We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely different”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fitzroy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brooklyn Arts Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Fitzroy B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 1, 2014

As it was our first visit to Melbourne, the BAH turned out to be conveniently located near two tram stops for journeys into and out of town and and just a short walk from the restauarants on Gertrude Street and midway between the areas of Smith and Brunswick streets.

This "hotel" is essentially just a B&B. Whilst certainly more than adequate for our needs, it might not suit everyone. We had the upstairs "Blue" room whch was comfortable. The whole place is definitely different and is extremely querky. Breakfasts are a self-help exercise on an informal mix-in basis. No frills but no reason to complain.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PIGASIMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 97 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

It was ok the location was the best part of my stay it really is just a house full of rooms I had the upstairs Green room I am not a Fitzroy Yuppy by any means I stayed as it was close to my Sons Place But I did stand out as The different one,,, It is only for the Musician, Or the real Arty type crowd I did not feel comfortable there at all there is a small breakfast included I did not use this as I felt nervous in that I have absolutely nothing in common with this type of Establishment, and the Other Guests, The room was nice enough There is no Fridge, Tv,or Tea Coffee facility's it was all about the Location for me but would Deff suit the older younger Art lover and a home type environment.Found the price rather high But it's in Fitzroy All up for me it was just ok

Room Tip: Don't pick upstairs Room green the lights next door on nearly all night Not Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozzygypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was perfect for my stay and a great introduction to Melbourne. The location is fantastic, and it was the most reasonable rate I could find in an expensive city. My room was off a garden, and the place had an indoor outdoor character. Breakfasts were a nice time to chat with interesting guests from all over. Good coffee, good bread. It's a bit rough around the edges, but not in a seedy way. I felt totally at home. I shared a bath and shower. It's not for everyone, but I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is with out a doubt the best hostel we've ever stayed in. The owner Maggie makes a point of introducing herself to each guest and to make sure they're as comfortable as possible. The experience feels like you're staying at your best friends house in one of the best locations in Melbourne.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We loved our time at the Brooklyn Arts Hotel-welcoming ,comfortable and delightful .Maggie is a superb hostess . Great location too,surrounded by great cafe's and restaurants ,walking distance to the city and trams close by.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalamitySue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have stayed twice in this wonderful private hotel in a beautiful quiet street in the middle of Fitzroy. Maggie is the owner and ensures all guests feel welcome. Whether you choose to sit in the quaint lounge room or stick to your room this hotel caters for all. I met some wonderful artists and other travellers over breakfast in the morning. There are no TV,s and it is a quiet relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs front room or either of the downstairs front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbIe255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed here with my mum for my birthday for four nights. We found Brooklyn arts hotel to be a lovely little home away from home. Maggie was a great host and we enjoyed her company at breakfast. The building is full of interesting and quirky things, and has a beautiful little back garden. We stayed in the queen room downstairs, and it was nice and clean and very quiet at night. Maggie supplied a nice range of organic sourdough breads, a variety of fruit and lots of different jams etc. we were also offered porridge if we wanted. Maggie runs her hotel in a practical manner with the environment in mind. The place is old, but clean with nice roomy bathrooms. If you are after somewhere to stay in Melbourne with a bit of character and a friendly host, then you can't go past Brooklyn Arts Hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 162 in Melbourne
2,116 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 162 in Melbourne
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 162 in Melbourne
1,109 reviews
Fitzroy
Quest Royal Gardens
Quest Royal Gardens
#1 of 6 in Fitzroy
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklyn Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklyn Arts Hotel

Address: 48-50 George St, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Fitzroy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fitzroy
Price Range: $120 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooklyn is a perfect place to stay if you are not looking for a standard hotel room. It is beautiful, friendly, quiet, interesting, quirky and personal, within walking distance of central Melbourne. The atmosphere is relaxed and congenial. There is a garden to sit in and birds to listen to.Brooklyn is a big old house on the city edge of Fitzroy. You can walk through parks or take a tram a few minutes from the door, to city venues, stations and airport connections. Fitzroy’s great mix of people makes this one of the most interesting parts of Melbourne to hang out in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brooklyn Arts Hotel Fitzroy, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing