We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining experience”
Review of Cutler & Co

Cutler & Co
Ranked #3 of 295 Restaurants in Fitzroy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Fitzroy
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our friends brought us here during our visit to Melbourne. Its certainly one of the best restaurant I have been. Perfect experience of delicious food, good wine, knowledgeable staff, good service in a beautiful restaurant Being regulars here, our friends recommended that we have the degustation menu which included a selection of different starters and main courses. we enjoyed every dish. Each dish was unique in terms of flavour, combination of the ingredients and the lovely presentation. We like the originality and creativity of the chef which shines through in the innovative dishes. It has been a beautiful evening of fabulous food, good wine, good company. Glad we had the chance to experience this. Will certainly insist to our friends to bring us here again when we are back in Australia.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingJoyElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    113
    48
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and wine with great staff”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I must admit that i booked this restaurant whilst visiting Melbourne as i could not get in to my first two choices. I have to say that i am very glad to have stumbled across this place in my searching for good quality restaurants in Melbourne. The food was most likely the best i have experienced in Australia and i like to dine at some good restaurants! We had the degustation and i could not fault any of the food we had. A stand out was the polenta, i had never really liked polenta and my husband did not realise it was supposed to be made from corn. The taste took my breath away i would go back just for some of that. Apparently its a real process to get it to taste that great with smoking and slow cooking of the corn etc. My mouth is watering as i write this!

Aside from the food being a stand out, i must praise Leanne who must be one of the best sommeliers in Australia. Great product knowledge, genuine care that you are happy with the product, knowing exactly when to give us more time and not interrupt the flow of our conversation, and a genuinely interesting and lovely person that is passionate about her work and of course wine!

I can't emphasize enough how much i recommend this restaurant. Five stars, five stars, five stars.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelAddictPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Respect for fine ingredients.”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Booked well ahead for a birthday treat (it's not cheap!) and was rewarded with an excellent meal full of inventive touches.We went for the'Menu Selection' degustation at 130 AUD with 6 dishes and 3 amuse bouches. Spanking fresh raw scallop with seaweed and soy broth and a snapper and eel ceviche showed respect for top ingredients. Heirloom tomatoes with sherry vinegar were a revelation- incredible taste. More followed in similar vein- excellent ingredients treated well.
Service was friendly and unstuffy.
This is a smallish ' shabby chic' place with good staff and fine food . Well worth a splurge every now and again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's up there”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Pride in their food is certainly evident. The tastes, textures and presentation were very good. I shared the roast suckling pig and it was delightful. The wine list was extensive. The atmosphere was a little disappointing, we had booked for 10 and were given a long table rather than a round or oval one. The service did not quite match the standard of the food and the wine prices were very inflated. Overall, while it was a pleasant experience, I was not overwhelmed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjmortons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Top class dining”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This restaurant has form and it is seriously good. The service is as one should expect given this restaurants provenance and the meal offering is up there but we had disappointments with the starters and the desert; just did not match the expectation. The suckling pig was so good it made the inadequacies of the other offering pale into the background. The wine list is extensive with prices to match but you can come away from 3 courses and good wines for $150 a head and still feel you got value; try it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JemoMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cutler & Co also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Cutler & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing