We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not common at all...”
Review of The Commoner - CLOSED

The Commoner
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Fitzroy
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
802 reviews
485 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
“Not common at all...”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a small but very comfortable restaurant. The furnishings are all wooden which gives the place a homely feel and this is enhanced by the personable staff, who do their best to make one feel welcome.
The menu is quite limited - not so the wine list. The latter contains a good selection of wines and assorted beverages, some quite unusual. With regard to the food menu, there were a number of 'tasting' items on offer. These are individually priced, that is, you pay according to the number you order.
There were only 4 mains on offer and as we couldn't decide which to pick, we opted for the 'feed me' alternative at $65 a head. This gave us 7 plates (4 tasting plates, one main and two small desserts) selected by the chef and based on the day's specials. Our selection included baby capsicum, calimari tubes filled with minced pork, goats cheese zucchini flower, duck croquettes, cold dressed mussels and spatchcock with beautiful roast potatoes and mushrooms.
All the offerings were made with the freshest of ingredients, were very nicely plated and absolutely delicious. We were fully sated without feeling 'full'.
The only criticism we have is that one of the desserts - 'sorrel flavoured sorbet' - just didn't work. Put simply, it was a poor finish to an otherwise lovely meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delightful Birthday celebration dinner at The Commoner”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Recently celebrated four February birthdays at The Commoner. Table consisted of visitors from Perth, Sydney and new comers to Melbourne. Food was great, service excellent, great atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wandaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A lvoely saturday night here.”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

First time i've been to a place where i've walked through the door and the staff were expecting us despite being early and it being an internet booking, so from the start we were on a good footing.

We had a table out the back which looked nicer than being inside which didn;t look at spacious. had some Tim Colins (tom collins ) before ordering the "Feed me" menu. Very happy with the choice and there was plenty of it so that you didn;t get to the end feeling short-changed as you can do with some tasting menu's. I can;t say there were any radical flavours or combinations but what was there was decent, well cooked, tasty, honest food. A nice selection of combinations but the winner for me was the deserts. i haven't had a chocolate cake like that for a long time. And all for $65 which i thought was excellent value for money

Drinks wise we had a German sounding Pino Noir but that was relatively local which was excellent and accompanied the menu very well. The only disappoint was the Tim/Tom Collins. quite expensive ($15) for what they were.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dexcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favouritre local restaurant”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love going to the Commoner, great food, happy staff and always a good chat to be had about the maenu which is innovative nd pleasing to the palate. I love it and keep going back all the time

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimHydeAutralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
340 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Anything but common !”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This treasure has private rooms, outdoor and casual dining.
The kitchen works hard to please. we tried the " feed me " menu which is extraordinary !

Great wines

Unusual spirit selections. Try the Fifty Pound gin.

We enjoyed a long afternoon in the courtyard.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mastermuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Commoner also viewed

 
Fitzroy, Yarra
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing