We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Green and Peaceful”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of GLASSHOUSE GARDEN

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ibarrangelu, Province of Vizcaya, Basque Country

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
71Corinne
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Green and Peaceful”
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Alice and Igor could not have been more welcoming and helpful. They provided small scale walking maps, books and advice, which made our holiday. Their apartment is spacious, comfortable, well equipped and modern, with a large patio and lovely garden. The village is within easy reach of a wide range of interesting sites, but we spent many days just walking local paths through the lush unspoiled countryside and along the spectacular coast. The markets are full of top quality food, especially sea food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interest of the history and culture.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed walking along our green coast so much. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariaoH56...
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent location for touring the Basque country and a wonderful apartment in a village setting.”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We felt instantly at home in Alicia and Igor's beautiful apartment. They made our holiday a great success. Alicia and Igor are very generous hosts and the apartment is very well equipped and spotlessly clean. There is a very comfortable and pretty garden for relaxing in the evenings. We cannot speak Spanish and they both speak excellent English and they gave us very helpful information, maps, guide books, suggestions for sightseeing,walking trails, shopping and restaurants. Everywhere we went we met with charming and helpful people. The restaurants have a wide variety of cuisine and are of a very good standard and the whole area is very beautiful. Maria & Pat from Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Meeeting the very friendly Basque people, enjoying their beautiful country and cuisine.
Liked least: At times the motorways were quite busy.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2016
Thank you Maria & Pat for your lovely review. We are very happy you had such a wonderful time in our region & felt like at home in our place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G
1 review
“A beautiful spot”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

It felt ,I keep we were being taken good care of by Alice and Igor right from the start. They sent a lot of local information beforehand and I was very impressed with the photos as well as written directions about how to reach the property. The apartment was beautiful with everything that we could need and more. Everything was explained very clearly. Lovely bed and linen, good kitchen and bathroom. The view from the patio was fabulous and we enjoyed sitting outside. There was a lot of oval info which was very useful. Alice was away during our stay but emailed to make sure all was alright a couple of times.
We loved the walks in the area, visiting the Guggenheim in Bilbao, the Monday morning market in Gernica, eating by the harbour in Elantxobe, the painted forest and the amazing rugged Basque coastline. Top tip. Drive and park in Gernica then get the train to Bilbao from there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty and comfort
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2016
Thank your very much for your lovely review. Happy to hear you enjoyed our región so much. Maybe We can meet you in the future. Best wishes alice & igor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful holiday in a beautiful location”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The apartment is very well-equipped, clean and comfortable. The location is great for relaxing on the beach, visiting Bilbao and San Sebastián, or for a more active holiday; there are lots of good walks nearby, and the scenery is beautiful. The food and wine in the region are also excellent. Alice and Igor were so friendly and gave us great recommendations for restaurants, beaches and things to do. We would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the apartment and its facilities and cleanliness
Liked least: The shop in the village is hardly even open, so plan your grocery shopping carefully!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john s
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great apartment to stay at in a beautiful area of Spain”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A lovely apartment well equipped in a beautiful garden setting, ideal for sitting out under the
umbrella for a cool drink. Every thing you could need in the apartment, owners have
thought of everything.

Plenty of information with regards to places to visit, resturants and the best way to get
around the local area and Basque Country.

Thank you Igor and Alice our visit lasted a week but we achieved we planned to do thanks to your help.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M8216CHja...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Very accommodating hosts' we booked at last minute and they responded quickly and were very helpful in the booking process. The apartment is in a fantastic location with excellent access by road to beaches, walks and beautiful countryside. Alice and Igor were very helpful and showed the apartment to us, which was extremely clean and well cared for. Private garden is lovely. Walking distance to small shop, pharmacy and 3 friendly bars.
We would not hesitate to book again.
Thank you for a fantastic holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2015
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy you liked our place and surroundings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Wonderful Stay!”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Hi Alice & Igor,

We wish to thank you for the pleasure of staying in your garden apartment for a whole month in December & January.

Although it was not the tourist season, we recharged our batteries & found plenty to do, including many lovely walks with stops for delicious pinxtos.

Your apartment was a joy to stay in for this extended time, spotlessly clean & extremely functional, with magic views of the garden & hills beyond.

Also, all the written information you provided was most helpful, we really benefitted from your recommendations & knowledge. You certainly live in a beautiful part of the world.

Good luck to you & Igor in your future endeavours & we hope to see you again in the future.

Cheers,

Bern & Helen Pattison

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: All Good.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing