We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best stay in Melbourne” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooklyn Arts Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fitzroy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brooklyn Arts Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Fitzroy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best stay in Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

It's rare to find a hotel that has real character and warmth in such a good city location. This is our favourite place to stay in Melbourne for that reason... Great quality, price, atmosphere and location. The building is a beautiful old classic home, the rooms all individual and the shared bathrooms are great. We have stayed in three different rooms, one of them being the yellow room mentioned in a negative review below... And I have to disagree with that reviewer... Our experience was completely different, no damp or mildew smell/affects. Every room we have stayed in has been perfectly clean, as have been the bathrooms. There are dogs, but they are lovely and definitely part of the environment... Thanks Brooklyn!

Room Tip: Stay in a different room each time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateLouise-Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    23
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
29
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

On a recent trip to Melbourne I found this great little boutique hotel to be a real treat. The host was charming and the location so very convenient to Melbourne and Gertrude St.
You really feel like your in the middle of everything but without the noise and general chaos of big cities. Overall - excellent

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casteau, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

I had a Saturday night off work (a very unusual thing indeed) to spend in Melbourne with my girlfriend and a mate of mine suggested staying at the Brooklyn Arts Hotel. The first thing I could say is how convenient a location it is; so close to the city and northside plus getting southside in a taxi was super quick. The place is awesome, very antique and luxurious. Maggie helped us settle in before we headed out for the night, came back late and electric blankets had heated the bed up all nice and toasty. The ensuite was cute and the shower hot. Loved the little covered balcony too. Most importantly I had a great nights sleep, just what you need on a night off! Will definitely be staying again next time I head to Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robot_machine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Brooklyn for a few days while we explored Melbourne. We were in one of the double rooms in the house. It was really cosy with quirky decor which continued throughout the building.
It's in an great spot that's close to the city but in Fitzroy which was so much fun with great restaurants and bars nearby.
We loved the dogs but they're a dominant feature of the hotel so not a place for non-dog people.
Not your average hotel, but strongly recommended to those looking for a comfortable b&b

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gitsie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a quirky, cool hotel and I am sure that reviewers who stayed in rooms in the main house, en suite, had a different experience from me. My room was outside in the garden with a shared bathroom and shower that also was outside. The room was nicely decorated and very pleasant -- I loved it until I sat on one of the beds and slid off. The other bed was very comfortable so no worries. The room was cold, but they had plenty of blankets on the bed. The bathrooms had cobwebs, but I never saw a spider. It was loud and the room smelled like wet dog. Now, if I was paying very little for the room, I would not be that put out .... but it was not cheap for the level of comfort. I could have dealt with the rustic set up but for my allergies. The room was very damp and most certainly had mildew / mould - I am very allergic to both and to dogs. I had to leave the hotel after one night (no refund) exhausted.

This is just my experience; it is a very cool place and Maggie the hostess is lovely. I strongly recommend that you ask NOT to be placed in the "Yellow Room" - it must be the worst room in the house.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Fortheus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST SUSSEX, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

As it was our first visit to Melbourne, the BAH turned out to be conveniently located near two tram stops for journeys into and out of town and and just a short walk from the restauarants on Gertrude Street and midway between the areas of Smith and Brunswick streets.

This "hotel" is essentially just a B&B. Whilst certainly more than adequate for our needs, it might not suit everyone. We had the upstairs "Blue" room whch was comfortable. The whole place is definitely different and is extremely querky. Breakfasts are a self-help exercise on an informal mix-in basis. No frills but no reason to complain.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PIGASIMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austrailia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

It was ok the location was the best part of my stay it really is just a house full of rooms I had the upstairs Green room I am not a Fitzroy Yuppy by any means I stayed as it was close to my Sons Place But I did stand out as The different one,,, It is only for the Musician, Or the real Arty type crowd I did not feel comfortable there at all there is a small breakfast included I did not use this as I felt nervous in that I have absolutely nothing in common with this type of Establishment, and the Other Guests, The room was nice enough There is no Fridge, Tv,or Tea Coffee facility's it was all about the Location for me but would Deff suit the older younger Art lover and a home type environment.Found the price rather high But it's in Fitzroy All up for me it was just ok

Room Tip: Don't pick upstairs Room green the lights next door on nearly all night Not Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzygypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#25 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,566 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#16 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklyn Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklyn Arts Hotel

Property: Brooklyn Arts Hotel
Address: 48-50 George St, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Fitzroy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fitzroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooklyn is a perfect place to stay if you are not looking for a standard hotel room. It is beautiful, friendly, quiet, interesting, quirky and personal, within walking distance of central Melbourne. The atmosphere is relaxed and congenial. There is a garden to sit in and birds to listen to.Brooklyn is a big old house on the city edge of Fitzroy. You can walk through parks or take a tram a few minutes from the door, to city venues, stations and airport connections. Fitzroy’s great mix of people makes this one of the most interesting parts of Melbourne to hang out in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brooklyn Arts Hotel Fitzroy, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing