We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True 3 star experience!!!”
Review of Martin Berasategui

Martin Berasategui
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Lasarte-Oria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $175 - $292
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

We travel the world for good food- if you are in San Sebastian and want to go fine dining, this is THE place to go. Impeccable, a true 3 star experience in terms of food and service! Akelare and Arzak don't come even near MB. MB is on the level as El celler de can roca (in Girona) or even higher in terms of the food. Experience the best here!

Date of visit: September 2016
2  Thank sherlyC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 298 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2016

We have eaten in wonderful restaurants all over the world. In particular, we have been in all the top places in San Sebastian. To be honest, we added this one last and we cannot imagine how much we would have missed had we not gone. The service was superb, especially Noellia, who was one of the primary people taking care of us. The food was truly magical, and the room and ambiance ideal. They also did something I have never seen and it was so appreciated. My daughter is left-handed, and the staff noticed. At the third course, they asked, and began placing her silverware in reverse. You have no idea how wonderful this made her feel. Many thanks and we so look forward to returning.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank hopen494
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016

Lunch was a fabulous meal and lasting over five hours.
Each of the fourteen courses was amazing and the service was warm, personable and professional.
We noted the high standards the restaurant set with staff welcoming us as we were walking towards the entry door.
The dining room had a lovely comfortable ambiance with the tables set well apartment for private enjoyment.
We also appreciated and noted:
• How the servers wore white gloves as they were laying out the cutlery for each course
• The ability to swap courses in the menu and still have a personalised menu presented to each of us
• How the server would stand in front and in the centre of our table to clearly describe what was presented on the plate
• How on several occasions a napkin would be brought out to cover the stains we had left on the table cloth from our passing of the food across the plates!
• How I was served an extra dessert to accompany my family as my own soufflé had split upon plating.
• How the staff was still helpful in assisting us to take some photos even after leaving the building.

Very hard to beat and worthy of the 3 Michelin stars

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank billeclass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016

Our family of 3 had a lunch back in July here. It is our first experience in a Michelin 3 star restaurant. We were in a rush as we had to catch the bull fighting at Pamplona on the same day. We chose the tasting menu and finished it in a little more than 2 hours. I would say the dishes are definitely out of this world although I am not sure if everybody would like this out of the world style.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank whliu2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016

Definitely the best dining experience I've ever had. Everything was up to the highest standard. The ambience, the staff and the amazing food. We ordered the tasting menu and every single dish was a great experience. Both the taste and presentation were stunning. My favourites were the pigeon dish and the mushroom 'truffle' dish. On top of all this, the atmosphere was still relaxed and the time flew by.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank gorank15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin Berasategui also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
Ezkio, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to Martin Berasategui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.