We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd visit - highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tyrian Serviced Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
New South Wales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“2nd visit - highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was a second stay at Tyrian and once again we were very happy with our stay. Beds are comfortable and the apartment has everything you need. The location is fantastic - so many places to eat and lots of interesting shops and downstairs a supermarket right on the doorstep! Very close to the city and free parking. This all makes it very good value for family accommodation in Melbourne

Room Tip: We preferred to corner room that we stayed in last time (overlooking Fitzroy St) as if felt a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    32
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
53
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

A weekend in which hotels and serviced apartments in the CBD were fully booked forced me to look further afield and led me to the Tyrian apartments. I am now glad that I did as the Tyrian apartments are excellent. Large, modern and well appointed they are located just off wonderful Brunswick street and only a short trip to the city. Great restaurants and shopping very close at hand. Staff were exceptionally friendly and the quality of the rooms excellent including very nice kitchen area. Only gripe was that the cleaning wasn't completely thorough during the stay but nothing too serious. Will definitely be back !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrentMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Enjoyed this nice little hotel. Great location, not cheap but pretty good value for what you pay, around 250 a twin but more space than usual, supermarket next door, great coffee shops restaurants, shopping , recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lgal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I now live in country victoria and had to head down to Melbourne for business. I lived in Fitzroy through my 20's, when I saw that I could stay near the corner of Johnson and Brunswick Streets, I couldnt beleive it, the coolest location in Melbourne.

If you're not familiar with melbourne; you are in the heart of the best coffee and souvlakis in melbourne, and 10 minute tram ride from melbourne cbd. used to have heaps of awesome pubs back in my day, but not anymore, maybe look at napier hotel for worlds best pub grub.

I got complemented to a huge room, just because, I'm no one important. sweet.

downstairs is "brunetti's", melbourne best coffee and pastries, if you even think about starbucks in comparison, you deserve to be punched in the face.

The people above me were loud until about 1am, but stuff it, your in fitzroy on a thursday night.

samsung big screen tv in lounge, decent one in bedroom too, heaps of features I never used. They let me keep my car in parking after checking out without paying extra. Classy

I'm excited, but I realised I will never be comped ever again and probably have to pay double next time. they deserve it

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

The best place to stay in Melbourne in our humble opinion. Very reasonably priced - good value - more $$ to spend on yummy food & clothes!! We have stayed in other places (eg Punt Hill Manhattan in Flinders Lane =shoebox small & same kinda price) but will always return to Tyrian! Just returned from our third stay!!! Would not consider staying elsewhere!! The apartments are well appointed and have the most comfy beds, pillows, quilts with roomy bathrooms (MOR products) and living areas. Great to have space and feel in luxurioius comfort - especially when when staying with a group of girlfriends. The staff are always accommodating - allowing us girls to have a late checkout - handy when we were exhausted from shopping till we drop and seeing Prince!! Such a fun, groovy part of town with loads of awesome foodie haunts - including Cutler & Co, Gigibaba, Arcadia, Marios, Ladro, Birdman Eating, Naked for Satan, etc,etc. Also loads of quirky cool fab shops (some remind me of pages freom a Frankie magazine) just love the Clear-it place - which has sooo many bargains to clear - from Allanah Hill, Gorman, Dangerfield, etc!! The place is within walking distance of lots - yet no screaming loud noise to keep you awake. I always return home sad to leave the place - but feeling refreshed & rejuvenated after a stressfree stay at our beloved Tyrian!! Cant wait to get back....

Ooo yerr Star Bus service from the airport is very handy $28 return for quick efficient mini bus door to door service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sameelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is a great location to stay. Fantastic shops are just at your doorstep. And trams, and taxis, and a supermarket.

The rooms were really comfortable, and had a nice level of luxury. The only down-side would be that the windows on the street side don't seem to be very well fixed. It feels like there is a breeze coming around the windows, and the noise from the street was really loud.

The staff were great, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyrianFitzroy, General Manager at Tyrian Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thanks so much for your lovely review Emma,

Just to let you know we are currently having all the front windows re-fit to make sure as little noise gets in as possible! So next time it should be extremely quiet!

Thanks again and hope this helps.

The Tyrian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I booked a 2 bedroom apartment for family and hosted drinks and canapes here for the Hens group before we walked to dinner.

We booked in advance and paid around $500 for the night because it was Grand Prix weekend (inflated rates to be expected at this time I suppose). With that said the apartment was very well set out, spacious and had lovely modern decor. The kitchen equipment was a pleasure to use and well set up for food preparation.

The one hiccup was that we booked 2 king beds to be split into singles, but when we arrived there was a queen and a king bed, we shared a bed, but it was a bit inconvenience and could have been awkward if we weren't family. We also needed a roll-away, it was $50 which is a bit pricey but was surprisingly comfortable to sleep on.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbrfurnished
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyrianFitzroy, General Manager at Tyrian Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thanks so much for your review cbrfurnished! I am so sorry to hear about the mixup about the king single beds and can assure you it will not happen next time! Great to hear everything else contributed to an enjoyable stay! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#40 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyrian Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyrian Serviced Apartments

Property: Tyrian Serviced Apartments
Address: 91 Johnston St, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Fitzroy > Fitzroy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fitzroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tyrian Serviced Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyrian Serviced Apartments provide 4.5 Star luxury accommodation in the heart of fabulous Fitzroy and the famous Brunswick Street District Tyrian Serviced Apartments have 36 spacious 1 bedroom, 1 bedroom deluxe, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and are full of life's luxuries. Wall mounted plasma TVs, Fisher & Paykel stainless steel appliances, fully equipped kitchens, DVD/CD/mp3 players, European laundry complete with washing machine and dryer and secure underground carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tyrian Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrian Serviced Apartments Fitzroy, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing