We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a rest”
Review of Taurito Princess

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taurito Princess
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Taurito
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed as a couple for 2 weeks and must admit it was a bit too long. Nothing wrong with the hotel but not much to do in the evening.
The hotel was spotless and room spacious and comfortable. Housekeeping excellent and rooms cleaned daily. A large balcony overlooked the pool and bay with wonderful views
Food was typical of all inclusive, plenty to choose from and you would have to be very fussy if you could not find anything to please. At times food was not hot enough. The lunch time buffet appealed more to me but that was just my preference. Chocolate fountain was to die for.
Outside areas kept very tidy and pool area was never too crowded. Plenty of sun beds either around the pool or surrounding terraces. Sunbed "police" made sure no beds were saved.
Our only complaint was the evening entertainment, it catered for older generation in the piano bar and the evening shows were dire... A better sound system would have helped for some of the acts or someone who knew how to set it up. All the acts had far too much echo and were "booming" hence all sounded muffled.
No free wifi or fridge, had to pay which, for the cost of the holiday, these should have been free.
Overall a good holiday if you just want to get away to relax.

Room Tip: All have good views the higher you are the longer to wait for the lifts. Also ask for room with larg...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Jeane,

Thank you very much for haven chosen Taurito Princess for your vacation. We are happy to read you had a nice time with us. Our Hotel offers a nice and quiet location very good to relax and rest from the daily stress.

Thank you very much for your nice review.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,406)
There are newer reviews for Taurito Princess
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,107 - 1,113 of 2,406 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Hotel very tired, lifts awful, food mediocre. Have to pay for fridge, safe and clean pool towels (all free at Riu hotels). Entertainment ok but not great. There is no outside area to sit if you are a non smoker. On the other hand the staff were excellent and our room and hotel areas were spotlessly clean. Views from this hotel are lovely if you have a higher floor.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Christine,

Thank you very much for haven chosen Taurito Princess for your Holidays in Gran Canaria. We appreciate your opinion regarding our hotel and feel sorry for not having meet your expectations.

Thank you for your opinion.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at this Hotel. Overall we had a lovely Holiday and the Hotel is very nice and spotlessly clean. Plenty of sun beds, lovely cocktails, beautiful views of the beach and sea. Most of the staff were lovely and never had to queue for drinks. We had a very nice Junior Suite which was lovely and modern. Loved the outdoor tables for lunch and good that you can pour your own iced water, juice etc.

There are however a few things which I feel the Hotel should address (I will stress though, these things didn't spoil our stay but to bring the rating to an excellent, they should be addressed).

We paid to upgrade to a Junior Suite and a premium drinks package. Cost of upgrade 350 euros in total for the week. We were given gold bands to wear so that bar staff were aware we had upgraded. My gripe is though, we often had to ask for branded drinks as these were not always automatically poured when we ordered. One barmaid in particular actually refused to give me Bacardi in my cocktail instead of the cheaper rum. After much debate, her boss over-ruled her and dealt with my request. She was very snotty about it and I intend on giving feedback to the Hotel about her. Almost all the other bar staff couldn't have been nicer so she is letting the team down as well as the customer. Peanuts are available with your drinks but again, they are not offered, you need to ask.

Our upgrade also meant we could eat in the restaurant with table service on Tues night. However there were only 2 menus to choose from and nothing on it suited our tastes so we did not go in. A more varied menu should be offered.

I paid 19 euros for wifi but the connection was almost non existent so a waste of money.

Pool towels are provided but if you want them cleaned you need to pay 1.50 euro each.

I feel that we initially paid a fairly substantial amount if money for the Holiday so for all the extras to be chargeable once you get there is pretty poor especially when it is "all inclusive". Whilst the suite had a kettle and cups, coffee and tea are not replenished each day so you are expected to get your own.

We don't always participate in daily activities (it depends on what's going on and how we feel) but I can honestly say, there was nothing enticing you to do so at this Hotel. There are 3 young girls running the entertainment here and they are quite simply 3 giggly girls who are more interested in themselves. They did announce games every day at the poolside but they did not interact with guests at all and I didn't see anyone joining in with anything other than aqua aerobics. I also discovered a registration sheet for the kids club lying in the main hallway which had clearly been left lying by one of the girls. This sheet contained highly confidential information such as, child's name, parents mobile number and details about whether or not the children were allowed to leave the club alone or not. I handed this into reception and pointed out that this really shouldn't have been left lying around in the hall. I wouldn't feel happy about leaving young kids in their care.

I know some of the things I mention here will appear a little bit petty (with the exception of the kids club sheet which was rather serious I feel) but I am simply comparing this to other Hotels we have stayed in where things have been spot on. I regularly use Thomson Gold or Couples Hotels and so I know what to expect. Two favourites of mine are the Camp De Mar in Majorca and the Riviera in Benalmadena. This Hotel just needs to make the small improvements as it is almost on par with them.

All in all a really nice holiday and I have and would recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 2 which had nice enough views and means you can take the stairs if need be (as li...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nickymunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for haven chosen Taurito Princess for your vacation. We are very pleased to read you had a lovely Holiday at our Hotel, we work very hard to satisfy all our clients. WE take special notice of your recommendations for the future.

We look forward in welcoming you again in Taurito Princess.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We arrived after a long cramped journey with Thomson holidays. No films etc on offer for a 4 hour jaunt .
Book in didn't take too long. You get used to the lifts as you slowly wind down into holiday mode, after all we had no commute or miserable weather to go out into just wall to wall sunshine, wonderful !
Our room was satisfactory , beds comfortable and cleaned to a good standard for all our stay with fresh towels provided.
Staff throughout the hotel were always hard working , obliging and friendly and always courteous ( shame some guests did not observe the same courtesy back ) .
Restaurants were clean and tidy. Food was nice on the whole considering the numbers catered for and there was an endless supply that people could choose from .The Mexican night was good food and the fresh salads and the breakfasts good start to the day .
We enjoyed the piano bar evenings and watched two shows which were okay for a change.
The Thomson holiday reps were very informative and ready to assist and advise at every point in our holiday. Poolside too was relaxing and no real struggle to find sun beds with the beautiful gardens a delight to read in and watch the sun go down with the first drink of the evening .The resort is quiet and compact but enables some walking and mini golf is fun ! Newspapers go quickly at the supermarket.
We took opportunity to take buses to Mogan ( which is a lovely and easy place to get to
)and Puerto Rico but feel for us and the type of holiday we were looking for , we had chosen the best resort on the island the 'jewel in the crown'' of Canaria.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Manager at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Wendy,

Thank you very much for haven chosen Taurito Princess for your relaxing break. We are very proud to read such a nice description of our establishment: ‘The Jewel in the Crown’, all the staff is always working very hard and being described as one of the best resorts on the islands is an honour for us.

Thank you very much for you nice review.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

2nd time to the Hotel so we already knew what to expect, but were looking forward to seeing if the alterations recently carried out made our holiday even better.
In our opinion its a BIG YES, well done to the designers and the management.
So nice to have a bright open lunchtime eating area, and the new location for all other bars and resturants works really well, as does the increase in self service drink locations.
OK the rating would have been Excellent but for the fact that our room was looking a bit worn, hopefully updating of rooms will be next on the list.
The choice of a second Itallian Resturant for dinner works well and the Premier dinner on a Tuesday was well worth going to.
The staff as last year were spot on, nothing too much for them even though some guests are extreemly rude and lacking in even the basic manners.
In all a very good holiday at the Taurito Princess

Room Tip: A great veiw from level 4 if you do not like heights as in level 11
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Midlandssunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Manager at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for haven chosen Taurito Princess for the second time. We are glad to read our recent improvements are of your liking, as our desire is to keep up with ther high demands our Clients demand.

We look forward in welcoming you again in Taurito Princess.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Having read the reviews of this hotel and having stayed in similarly graded hotels throughout Europe, I was expecting something much better. The fact there were only 3 lifts for such a large hotel was an issue, but by far the biggest issue was the room. Initially we stayed in a standard room with a view, which in spite of a beautiful view was nevertheless disappointing as it was very much like 2-3 * hotels we stayed in 15 years ago. The room was: dated and scruffy, it only had one power point, the hotel charged extra to use the fridge, the air con was not adjustable and there was only one English Channel on the TV. There was no WiFi in the room even when we had paid extra to use it. In fact, there was little access to WiFi in many public areas of the hotel. However we were upgraded half way through the week when water damage affected the bathroom ceiling on two consecutive nights. Moving to a small suite was like moving to a different hotel: modern, comfortable and definitely 4*. The view was spectacular. Use of the fridge was included in the suite and there was some WiFi access on the balcony. I accept a suite will always be better than a room, but it should at least appear as if it is the same standard of hotel.

The food was adequate although often cold, bland and repetitive. It was much better in the Italian restaurant than the main one. I accept it is difficult to provide food for fully inclusive, but we have experienced much better in other hotels.

The gym was small and not well kept. On the two occasions I visited it had buckets scattered around to catch dripping water. There was no water in the water cooler.

On a more positive note all staff, particularly those on reception and in the spa, were fabulous. I had two massages and these were excellent and superb value for money. There was a good choice of drinks in the bars and good ambience. The pianist in the piano bar was excellent. Ambience around the hotel was always good and people were respectful of others.

A last word of warning, this hotel is very isolated. There are a few shops, but no real promenade to walk along. However buses and taxis are available from the hotel.

Room Tip: Book a a suite or choose a different hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Sue,

Thank you very much haven chosen Taurito Princess for your stay in Gran Canaria. We appreciate you taking your time to review our Hotel and are sorry we did not meet up to your expectations. We will take into consideration you opinion for future changes, as we are continuously improving.

We appreciate your comment.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Travelled 3-17 Feb with Thomson. Dreadful, cramped flight with minimal legroom. Long bus transfer from Airport with numerous prior drop-offs.
This is a compact resort in a narrow inlet with steep cliffsides and a small beach. There is a large Waterpark there. Few shops, including a supermarket and one bar.
Nice Hotel with large impressive marbled lobby. Efficient check in. We had requested a high floor with double bed and were allocated 10th floor, with a very large and comfortable bed. Old TV with only News channels for English speakers. Nice balcony, with great view – spoilt somewhat by the opaque glass – should be clear for seated views! Large, fully tiled bathroom with good over bath shower. Safe in room (chargeable) We had a fridge which we used without charge. Take a kettle!
Staff are polite but quite aloof (except Animation team – who worked hard) Maid service is efficient. Bath towels have seen better days. Rarely had to wait at any bar for service more than a couple minutes. Pumps for self service of soft drinks, beer, cava and wine – and unusually sangria too.
Got locked in our room when the door lock broke – the maintenance guy climbed in from next doors balcony!!! The lifts were sometimes slow.
No free wifi anywhere in Resort. Chargeable at Hotel. We didn’t use but reports from users were poor. Took free Hotel shuttle to Puerto Mogan – definitely worth doing (Free wifi there too)
The ‘General’ Restaurant is a bit sparse, but functional. The food is plentiful, reasonably varied and certainly adequate. Don’t expect gourmet meals – but you shouldn’t go hungry. (Especially if you like Andalusian snail soup??)The ‘Italian’ Restaurant – still self-service – is nice for a change, but less choice. Every Tuesday this place puts on an a la carte ‘Premium’ meal for 15 euros with a choice of 2 set menus. We enjoyed it. We were there on Valentines Night and they laid on great decor and treats throughout the day.
Entertainment is better than many similar Hotels we have visited, with varied professional acts nightly – vocalists, dancers, magicians etc. We did catch service buses to nearby resorts a couple times for variety – Puerto Rico was nice. We were lucky with the weather and only saw a little rain on our last 2 days. Our favourite time was sundown, when we collected a drink from the bar and went onto the garden area looking out to sea over to the lights of Mogan – magical!
Our Thomson Rep Kate was very helpful and knowledgeable.
Great value for money.

Room Tip: High floor for best views
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jandlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Manager at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for haven chosen Taurito Princess for your vacation in Gran Canaria. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and had a quiet and relaxing break.

Thank you very much for your review.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taurito
0.3 mi away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
0.5 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Lago Taurito
10.6 mi away
Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess
#51 of 216 in Maspalomas
2,245 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taurito Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taurito Princess

Address: C/ Alhambra 8, Urb. de Taurito | Mogán, 35138 Taurito, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Taurito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taurito
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taurito
#2 Family Hotel in Taurito
Price Range: $167 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taurito Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taurito Princess near Puerto de Mogan is an all-inclusive hotel right by the beach. All 405 rooms and suites provide stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean and the bay of Taurito. Located in the south of Gran Canaria the hotel provides services and facilities for both couples and families with children. There are a total of three outdoor pools; 2 for children and a main swimming pool (heated in winter). The all-inclusive offer is available at 2 restaurants (both with live cooking stations) and 4 bars. Several times a week there are themed dinners at the main restaurant “Princess. In addition Taurito Princess guests may enjoy a mix of Italian and Asian dishes once during their stay; then when the La Choza visually and culinary turns into the “La Trattoria”. The daytime and evening entertainment guarantees fun for all ages. The smallest guests can look forward to mini-club, mini-disco and two children's pools (one pool with a giant, colourful dragon). The adults may choose from a whole range of sporting activities, such as tennis, squash, water aerobics and beach volleyball. Wi-Fi (extra charge) is available in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taurito Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Taurito
Taurito Princess Gran Canaria
Hotel Taurito Princess Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing