We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Third visit to Brooklyn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brooklyn Arts Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fitzroy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brooklyn Arts Hotel
Save
You added Brooklyn Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Fitzroy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Third visit to Brooklyn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is the third time I have visited Maggie's beautiful Fitzroy dwelling, each time with some girlfriends and we love it here, a true home away from home, and always someone interesting to talk to at the breakfast table. Here are some things I love about this small hotel and some reasons to stay here: stay here if you love the quirky and individual, each room is different (some fit 3 very comfortably so I always share with my girlfriends) and I love the old fashioned and recycled decor. stay here if you like a good chat around the breakfast table, but Maggie will introduce you to everybody so don't stay if you just want a couples time alone. Stay here if you want to be in the heart of Fitzroy (where else!) and you want to be able to stagger 50metres to some awesome wine bars and shops, don't stay if you want to come back and party at the hotel as it is not that kind of place. Walk across Fitzroy gardens to the centre of town. No public transport needed. Stay here if you want somewhere clean and colourful, but not if you mind walking down the corridor to a bathroom. Stay here if you care about the environment but not if you object to patting the labradors which greet you in the corridor (outside). Personally I will never stay anywhere else, no other hotel leaves such a warm glow, nor is as well located.

Room Tip: Each room is different. The upstairs ones probably quieter and more luxurious but I have always slep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    23
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
29
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Loved my stay with my best friend in Melbourne. I was so thrilled that she found this place as opposed to the rather sterile place we'd reserved. This was a joy. We were welcomed warmly and shown to our comfy, beautifully designed twin room. Lovely, functional and easy to keep clean wet room right next door (we knew we'd have to share). We felt like we were staying with friends. The house is buzzing with atmosphere. It's how I imagine an old fashioned guest house would have been in the early part of the 20th century, but with all the modern comforts. The wifi was free and reliable. Breakfast... a total joy. I'm gluten free, which meant I had my own loaf of artisan bread waiting for me in the morning! Toast to a Brit who is GF is a true true joy - I haven't had such good GF bread before or since. There was a huge selection of jams and spreads as well as cereals, milk and OJ. All help yourself and have as much or little as you like. The dining room was open all day (with it's own little fridge) and you could sit at the table or a comfy chair with a cup of tea/coffee any time you liked. Maggie is a delight. A practical and friendly landlady with interest in all her guests and a joy to chat to. The gardens are so beautiful - lovely rambling flowers with tables to sit at and thoughtfully placed bottled of mozzie spray for the evenings. The dogs just make it feel like a proper home.
I was loathe to review this on here as I wanted to keep it a secret - but I feel that some of the comments on here do need to be re-buffed.
Location is perfect for those of us who like to shuffle around quirky design shops, as well as cool coffee shops (the best cup of coffee in the world at the end of the road) and even a few discount shops up the road!

This isn't a hotel, it's an experience. We stayed 6 nights - and it was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LexieLou77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed in the Green Room for two nights after being upgraded from the Blue Room at no extra charge! Maggie was very lovely and accomodating, always willing to help us and wasn't upset at all when we misplaced our key. We were welcomed amazingly by a member of staff and the place as a whole was very cosy. Reasonably close to Brunswich St, an easy walk, but far enough away that you feel as though you are retreating from the hectic pace of the city as soon as you enter the doors. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HughPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Brooklyn Arts Hotel is EXACTLY as described on its website, so if that is what you're looking for, that is what you will indeed get. It's relaxed, comfortable, interesting and beautiful. The back garden is a joy. The big dining room table welcomes you at any time of day for a tea, a coffee, a piece of fruit or a biscuit and a read of the papers. The laundry is hung out in the fresh air on ingeniously arranged clotheslines at the back. The house runs like clockwork relative to the changing temperatures and weather: cool on the inside all the time despite record hot days while we were there. Staff are welcoming, calmly accommodating and professional. Breakfast is a shared pleasure among pleasant and interesting fellow-travellers oftentimes including owner Maggie. Thanks Maggie for a lovely week!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sixtysomethings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
694 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

my wife and i stayed in the green room for four nights, its a great palce to stay, well situated as its easy to travel into town and there are lots of eating palces nearby. the communial breakfasts where best when Maggie was present

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a find - friends of mine recommended the place and, when it was full, the charming owner Maggie re-arranged her study (the Hotel is a reconverted old mansion) into a single bed hotel room for me. I was even upgraded to a queen room the first night of my visit following a cancellation. The bathrooms - including the share ones - are very pleasant and clean. The place has a lovely, arty vibe - especially the rather crazily decorated breakfast / sitting room; the continental brekky itself is excellent: fresh breads, plunger coffee and loose leaf teas; fresh muesli, greek yoghurt and fruit etc. And the location - 1 min from Fitzroy's Gertrude Street (great cafes, bars and a tram stop) and 15 mins walk from Federation Square is sensational. I've read one or two negative reviews of this place from a couple of patrons. Those people are fools. You won't find better, affordable, B&B-type accommodation anywhere in Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FellowTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I'd have to agree with other reviewers on this site, the Brooklyn Arts is a gorgeous place to stay but it is let down by some basic maintenance issues.

We are 'arty' types and we love anything with character and eclectic taste, however this place is in serious need of some TLC. There's just no excuse for having 4cm gaps under the bedroom doors (especially with Melb's freezing weather), ricketty floors with missing floorboards are an OHS inccident waiting to happen, and stained sheets are a no-no in any kind of hotel. It's a beautiful old building and could easily be updated while still maintaining the reuse themes. These items we could put up with, but the biggest issue for us was the noise and lack of privacy. We could hear EVERYTHING from the rooms next door, we had people looking in our window everytime they walked past, and some guests seemed to find it hard to find their own room, walking into ours instead. As a result we were also conscious that other guests could hear us and so we didn't feel comfortable in our own room.

On the plus side - the location is fantastic! Right between the Fitzroy and Collingwood strips, and an easy tram ride into the city. The building is beautiful, the gardens are a lovely, relaxing place to chill out or read and the hosts are friendly and accomodating. They also have an area available for luggage storage if you arrive early/leave late, and the Star Bus shuttle services this hotel to/from the airport.

I would recommend the Brooklyn Arts Hotel for single travellers who need good access to the Fitzroy area.

Room Tip: Rooms in garden are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Quarrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,971 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,350 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#25 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 5,997 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklyn Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklyn Arts Hotel

Property: Brooklyn Arts Hotel
Address: 48-50 George St, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Fitzroy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fitzroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooklyn is a perfect place to stay if you are not looking for a standard hotel room. It is beautiful, friendly, quiet, interesting, quirky and personal, within walking distance of central Melbourne. The atmosphere is relaxed and congenial. There is a garden to sit in and birds to listen to.Brooklyn is a big old house on the city edge of Fitzroy. You can walk through parks or take a tram a few minutes from the door, to city venues, stations and airport connections. Fitzroy’s great mix of people makes this one of the most interesting parts of Melbourne to hang out in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brooklyn Arts Hotel Fitzroy, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing