We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and friendly hotel,but certain low points” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taurito Princess

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taurito Princess
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Taurito
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very nice and friendly hotel,but certain low points”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed here for 9 nights with my wife through First Choice and really enjoyed it. Here are my highs and lows:
Positives:
Terry the rep - thank you!!
Absolutely spotlessly clean hotel with a very hard working staff, always pleasant.
The hotel is right next to the beach and on the west side of the valley. This means it is one of the first to get the morning sun when it rises above the (very high) cliffs - about 9 am.
Lots of sun beds on the terrace and available (why DOES everybody want to sit right by the poolside?).
No problems in getting drinks at all. Note that in reality there are only 3 bars - the rest are self help pumping stations with beer, wine and soft drinks. Also coffee machines (filter, cappo etc).

Negatives (no particular order)
DO NOT COME HERE IF YOU ARE looking for nightlife. Sorry to say that we were not impressed with the Piano Bar at all. The highlight was the Spanish Saxophone player - at least he had some go in him. The other nights were terribly boring. The music needs a good kick into the modern era. Even people in their 60's lived through rock and roll, rock and disco for goodness sake!
Meals. A bite into the sausage at my first breakfast nearly made me sick (honestly). I then took a mouthful of scrambled egg with the same effect. Glad to say it did improve, but I was also careful with my selection from there on.
The problem with lunch (the best) and dinner is that there is only so much you can do with pork and fish, whichever way it is presented. The layout looks fantastic, but in reality, the choice is very limited meatwise. The salads were always very good. Then one night, something happened - roast lamb joints appeared, cooked to perfection and it was a fantastic meal!
The chefs need to be more creative and have more theme nights - over 9 days I experienced 1 "Chinese" themed night, everything else was standard. If other hotels can do numerous theme nights, so should the princess.

Dress code for the evening meal. The rule that men must wear long 'trousers' is just pure outdated rubbish and should be scrapped. What it actually means is that men can wear long trousers, scruffy old jeans and flip flops or sandals. Women can wear, shorts or even cut off jeans. The code is completely pointless as there is no standard.

Terry, if you are listening - jump on this: One day, one of the hotel staff dropped a cup which smashed on the pool deck behind me. I helped her clear it up, but there were still a lot of small sharp porcelain shards left. I communicated with her that this was dangerous and the area needed sweeping immediately, but she carried on her merry way. After 5 minutes (nothing happening) I had to go to reception to let them know that the area needed cleaning immediately, but it still took 10 minutes before anyone arrived. From a Health and Safety viewpoint, I consider this unacceptable for a Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    934
    358
    106
    69
See reviews for
709
1,110
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here from 26/10/2013 - 02/11/2013. Was a bit apprehensive as to what the hotel was going to be like after reading a lot of bad reviews.
On first arrival to the hotel it exceeded my expectations, hotel lobby was clean, spacious and very luxurious. Staff were excellent, very helpful and was no language barrier like in some hotels where communication is difficult.
Room was situated on the third floor with beautiful views of the pool and beach area. Room was clean and no problems other than a broken box which we reported and they came to fix within 5 minutes of us reporting it.

Food was excellent, little bit repetitive but food is very enjoyable and is never cold like some of the other reviews say. I am a very fussy eater and I always found something to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Men must wear Long trousers to dinner in the evenings downstairs in the hotel however on a Thursday you go to the upstairs restaurant where this is unnecessary and you can wear whatever you choose. I preferred the upstairs restaurant as you have a lovely view of the sea and Puerto de Mogan.

Taurito is a lovely place, not much to do but that was the beauty of the place. Few shops and on the Thursday there was a small market there.

Must visit Puerto de Mogan, lovely little place with a brilliant market on a friday. Nice just to walk around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shauna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel - in the last week of October. After reading mixed reviews on here beforehand, we decided to go with an open mind, and although we had a very nice time, the hotel didn't quite live up to our expectations obtained from a usual 4star hotel with First Choice / Thompson. Previous reviews sum it up well, it is a 3 star hotel playing in a 4 stars shoes. Don't get me wrong, it's a big hotel, 11 floors high with grand lifts and amazing views - and by far the best thing about this hotel is it's Animation Team, the girls (Chanice & co) are great with the kids, our kids loved them. And whilst the hired entertainment acts can be pretty hit & miss, the kids mini club (both day and early evening) strongly delivered every time.
Okay so the rooms; yes they're a little dated but they're spacious with lots of room for clothes etc in wardrobes and drawers. The bathrooms are very modern and very big - big deep baths and nice shower. The only let downs are that there is just one main plug socket in the room, so take double or even triple adapters with you and there are no main lights in the room, just 3 lamps so you can't really see a lot when getting ready for the evening. Our beds were made every day but we had to ring reception mid week to ask for it to actually be cleaned (I.e. Floor brushed and bathroom wiped), once we asked though, they did it. It's also worth mentioning that the guys on the reception aren't the friendliest bunch - we had to ring down quite a few times as every day our light bulbs kept blowing and after 4 or so visits, they said it was the wiring/connectors - not so reassuring! I'd strongly advise booking a late check out (if you need it) before you go with first choice as otherwise, they'll charge you 60 euros.
Food wise, we found breakfast and lunch to be quite good (lunch is the best) but dinner was always rubbish, we don't how they managed to get dinner all wrong but they did. Dinner is served in a different restaurant to lunch & breakfast and for some reason, the dinner room was always sooo hot, there was no aircon & you were told off for opening windows & doors?!
Although the food was a bit repetitive, we always found something we liked - if you like salad, pork, veal & chips, you'll be alright!
Drinks wise, all absolutely fine, especially the sangria on tap! I can also vouch for the gin & tonics & bloody mary's - delicious!
The pool areas are clean and refreshing but get down early for a space, we struggled to get beds at only 8am. Be warned though, if you put towels down, one of your party must stay with them otherwise they will take the towels off. At first this seemed a tad harsh but actually, it is a really good idea, and puts a stop to the 6am people who then go back to bed! This did mean we had to do breakfast separately but was worth it.
If the hotel is at full capacity, the pool areas are over crowded and definitely something the hotel needs to look into, the pool area could do with being a bit bigger.
There's a little shop in the hotel that sells all you could need and a supermarket & pharmacy just a stones throw away.
I'd also advise against relying on the rep Terry for anything, we found him to be rude, arrogant & argumentative. The German rep is much friendlier!
There's a mini waterpark outside the hotel, it's salt water so take goggles. Not the cleanest waterpark but the kids liked it.
Overall, if you're after a relaxing sunny getaway, you'll get that, but if you're after a 4 star service, you'll be disappointed. We had a nice time but we're unlikely to return to this hotel - unless there is a considerable price drop & the problems are rectified.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank loobeylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Docking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at the Taurito Princess Hotel from 19/10/2013 - 27/10/2013. First impressions of the resort are great, nice looking lobby when you first arrive. We got there early morning and even then the staff checking us in were cheerful and welcoming, even said "if you want anything to eat I will get someone to make you something".

We were on the 10th floor which has an amazing view, I assume the rest of the rooms do as well.

Facilities - Tennis and squash courts we didn't use but they looked clean and in good condition.

Beach is a stones throw away with plenty of water sports and activities on offer.

There is also a water park, mini golf and bar a short walk from the hotel, you will see them from the balcony. We found the water park really good fun, First Choice charge you 11 Euros, not sure what it is to book tickets direct.

Lifts - Fantastic view and a great idea, they are at the front of the hotel and they are glass. This gives you great views from the upper floor. However there are only 3 lifts for around 1500 guests so at busy times such as breakfast, lunch etc you can be waiting for a while.

Pool - Really nice again with the Cocoloco bar in the middle of the pool, it looks great. There are plenty of sunbeds available.

Internet facilities - 1 Euro for 10 minutes seems OK, 2 Euros for 20 minutes.

Pool Tables - Nice to play a bit of pool now and again, 2 Euros per game. One grip with this were kids breaking the cues a lot so to find a decent one with a tip was a struggle.

Piano Bar - Really nice place to go and relax, a good range of music and nice all inclusive drinks.

Self Service - This hotel allows you to access drinks yourself at all times with a range of fizzy drinks, sangria, beers and house wines.

Rooms - Nice and clean, our bathroom had been refurbished to a high standard. However the rest of the room I think is due to be completed, it looked a bit dated. Despite this the beds were very comfy and you have lots of space for storage. One major gripe of ours, our room (1039) had an adjoining door this meant that we could here our neighbors very clearly and easily. They need to do more than just have the original door there, it needs to be bricked up to allow for privacy. If you have noisy kids next door which we did you are on there time.

Food - Amazing, best part of the hotel. Choice was great, breakfast you had a range of fresh fruit, cheese, breads, meats, cereals and hot buffet. When you go here you will never be hungry, breakfast starts at 8:00am -10:30am, then they do a "sleepyheads" breakfast until 12pm. From 10:30am until 6pm there is various snacks. Lunchtime 12pm - 4pm was a range of food including kids choices, pastas, vegetables, pizzas, fruits, salads and chefs specials. All cooked in front of you. 4pm - 6pm Is coffee, tea and a range of cake, ice cream and fruit. Tea is from 6pm till 10pm onwards, again with a great range of the above.

Gentlemen you will need to wear long trousers for the evening meal, they can be as scruffy as anything as long as they are long.

Ladies - You can wear whatever you like, silly rule in our opinion.

Staff - They were always friendly and hard working, they do so much work but you hardly notice them.

Excursions - Plenty to do in Gran Canaria, First Choice give you a good range and variety.

Local taxis and buses are easy to find, buses are quite easy to navigate and are nice and clean.

Ask the rep Terri about the Coastal Walk from Amordores to Puerto Rico - amazing views and scenery.

You can tell they are wanting this to be there flagship hotel in Gran Canaria, they are spending money on improvements and the hotel is nice, it's just not perfect yet.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 6th floor allow you to take in better views from your room and the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a very relaxing 10 day stay at this hotel. The location is great, right next to the beach. The views are fantastic especially when using one of the 3 glass outside lifts. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was plentiful and varied, breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea/snacks, and dinner were all help yourself buffets. One of the best features was there were self service drinks stations dotted about the hotel where you could get juices, carbonated drinks, water, beer, coffee, hot chocolate 24/7. Also when we arrived in the middle of the night the hotel had laid out a basic cold buffet for us in one of the two restaurants. Some downsides though. Some of the hotel has been refurbished but not the rooms, they were ok but could do with a bit of TLC. For an all inclusive holiday there were quite a few extras that we had to pay for if we wanted them, wifi (19 euros for a week), pool towel change (1 euro 20), safe (18 euros),and fridge. Late checkout was 60 euros, but we managed fine without it. Also. we were disappointed with the service First Choice provided. No reps on the coach transfers and the rep at the hotel was next to useless and more concerned about telling us to give him good report so he could keep his job.
The first 3 days we were there it was difficult to find sunbeds where we wanted but then the pool man started to remove towels where people had got up early to reserve the best sunbeds. What a great idea! It caused a few minor arguments but was very entertaining to watch people come back hours later to find other people on "their" beds.
The sun came up over the hill opposite about 09.30 every day so don't worry if you are eating your breakfast at 08.30 and there is no sun. The hotel facing us at the other end of the beach was in shadows until about mid day so we were definitely in the right location.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view but the higher up you are the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just returned from our holiday to Hotel Taurito Princess, and after reading some of the reviews I was a little bit worried, but we had a lovely time, the hotel was very clean, the staff were friendly, the rooms are on 11 floors and there are 3 lifts to go to all levels, the views from all floors were lovely, the rooms are dated and could do with a little face lift, bathrooms were nice. Rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels, and sachets of shampoo and shower gel. Pool towels provided but if you want to change them you need to pay 1.50 euro each towel, which I think is awful when you pay all inclusive, you do expect your pool towels to be changed every day free of charge, no water in rooms, again I expect this when paying all inclusive, but there were stations around the hotel that you could fill your own bottle up with.
The food is VERY repetitive and I think if you were staying for 2 weeks you would get very bored, the food that was there was always lovely and fresh but it was the same for lunch and evening meal everyday with only very slight changes, but there were lots of fresh fruit and salads everyday and the food was always displayed very well. We never went hungry but would have been nice to have a few more choices. There were plenty of drink stations around the hotel where red, white and rose wine were on tap along with cider, lager, coke, Fanta, which were all of good quality, the fruit juice from the machines was more like just watery squash, and plenty of teas, coffee & hot chocolate.
There is a hotel shop which sells papers, mags, sweets and snacks, and a few holiday essentials like sun cream, toothpaste etc. Internet was rubbish in the rooms but there is a lobby area where you can sit and the internet from here was good.
Didn't see much of the evening entertainment but what I did see was very poor.
Beach is lovely, only a couple of minutes walk from the hotel, black sand, again you had to pay for parasols and chairs on the beach 9 euros a day, the sea was lovely, mostly sandy but some small rocks, lovely snorkelling. Recommend the Canary Dive Centre which is on site just below the hotel and the guys here were really friendly and helpful.
Would we stay here again, - NO but only because of the food, if this was improved would consider going, definitely not 4* and certainly not worth its premium rating.

Room Tip: Any room on any level, but the higher levels have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettyboop1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for two weeks from 7 October and the weather was lovely but I wish someone had written on trip advisor about the cost of a late checkout room at this hotel. It is 60 euros when booked at reception and about £30 when booked through the First Choice website.We asked for this a week before we left and checked the day before when we were told to just come down in the morning to pay. When we did this we were told that the hotel was full and there was no way we could have the room. They told another guest 6 days before that they had no availability. The food was awful when we first got there but Terry the Rep had a word and it got better.I don't know why there are complaints about him as he came round the pool daily to check that everyone was okay. La Choiza restaurant is by far the better place to eat and we think they should use it all the time. We stayed at this hotel several years ago and the food was far better. The Princess chain is usually known for its food so they need to improve as everyone was complaining. The food at lunchtime was far better.The hotel is lovely and clean but the rooms are very dated and need fresh bedding. The bathrooms have been refurbished but they have left the old bath and shower unit in it so it spoils the effect. Having said that it was very comfortable and had everything that you needed and was cleaned daily.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor and the views were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taurito
0.3 mi away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
0.5 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Lago Taurito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess
#51 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#9 of 16 in Mogan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taurito Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taurito Princess

Property: Taurito Princess
Address: C/ Alhambra 8, Urb. de Taurito | Mogán, 35138 Taurito, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Taurito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Taurito
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taurito
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taurito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taurito Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taurito Princess near Puerto de Mogan is an all-inclusive hotel right by the beach. All 405 rooms and suites provide stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean and the bay of Taurito. Located in the south of Gran Canaria the hotel provides services and facilities for both couples and families with children. There are a total of three outdoor pools; 2 for children and a main swimming pool (heated in winter). The all-inclusive offer is available at 2 restaurants (both with live cooking stations) and 4 bars. Several times a week there are themed dinners at the main restaurant “Princess. In addition Taurito Princess guests may enjoy a mix of Italian and Asian dishes once during their stay; then when the La Choza visually and culinary turns into the “La Trattoria”. The daytime and evening entertainment guarantees fun for all ages. The smallest guests can look forward to mini-club, mini-disco and two children's pools (one pool with a giant, colourful dragon). The adults may choose from a whole range of sporting activities, such as tennis, squash, water aerobics and beach volleyball. Wi-Fi (extra charge) is available in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Taurito Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Taurito
Taurito Princess Gran Canaria
Hotel Taurito Princess Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing