We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We went for Lunch, next time will try breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fitz Cafe

The Fitz Cafe
Reserve with
The Fitz Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 289 Restaurants in Fitzroy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fitzroy
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We went for Lunch, next time will try breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had lunch here with a friend , we met in the middle for a catch up. The cafe is in busy Brunswick Road but for a Friday it wasn't too bad, plenty of metered parking on the street. The cafe itself is very clean with polished concrete floors and a mix of tables and bench seating, lots of seating outside had it been warmer we would have sat out there. The menu had a great variety and specials on the board ranged from soup to roo fillets. My friend had the. Salmon and I had the chicken and honey risotto both were delicious and generous servings.
Staff (all male, no big deal just realised it when driving home) were very attentive and polite. Breakfast goes to 4pm so next time I'll try that hopefully the weather will be nicer. Nice little spot well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysdreaming2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    59
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
116 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great coffee, great service, relaxed atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Met up with an old friend for a leisurely breakfast. The service was efficient, friendly and relaxed. I had the Heavenly Open Sandwich - a great choice. My friend had fruit salad and yoghurt and enjoyed it. I will certainly go back.

Helpful?
Thank NicksSuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Top Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

5 ladies from Perth were staying in Johnston Street, Ftizroy from the 22th to 26th August 2013 - we had dinner at the Fitz on the 22 August and breakfast on the 25th and 26th. The food was wonderful in taste and presentation and the service matched it. I even had a take away soup on the 23rd was was treated so well, the soup was delicious. We all would go back and recommend it to others.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great for Sunday breakfasting with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

With a nice sunny outlook and indoor/outdoor dining options this cafe is a great place to sit and people-watch while drinking a cup of coffee and tucking into a delishious hearty breakfast. Their home brewed chai lattes are among the best. Weekends tend to get busy so arrive early to avoid disappointment.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlChern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Great food and prompt friendly service. We visited for lunch with our 6 and 8 year old children and were surprised how well the children were attended to - it wasn't a problem to split a drink or meal for them to share, and we weren't made to feel put of place being there with children. The food was awesome and was quite quick in arriving... A very enjoyable lunch in a great funky vibe venue... Loved it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fitz Cafe also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Fitz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing