We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Once again excellent hotel in the hot Melbourne summer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Metropole Central

Melbourne Metropole Central
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melbourne Metropole Central
canberra
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Once again excellent hotel in the hot Melbourne summer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at the Metropole for two days before Christmas. Room was plain but clean and tidy. One advantage is the ferociously good air conditioning, because on a 40 degree day you really want a refuge. There is also a nice pool. Only downside is the absence of in room movies to watch while you take refuge from the heat. Excellent location with a convenient 112 tram out the front door to Collins St. Friendly staff as always, with actual as opposed to feigned service. This time I forgot my iPhone charger and they lent me one for the duration. My favorite choice for a melbourne get away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altakoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    42
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
17
19
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Was a conference delegate two years previously and if anything they seemed to have upped their game this time.
Yu
Shared an apartment with a colleague and it had a marvelous view and good facilities. The carpet was a wee bit tired but all else very good.

Food at the conference was tasty,and the conference bar man worked his socks off. Food was not that veggie friendly or imaginative for intolerances (milk intolerance means leaves and salad).

Special positive mention to Damian who was so helpful - the other staff were good but he was best at helping me. All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macadhermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Central
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Excellent location, good price, beautiful courtyard and pool. Trams were noisy at times, but on the whole an excellent stay. Clean, good size, couch was in an odd position to view the tv and a lottle uncomfortable, but I assume it was a sofabed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had planned to stay in our new apartment in Fitzroy but on arrival the first evening we found power was not switched on and had to find a hotel closeby at short notice. The staff were most helpful and arranged a one bed apartment at a very competitive rate. We were so impressed we ended up staying 3 nights. The apartment was very well equipped, vey clean and the bed was vey comfortable (an important issue for us more mature travelers). We only had continental breakfast there but that was very good and a fair cost. One other important factor was the availability of secure under cover parking for our 4wd that was easy to access. Overall, very impressed and ideal for a long weekend stay in the City or an even longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatureTraveller48063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland.
Level Contributor
246 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Very good service from the hotel staff. I had a booking for a double room and was upgraded to the apartment as my company uses this hotel regularly. I had an awesome two storey aparmtnet for the 3 nights and loved it there. Full kitchen facilities were handy and plenty of space and very quiet there. Just a short walk down the street and there are some amazing restaurants to sample. I walked to Lygon St (around 40 mins) and nearby (only 10 mins)along Brunswick St or Victoria St for some great foodie spots too!

(The hotel cafe was a litte average and coffee not so good. Plenty of other spots nearby as Melbourne has fabulous options.)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinnaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

A great place to stay. Offer a great arrangement for families at st Vincent's. Staff very supportive and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. No hidden extras. Accessible to city. Easy to drive to from tullamarine fwy

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights on Melbourne Cup weekend. Although the Metropole is on busy Brunswick Street, our apartment was situated at the back of the building,hence no noise from the street. The apartment was clean and comfortable. The kitchen and bathroom and toilet looked like they had been recently renovated and the kitchen had everything we needed. Comfortable living area with plenty of room to move. Beds were comfortable too and I would rate the curtains in the bedrooms a 10 out of 10 for keeping the early morning light out! This was great for a light sleeper like me who does'nt like waking up at the crack of dawn. Only small complaint is the bathroom was very small - not much bench space and nowhere to hang/put your clothes. For those who like to self cater and don't want to be too far from the CBD the Metropole is ideal. Plus its great to have the Brunswick/Gertrude/Smith street precincts on the doorstep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,968 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adara East Melbourne
#104 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#25 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 5,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Metropole Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Metropole Central

Property: Melbourne Metropole Central
Address: 44 Brunswick St, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia (Formerly Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Fitzroy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fitzroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Metropole Central 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Melbourne Metropole Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Metropole Central Fitzroy, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing