We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!”

Builders Arms Hotel
Ranked #55 of 298 Restaurants in Fitzroy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Fitzroy
Melbourne
2 reviews
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My friend and I booked a table in the bistro. A lovely warm, cosy room, having been renovated, but not too slick. The best part was the food. I had the lamb which had been slow cooked for 10 hours. It was a quirky dish, served with light pancakes in the same vein as Peking duck. So incredibly delicious. My friend had the mushroom risotto, which didn't disappoint. Not too expensive, particularly for such great cooking. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    61
    20
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you cannot get a table in the bistro don't give up on eating here. We went on a friday night and the bistro was booked out so we found a seat in the bar. It wasn't the most comfortable set up for eating but it was worth it for the food. We tried a range of their smaller dishes the most delicious were the pickles, the slow cooked lamb and the freekeh salad. We will make a booking next time and try some more main meals.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kermit323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
3,725 reviews
1,012 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 733 helpful votes
“Great Place; Great Food & Service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place has it jusr right.An old pub tastefully but not elaborately fitted out with excellent food and service.The food was interesting, well presented and not over-priced. Wine prices were typical of Melbourne . I look forward to returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent even with three kids!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I took my mother and sisters three kids (7/9/11) to Builders Arms as a treat - more for mum and I as I had read great reviews. It did not disappoint. The kids are fussy eaters but the waiter who was exceptional with his service treated them like adults, and although its not listed there are simpler dishes like barramundi or chicken with chips. The 11 had a go at the orrechetti also he hates zucchini and loved it. They kids had a wonderful time (luckily they are exceptionally behaved) and were raving about the interior decoration and the waiters service between them.
The room is a large open space and could be noisy but we were sat down the back by the garden area so for us noise was not an issue. Mum and I enjoyed food off the menu which was cooked and presented. I fully intend to go back again so I can take advantage of the wine list without having to supervise kids.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EddyHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

standout service for a pub (although couldn't really call it that anymore) and the food was very good with a reasonable price considering the service and quality of the food. Was a little disappointed with the range of wines but the pricing was ok.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenoo300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Builders Arms Hotel also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Builders Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing