We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Royal Gardens

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Quest Royal Gardens
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Great location with great facilities. Walking distance to transport, Brunswick street, lygon street and museum. Great sized apartments with everything you need. Towels were clean & changed daily. Linen fresh & clean, changed once a week.

Reception staff were hit & miss. Some knew their stuff very well whilst others gave incorrect directions & knew little of the tram network.
Had to ask daily for replacement dishwashing liquid
Apartment was surface clean but very dusty
Windows in bedrooms didn't open so became very stuffy
Balcony was littered with cigarette butts and rubbish
Cutlery & dishes not cleaned properly after previous guest-had to wash everything before use.
Hallway into block stunk of cigarettes-suspect someone smoking in building

Cleanliness is the only thing letting this place down.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellin-28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    157
    46
    12
    3
See reviews for
114
83
11
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Chanced upon this place when I was looking for an apartment near CBD with free parking. The added bonus was free internet as well. Chose a 1-bedroom apartment and I must say, the place was cosy and quiet. It has a nice little garden and pool. A 10-min walk to the free City Tram and a 5 min walk to the heart of Fitzroy shopping area. The only drawback of this place is the lack of a lift if you are staying on the 2nd floor and have heavy luggages.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Augustine7222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Didn't realise that something so lovely could be tucked away behind such a busy street. The staff and management were more than helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Excellent!! We stayed there for nearly a month as we relocated from o/s. The staff at quest made us feel so at home. The apartments are lovely and is so handy to have a kitchen and washing machine. It's a perfect location to explore Melbourne and so close to all the buzz of Brunswick street. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lettibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

These serviced apartments are ideal for visitors to Melbourne. They are ideally situated close to the centre (about a 10-15 min walk) but also to the free trams that circle the city and its tourist sites. It is also close to other areas of the city with good restaurants, curio shops etc. The apartments themselves are very well equipped and ours had a view of the gardens and pool area. The staff were very helpful and arranged transport and restaurants on our behalf. A great place to say a few days.

Room Tip: try and get a room on the top floor overlooking the pool and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinnersMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

This is my second review of the Quest Royal Gardens. If you are looking for a roomy apartment to fit a few of you in, without feeling that you are living on top of each other then the 4 bedroom apartments are spot on. The 4 bedrooms are all located upstairs in the apartment which is ideal if you have young children. We were able to put the kids to bed at a reasonable time at night and still enjoy ourselves downstairs without the worry of waking children up. There are 2 bathrooms up stairs along with a downstairs toilet which is very convenient. The apartments themselves arent anything flash, ie the carpet is worn, the kitchen and bathrooms are dated and too be honest we've stayed in cleaner places. However its a trade off we have been prepared to make as the location of these apartments, their size and cost per night make it worthwhile. Be warned though, you do need to get up 2 flights of stairs to get to the apartments, and there is only 1 TV in the apartment (I had issues with this is my last review and still do especially given how cheap TVs are) It would be nice if the kids could go upstairs and watch some TV after a day out and about instead of all of us having to endure ABC kids, while we are also trying to relax.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

My niece and I were in Melbourne for her treatment at St Vincents Mercy Hospital. I had never been to Melbourne before & didn't know which place would be the best & closest to stay at but luckily we found it at Quest Royal Gardens. I also advised them that I was there for the hospital & they gave me a better room rate, it was greatly appreciated!! It's 5 minutes walking distance & we were close to all the trams going into the city, several stop directly in front of the hospital. Whilst my niece was in hospital I was able to discover Gertrude St & Brunswick Rd, which were right at our door step - great places. The place was very clean but the only negative comment I would make is that the carpet & couch perhaps could have been steam cleaned as they had some marks on it, but that certainly didn't detract from our stay. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful and I highly recommend this place to any visitor to Melbourne even if you're not there for the hospital, it's only a tram away from the city or a 15 minute walk. I didn't rate the sleep quality as excellent because there were some very noisy tenants and the bed was only a double not a queen, so it wasn't as roomy as I was used to, other than that we were happy!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyCoogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Royal Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Royal Gardens

Property: Quest Royal Gardens
Address: 8 Royal Lane, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Fitzroy > Fitzroy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fitzroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Royal Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest Royal Gardens, Fitzroy. Established in 1988, the property is a hidden oasis located within walking distance to Melbourne CBD, Lygon St and Brunswick St. Our Serviced apartments are only metres to the Carlton Gardens, Royal Exhibition Building, St Vincent's Hospital, Melbourne Museum and an array of shopping strips. Amid a tranquil garden setting, Quest Royal Gardens offers one, two, and three bedroom apartments with fully equipped kitchens, laundry facilities, generous living and dining areas, allowing guests to relax in comfort and privacy. The property feature's an outdoor swimming pool and spa, barbecue facilities and on-site car parking. Valet dry cleaning, grocery pickup, breakfast room service or hampers are also available along with chargeback at selected local restaurants.Please note that Quest Royal Gardens has stairs to and within the apartments. It's recommended to request for a ground floor apartment if required. Note that all requests are not guaranteed, and are subject to availability, this includes balconies and courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quest Royal Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Royal Gardens Hotel Fitzroy
Quest Royal Gardens Melbourne
Quest Royal Gardens Fitzroy, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing