We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and Unkempt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melbourne Metropole Central
Khandallah Welling 6441
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tired and Unkempt”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

On the positive side, the location is very central and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is quite tired, dated and generally in a poor state. Structurally, some parts of the hotel look worryingly unsound with obvious cracks to the plasterwork. Our room was dark and could have been cleaner. Overall, not to be recommended - you can find better.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vincent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    55
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
32
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is an average hotel/ motel apartment style accommodation in the heart of East Melbourne. Good for business travel if you need to be on this side of the city.

I have stayed here many times for business, and always walk away feeling slightly disappointed, even though I always know what to expect.

The apartments are a comfortable size, but are somewhat dated, a little too dark, and dare I say, a little dingy. They are definitely in need of a little updating, even if it is a coat of paint.

I always feel a bit lonely when I stay here, and this is probably as it's tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Breakfast is provided in the cafe at the front of the hotel, which is always a little empty, so I usually choose to have room service for breakfast and dinner, thus probably contributing towards my solitude!

Breakfast is fine. Dinner is usually a little bit of a let down for the price.

An average hotel, an average price, an average stay. You know what to expect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelindaMulberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

There is not much to be said about this hotel. You are better off spending a little extra and staying back in the heart of Melbourne.

The service was ok and the staff at reception were friendly.

The rooms were average and if you happen to get room at the front of the building then the noise will impede your sleep.

Room Tip: Try for the top floor to get away from some of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munkie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very average. It is a but daggy however I did love the spa bath in the bedroom.

It is not really decorated at all it has old style furniture and black stains all over the carpet.

It was very clean

But the service was great and it is a
comfortable hotel the resteraunt and room service is lively.

I would stay here again although I would Very average. It is a but daggy however I did love the spa bath in the bedroom.

I rather a room with a bit of colour.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lohrenjade89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at the Metropole for two days before Christmas. Room was plain but clean and tidy. One advantage is the ferociously good air conditioning, because on a 40 degree day you really want a refuge. There is also a nice pool. Only downside is the absence of in room movies to watch while you take refuge from the heat. Excellent location with a convenient 112 tram out the front door to Collins St. Friendly staff as always, with actual as opposed to feigned service. This time I forgot my iPhone charger and they lent me one for the duration. My favorite choice for a melbourne get away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altakoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Was a conference delegate two years previously and if anything they seemed to have upped their game this time.
Yu
Shared an apartment with a colleague and it had a marvelous view and good facilities. The carpet was a wee bit tired but all else very good.

Food at the conference was tasty,and the conference bar man worked his socks off. Food was not that veggie friendly or imaginative for intolerances (milk intolerance means leaves and salad).

Special positive mention to Damian who was so helpful - the other staff were good but he was best at helping me. All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macadhermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Excellent location, good price, beautiful courtyard and pool. Trams were noisy at times, but on the whole an excellent stay. Clean, good size, couch was in an odd position to view the tv and a lottle uncomfortable, but I assume it was a sofabed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,523 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#35 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,727 reviews
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#117 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Metropole Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Metropole Central

Property: Melbourne Metropole Central
Address: 44 Brunswick St, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia (Formerly Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Fitzroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fitzroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Metropole Central 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne Metropole Central is an iconic landmark building offering 4 1/2 star hotel and apartment style accommodation on Brunswick Street in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Guests can choose from hotel studios, suites, one and two bedroom apartments. The property boasts an outdoor pool, gym, restaurant, free Wi-Fi, free Foxtel and secure undercover parking. The in-house restaurant, Café Metropole is open for breakfast and dinner daily, serving a range of delicious meals and imported beers and selected wines at the bar. Room service is available for breakfast or dinner during kitchen opening hours. Melbourne Metropole Central is located in the cultural hub of Fitzroy on Brunswick Street which offers a diverse range of cafes, restaurants, bars, galleries and unique stores. Lygon Street Italian precinct is walking distance from the hotel and boasts some of Melbourne's best Italian restaurants. The Melbourne Museum is just a short walk away and it's a short trip by tram or car to the Queen Victoria Markets, Regent Theatre or Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). Melbourne Airport is 20 minutes' drive by car. There are several versatile meeting and event areas available that are capable of seating from 15 up to 180 delegates. Amenities offered include dedicated bars, kitchen facilities, breakout rooms and a variety of catering packages from our in-house restaurant. Meeting and event packages are available with per person, per day charges for a simple and cost-effective way to produce a successful meeting or event. Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Melbourne Metropole Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Metropole Central Fitzroy, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing