We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy, dated, expensive”
Review of Loiu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loiu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loiu
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“noisy, dated, expensive”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

very noisy, not only because of the surroundings (church's bell next door going every hour, low flying jumbo jets) but internally too
got injured because of a defect of a room (they promised me the room won't be rented until fixed) and on a 130 euro bill the discount I got was under 6 euro, I found that insulting but refrain to say it there and then
beds, tv, toilet, facilities were very good thou
it must be very close to the airport as planes seem to go just clear of the roof of the hotel

Room Tip: unless you're doing business nearby I wouldn't go to it again
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tram P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    62
    28
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
74
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
240 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Liou is a small and nice residential area outside Bilbao and the hotel is not difficult to find being the only one and just in front of the old church. The main reason for choosing this hotel seems to be its proximity to the airport (maybe 15 minutes by bus or car). If you are just visiting Bilbao consider carefully if staying here is really convenient for some other reason. If travelling with children one reason could be its being near the very quiet playground of Liou. Unfortunately there is nothing else in Liou (I think there is just the hotel’s restaurant and another place to eat). Should you choose to stay here consider that Bilbao can be reached by bus with a 20 minutes’ ride but going there by car is more convenient. Bus is not frequent (once an hour and every other hour on Saturdays and Sundays). Many rooms of the hotel face the near old church (unfortunately closed but on Sundays) and parking is available around the hotel. Our room was clean, really basic, with a small TV and a not very comfortable bed. I think some people could consider the noise from other rooms disturbing. Breakfast was very good. Maybe the hotel should be considered a good two star hotel rather than a three star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalyMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

PROS: great value, rooms are nicely appointed, clean, comfortable and spacious, with a modern bathroom. Bathroom has a tub/shower combo. TV in the room, and free WiFi. Breakfast is included and consists of cereal, yogurt, meats cheeses, mini pastries, coffee, juice. The hotel also has an elevator and free parking. The staff is very helpful and speak English fairly well. The hotel has a very nice restaurant with good food on the lower level (a bit pricey) as well as a bar on the entry level.
Not far at all from the airport or from downtown Bilbao.

CONS: no A/C (not uncommon for Europe); located right in airport takeoff and landing path. So, sleeping hours must be between 10 and 6. Or, good earplugs are required. While the windows might be soundproof (I can't say for sure), it's pretty loud with the windows open, which is necessary in the warmer months.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T-birdTraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
198 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

What a find! With a rental car we did not want to navigate into the congestion in Bilbao and search for parking, so we stayed in Loiu near the Bilbao airport. Don’t be put off by the fact that it is not right in Bilbao. The hotel staff directed us to the bus stop a block away, and we were in the center of Bilbao in less than 20 minutes. The hotel has very nice rooms and the service was perfect. Breakfast included many choices. We also ate dinner in the dining room. Excellent food and excellent service. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The hotel was easy to find from the port of Bilbao. Staff on reception friendly and helpful. The room that we had was spacious and clean. Unfortunately the restaurant was not serving food but we were able to get some sandwiches at the bar, the continental breakfast was good. We would definately return!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20BB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed here as we were flying in to Bilbao at 10pm. The flight was delayed and we arrived at the airport at 1.30am. The road to Loiu (BI3707) was easy to find and we were there in 10 minutes. The receptionists opened up with a smile and we were soon fast asleep in comfortable beds. It was clean and modern and an excellent overnight stop. We paid 52 euro for the room and about 8euro for an average breakfast

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We were travelling from the UK to southern Spain and could not find a hotel anywhere. Went to the Bilbao airport in the hope of a hotel there but no luck. The man at the information desk sent us to this little gem. Tucked away in a small village, the owners welcomed us after our long drive and gave us what must have been the best room in the place.
Our car was locked away in a secure compound and we could relax at their bar with the locals or take a walk in the village. The owners suggested that if we wanted something special, we should walk up to the 'club' and have our supper. i am not sure if we found the right place but the supper was superb, the service excellent and very relaxing. All the guests were jovial and started buying us drinks. After a gentle stroll down the hill back to the hotel we went to sleep peacefully to the aromas of the local foliage.
I suggest that if you are ever in the region try this hotel.

  • Liked — Quiet, wonderful welcome, seclusion
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BrigandChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loiu
Abando
Hotel Artetxe
Hotel Artetxe
#9 of 42 in Bilbao
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Bilbao Barakaldo
#1 of 3 in Barakaldo
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loiu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loiu Hotel

Property: Loiu Hotel
Address: Lastetxe kalea, 24, 48180 Loiu, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Loiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Loiu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loiu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing