demand.

Thank you for your nice review.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed at the end of May, please ignore all the bad reviews, we were not sure what to expect after reading some bad reviews. Its a lovely Hotel with stunning views, modern and clean. We were there a week and the lift worked all the time NO problems at all. Food was plentiful, varied and something for everyone, all day if you wanted to!!! We upgraded and recommend it but that was our personnel choice. Would recommend this Hotel and will go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Caroline,

Thank you very much for having chosen Taurito Princess for your relaxing Holiday. We are honoured for such a nice review regarding our hotel during your stay. Our staff will be motivated to continue with the hard work and to please our guests.

We look forward in welcoming you again in Taurito Princess.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just returned from May half term break at the Princess Taurito with our children and we all had a totally wonderful time. Where do I start? Lovely lovely friendly and happy staff - from the lovely guys on reception, the animation team (especially Josh), the hot hot sun, fantastic pools, comfiest sunloungers, RIGHT on the beach which has great watersports (jetski, pedalo, banana boat, paragliding). Food was delicious and beautifully presented, rooms so clean and maid service every day (by friendliest maids ever). Our youngest child wanted to spend every minute at the kids' club and ADORED the "Minidiscooooooo!" Had a wonderful two interconnecting rooms overlooking pool and the sea (and a massive thank you to the lovely reception guy who moved us as we were originally near back of kitchen as was worried may not be able to sleep). We miss Taurito and will be back! Many thanks to all your wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Taurito Princess for your Holiday. We appreciate your nice words regarding our services. We are grateful to read such a good review, all our staff will be very happy when they find out.

Thank you very much for your nice review.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel has been refurbished since our last visit (2 years ago) and has been finished to an extremely high standard. The staff were welcoming and friendly, as was our rep. The food dipped for a couple of nights but there was always plenty. The hotel was spotless with plenty sunbeds round the pool and no problems getting served at the bars. With entertainment every night and plenty sunshine, it was a great week away. We felt this holiday was good value for money and the number of repeat visitors we met speaks for itself.

Room Tip: To maximise the view, ask for an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank james M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear James,

Thank you very much for having chosen Taurito Princess for your vacation. We are proud to welcome you again after two years. We have worked very hard to keep our hotel with the high standards our guests demand and are glad you like our new refurbishment.

We look forward in welcoming you again in Taurito Princess.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taurito
0.5 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puerto de Mogan THe Senses Collection
0.2 mi away
Paradise Lago Taurito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taurito Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taurito Princess

Address: C/ Alhambra 8, Urb. de Taurito | Mogán, 35138 Taurito, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Taurito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Taurito
Price Range: $171 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taurito Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taurito Princess near Puerto de Mogan is an all-inclusive hotel right by the beach. All 405 rooms and suites provide stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean and the bay of Taurito. Located in the south of Gran Canaria the hotel provides services and facilities for both couples and families with children. There are a total of three outdoor pools; 2 for children and a main swimming pool (heated in winter). The all-inclusive offer is available at 2 restaurants (both with live cooking stations) and 4 bars. Several times a week there are themed dinners at the main restaurant “Princess. In addition Taurito Princess guests may enjoy a mix of Italian and Asian dishes once during their stay; then when the La Choza visually and culinary turns into the “La Trattoria”. The daytime and evening entertainment guarantees fun for all ages. The smallest guests can look forward to mini-club, mini-disco and two children's pools (one pool with a giant, colourful dragon). The adults may choose from a whole range of sporting activities, such as tennis, squash, water aerobics and beach volleyball. Wi-Fi (extra charge) is available in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Taurito Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Taurito
Taurito Princess Gran Canaria
Hotel Taurito Princess Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing