We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Modern Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tyrian Serviced Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely Modern Apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Wow these apartments are fab, home from home without a doubt. We booked these with WOTIF.COM which did give some false information when we booked it, like free wifi, breakfast pack and they are both chargeable.
The girl on reception was really good and gave us free wifi for the 4 days as we had proof to show what we had booked through this website, other wise this would of been A$50, we didn't bother about the breakfast pack as there was a Coles supermarket next door so we bought all our shopping there.
The apartment had a big living area/kitchen with all the appliances from washing machine and tumble drier, dishwasher, microwave, cooker you name it, it was there. The bed and linen was lovely and these apartments gets serviced everyday.
When we first turned up to the apartments in a taxi we did wounder about the area, but once you get out and have a look round it's a very quirky area with individual shops and some lovely little resturants and bars.
We caught the tram in to the centre which only takes 10 mins so it's not far, but you do need to buy your card before you board the trams, which we purchased from across the road at the 7eleven store.

I would highly recommend these apartments, they are not cheap by any means but well worth the money in my opinion.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe apartment they have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wirraltravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    32
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
53
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Partner and I visited Melbourne for the second time and booked in at the Tyrian Serviced Apartments in lieu of staying at a traditional hotel in the CBD. Cost was comparable to or less than a smaller hotel room in the CBD.

The location in Fitzroy was great, walking distance to the restaurants in Fitzroy, Carleton and an easy 5 minute tram ride to restaurants in the CBD. The one bedroom apartment included kitchen, washer dryer and a separate office area. Housekeeping was immaculate, with none of the problems with returing to an unmade bed that we experienced with more expensive accommodations elsewhere on the trip. Pleasant and helpful staff at front desk.

No restaurant in hotel but no need given the plethora of choices nearby. Excellent coffee at Brunetti next to hotel. Modern supermarket on the otherside of hotel was very handy

Highly recommended if you are on vacation and have any inclination to stay outside of, but adjacent to the CBD.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Johnston St. have great view of CBD with little street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsbrown93446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends for the weekend. The location was excellent for us, close to shopping, restaurants and bars in the very funky suburb of Fitzroy. We even walked into the city to see a play. The Tyrian apartments are a 25minute drive from the airport. The apartments are very clean and fresh. Toiletries were supplied and the apartments are serviced daily. The kitchen was well fitted out and with a coles supermarket just next door you can grab any supplies you may need. We were a group of six ladies and we were pleasantly surprised to have a very comfortable single bed each so no one had to share a bed. The front desk staff where very helpful and we also got a late checkout.

All in all a great destination for a girls weekend away!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julidooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here from 18th to 21st January. Decided to stay out of the CBD for a change, and after reading the reviews here I decided to book a Tyrian apartment. I stayed in a one bedroom apartment with my partner. The apartment was spacious and quiet (apartment 406), and in a pretty good location (Fitzroy, a trendy area with great restaurants and shops, and only a 15-20 minute walk to the CBD, and a 3km/30 min walk to Melbourne Park for the tennis). The apartment also had a well equipped kitchen and comfortable bed. The airconditioning was efficient. Only (quite minor) issue was that I found the couch a bit small and uncomfortable. Overall it was a pleasant experience and I would definitely recommend these apartments to people looking to stay out of the CBD of Melbourne.

Room Tip: You might like to request an apartment that is at the back of the complex as it will be more quiet t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drew_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Well located in what is often described as Melbourne's bohemian district a short 15 minute tram ride from the centre of Melbourne. The apartments are located on busy Johnston st which has a variety of bars & restaurants & a Coles supermarket. The downside of this is that there are noise issues late at night as patrons leave the bars & early mornings (5am!) with deliveries. If you're a light sleeper pack the ear plugs!

The apartment we stayed in ( 2 bedroom) was very comfortable & well equipped & looked exactly like the photos on the hotel website. Staff were mostly friendly although there were a couple who didn't even look up from their computer screen as we walked by which surprised me a little in a property of this size.

I would recommend this property to visitors who have travelled to Melbourne before & can spare the time for travelling to the main sites. Trams to the city run frequently during the daytime but less so in the evenings.

One of the main reasons we chose the Tyrian was because we were visiting for the Australian Open tennis & this was one property that did not triple their rates during this time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I had heard of Tyrian from family who, like me, wanted to stay in Fitzroy. The apartments are spacious with effective air conditioning which was a boon this year. Well fitted out with wine glasses, quality cutlery etc. Very pleasant receptionists.
It is a great location with Brunswick Street 50 metres away. This means access to numerous restaurants of every flavour, as well as the quirky collectibles shops in the area. Unusual fashion, multiple bookshops, with a real vibe. Also a supermarket 2 doors down, so collecting food was easy.
Not cheap, but one of the nicest apts I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The apartments are very nice indeed, modern, sleek, clean. The bed was comfortbale and the kitchen has everything you could want. If you like a slightly bohemian atmosphere this is a great location with lots of bars and restaurants and it is an easy tram ride to the city. In fact it is quite a pleasant walk. I would definitely stay here again.
My only complaint ( and the reason for 4/5)is that they charge the outrageous sum of 15 dollars a day for internet access. What is it with Australian hotels?. Paying over 200 dollars a night but no free wifi but the cafe and the pub next door does offer it! Not an issue if you have a smartphone, I suppose

Room Tip: Ask for a room on level three or four, at the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OwenHOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#40 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyrian Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyrian Serviced Apartments

Property: Tyrian Serviced Apartments
Address: 91 Johnston St, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Fitzroy > Fitzroy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fitzroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tyrian Serviced Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyrian Serviced Apartments provide 4.5 Star luxury accommodation in the heart of fabulous Fitzroy and the famous Brunswick Street District Tyrian Serviced Apartments have 36 spacious 1 bedroom, 1 bedroom deluxe, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and are full of life's luxuries. Wall mounted plasma TVs, Fisher & Paykel stainless steel appliances, fully equipped kitchens, DVD/CD/mp3 players, European laundry complete with washing machine and dryer and secure underground carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tyrian Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrian Serviced Apartments Fitzroy, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing