We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again excellent hotel in the hot Melbourne summer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melbourne Metropole Central
canberra
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Once again excellent hotel in the hot Melbourne summer”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at the Metropole for two days before Christmas. Room was plain but clean and tidy. One advantage is the ferociously good air conditioning, because on a 40 degree day you really want a refuge. There is also a nice pool. Only downside is the absence of in room movies to watch while you take refuge from the heat. Excellent location with a convenient 112 tram out the front door to Collins St. Friendly staff as always, with actual as opposed to feigned service. This time I forgot my iPhone charger and they lent me one for the duration. My favorite choice for a melbourne get away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altakoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    55
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
23
34
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Was a conference delegate two years previously and if anything they seemed to have upped their game this time.
Yu
Shared an apartment with a colleague and it had a marvelous view and good facilities. The carpet was a wee bit tired but all else very good.

Food at the conference was tasty,and the conference bar man worked his socks off. Food was not that veggie friendly or imaginative for intolerances (milk intolerance means leaves and salad).

Special positive mention to Damian who was so helpful - the other staff were good but he was best at helping me. All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macadhermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Excellent location, good price, beautiful courtyard and pool. Trams were noisy at times, but on the whole an excellent stay. Clean, good size, couch was in an odd position to view the tv and a lottle uncomfortable, but I assume it was a sofabed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had planned to stay in our new apartment in Fitzroy but on arrival the first evening we found power was not switched on and had to find a hotel closeby at short notice. The staff were most helpful and arranged a one bed apartment at a very competitive rate. We were so impressed we ended up staying 3 nights. The apartment was very well equipped, vey clean and the bed was vey comfortable (an important issue for us more mature travelers). We only had continental breakfast there but that was very good and a fair cost. One other important factor was the availability of secure under cover parking for our 4wd that was easy to access. Overall, very impressed and ideal for a long weekend stay in the City or an even longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatureTraveller48063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland.
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Very good service from the hotel staff. I had a booking for a double room and was upgraded to the apartment as my company uses this hotel regularly. I had an awesome two storey aparmtnet for the 3 nights and loved it there. Full kitchen facilities were handy and plenty of space and very quiet there. Just a short walk down the street and there are some amazing restaurants to sample. I walked to Lygon St (around 40 mins) and nearby (only 10 mins)along Brunswick St or Victoria St for some great foodie spots too!

(The hotel cafe was a litte average and coffee not so good. Plenty of other spots nearby as Melbourne has fabulous options.)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinnaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2012

A great place to stay. Offer a great arrangement for families at st Vincent's. Staff very supportive and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. No hidden extras. Accessible to city. Easy to drive to from tullamarine fwy

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights on Melbourne Cup weekend. Although the Metropole is on busy Brunswick Street, our apartment was situated at the back of the building,hence no noise from the street. The apartment was clean and comfortable. The kitchen and bathroom and toilet looked like they had been recently renovated and the kitchen had everything we needed. Comfortable living area with plenty of room to move. Beds were comfortable too and I would rate the curtains in the bedrooms a 10 out of 10 for keeping the early morning light out! This was great for a light sleeper like me who does'nt like waking up at the crack of dawn. Only small complaint is the bathroom was very small - not much bench space and nowhere to hang/put your clothes. For those who like to self cater and don't want to be too far from the CBD the Metropole is ideal. Plus its great to have the Brunswick/Gertrude/Smith street precincts on the doorstep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,071 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,481 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,656 reviews
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#38 of 160 in Melbourne
321 reviews
Fitzroy
Quest Royal Gardens
Quest Royal Gardens
#1 of 6 in Fitzroy
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Metropole Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Metropole Central

Property: Melbourne Metropole Central
Address: 44 Brunswick St, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia (Formerly Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Fitzroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fitzroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Metropole Central 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne Metropole Central is an iconic landmark building offering 4 1/2 star hotel and apartment style accommodation on Brunswick Street in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Guests can choose from hotel studios, suites, one and two bedroom apartments. The property boasts an outdoor pool, gym, restaurant, free Wi-Fi, free Foxtel and secure undercover parking. The in-house restaurant, Café Metropole is open for breakfast and dinner daily, serving a range of delicious meals and imported beers and selected wines at the bar. Room service is available for breakfast or dinner during kitchen opening hours. Melbourne Metropole Central is located in the cultural hub of Fitzroy on Brunswick Street which offers a diverse range of cafes, restaurants, bars, galleries and unique stores. Lygon Street Italian precinct is walking distance from the hotel and boasts some of Melbourne's best Italian restaurants. The Melbourne Museum is just a short walk away and it's a short trip by tram or car to the Queen Victoria Markets, Regent Theatre or Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). Melbourne Airport is 20 minutes' drive by car. There are several versatile meeting and event areas available that are capable of seating from 15 up to 180 delegates. Amenities offered include dedicated bars, kitchen facilities, breakout rooms and a variety of catering packages from our in-house restaurant. Meeting and event packages are available with per person, per day charges for a simple and cost-effective way to produce a successful meeting or event. Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Melbourne Metropole Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Metropole Central Fitzroy, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing