We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel close to the airport”
Review of Loiu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loiu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loiu
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good hotel close to the airport”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The food was excellent; the service very good. It's close to the airport (far from Bilbao); a good choice if you have to fly the night after. Their restaurant is very, very good and the rooms are clean and nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTAOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    64
    28
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
75
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a small friendly hotel near Bilbao Airport, with occasional planes flying overhead but they are not annoying and didn't interrupt sleep. There is a small terrace out front which, along with the bar, were very lively on a Friday night. The windows actually opened! The room had two twin beds, a desk and chair but no reading chair and a bathroom with tub/shower, bidet, real soap, not that gel bottle some hotels tend to hang on the wall at the right height for someone taking a shower but impossible to reach if you're having a tub bath, and good lighting. I hadn't intended to eat supper but the evening's all-inclusive menu was so appetizing I fell into temptation and was glad I did. The price for the weekend menu depended on which wine you chose, either 23, 25, or 27 euros. The waitress recommended the middle one and I found it excellent, but of course couldn't polish off the whole bottle by myself so she insisted I take it with me. The menu had what I thought was a choice of two items, but it turned out I got both and particularly the duck confit salad with crispy bacon, fried croutons, red-tipped lettuce and a mustard sauce was delicious. For the second course I chose the fish (three possible offerings) which also was excellent, served on a bed of pisto: a tomato, pepper, onion, zucchini mix and potatoes. Dessert was okay. The continental breakfast was satisfactory. Within its category as a relatively basic hotel, I'd give it 5 stars. Basic room, excellent supper. I don't know how I'd rank it against a posh 5 star luxury hotel, as I think it wouldn't be fair to judge one against the other. There should be a category for luxury, upscale places and another different one for basic hotels. This would be a winner in that category.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyBoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for one night to recover from Australia flight. The rooms were clean and quiet. The hotels location was perfect, just 10 minutes drive. The staff could not have more helpful with advice on Bilbao, The Guggenheim, transport etc.
Dinner, wich can be viewed on their website included 3 courses, all with choices, wine, water and coffee for 18 euros.
Breakfast was buffet type and included.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I spent a weekend in Bilbao and stayed at Hotel Loiu. The hotel is conveniently located near the airport and just out of town (~15-20 EUR taxi to town). Loiu is a very nice and quite town with stunning landscape in the vicinity; Perfect for a long hilly run or a bike ride. Rooms are very comfy and nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly and useful. They even put a bottle of wine in my room as a welcome. In addition to a generous continental breakfast, they also include very fast internet in the room price. I will stay there again on my next trip and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viz262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Within 100 metres of a bus stop you can be in the centre of Bilbao within 10 minutes for 1.35 euros.
Yet this excellent hotel is in a quiet suburb of the city and provides safe and free car-parking. We found the staff wonderfully friendly and helpful and our accommodation could not be faulted. If you wish to enjoy your evening meal this too is excellent value [12 euros for 3 courses plus wine]. Much better than being in the city centre - go there. Excellent free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a gem of a hotel nestled in the rolling hills of Bilbao & a few minutes drive from the airport. My room was
clean & comfortable with a good size bathroom. Good wifi connection. If you care to take a walk up the hill nearby is a lovely
park full of trees & pleasant walkways. A lovely sunny day in November with leaves on the ground made for very pleasant views.
The reception staff were very friendly & happy to share local knowledge (Jon especially very helpful). It is rare to find such
great value restaurants in UK - but can still come across them in Spain & this hotel has one. A 3 course dinner including a
great bottle of local wine for 18 euro - worth every cent & came away feeling happy to pay the next morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very good value for the over sixties. Food is very good and the restaurant opens at 8.30. The closeness to the airport is very important, it takes only 5 minutes by car. We found the staff very helpful and polite. The room is average but very clean. Having internet in the room is another good point.

Room Tip: For couples over 60, it is super. Food good and very near to Bilbao airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loiu
2.4 mi away
Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao
3.5 mi away
Hotel Seminario Bilbao
3.7 mi away
Hotel Palacio Urgoiti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Puente Colgante
Gran Hotel Puente Colgante
#1 of 1 in Portugalete
301 reviews
3.4 mi away
Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
3.9 mi away
Ibis Bilbao Barakaldo
Ibis Bilbao Barakaldo
#1 of 3 in Barakaldo
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loiu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loiu Hotel

Property: Loiu Hotel
Address: Kalea Lastetxe 24, 48180 Loiu, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Loiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Loiu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loiu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing