We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dean Lafosse at Pedros

Dean Lafosse at Pedros
Reserve with
Dean Lafosse at Pedros is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Binibeca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $38
Cuisines: Contemporary, Mediterranean, European, British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Dean Lafosse at Pedro's is situated in Cala Torret on the picturesque south coast of Menorca, close to Binibeca, a popular area for tourists due to its beautiful sandy bay and the well known "Pueblo de Pescadores" which is a magnet for many visitors to the island. Our restaurant enjoys amazing views of the coastline of Menorca, from the first floor open windows which overlook the stunning bay of Cala Torret, where you can see as far as the lighthouse on the Isla del Aire near Punta Prima. We hope you choose to come to "Dean Lafosse at Pedro's" to enjoy some really great food, a warm welcome and friendly service. We take pride in serving delicious, homemade food here in relaxed surroundings. Gluten free options are available,and we also cater for private events,buffets,bbqs and picnics upon request. Dean & Jo Lafosse
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We ate here, in this lovely Cala Torret restaurant, three times during our fortnight’s holiday. Dean and Jo have taken over Pedro’s, which under the previous tenants was a very popular restaurant bar, which we regularly visited. I am pleased to say that we were not disappointed. Right from the friendly welcome from Jo to the lovely food this was a very good experience.
The menu is different from the typical ‘holiday fare’ in that it is advertised as a Mediterranean and International cuisine. It is delicious and I can recommend the Italian chicken, sea bream and confit shoulder of lamb. My wife enjoyed her fillet steak and salmon too. The mains are typically served on a bed of mash with a skewer of Mediterranean vegetables and sauté potatoes or chips. I preferred the sauté potatoes over the chips. I didn’t have enough room for a dessert, but they looked delicious and some are home-made, as opposed to only having the various mass produced ice cream desserts you often get in other restaurants.
Children are very welcome and there is a selection on the menu for them.
The waiters are all Spanish, who speak excellent English and are very friendly and attentive without being overbearing. Jo does an excellent job as front of house and makes a point of meeting and greeting everyone. I know from others who have eaten here (expats and English owners) that the traditional Sunday lunches are excellent and the ‘sharing plates’ we saw going into the bar are also popular.
We’re looking forward to going back next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeeZeeNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    62
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and stunning views of the bay of Cala Torret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We met Dean and Jo at their opening night in May 2013 - a fantastic success.

We have since been back to Cala Torret and dined at Dean Lafosse at Pedro's another four times. The food is wonderful - I can definitely recommend the Roasted Salmon Fillet, the Cod, and the Fillet of Beef.

Another lovely surprise - we went for a drink in their bar overlooking the sea on a Friday evening, we were presented with free tapas, which apparently occurs every Friday night. Not only was the tapas gorgeous, there was plenty of it!

A very romantic setting with stunning views, great food and service.

See you again in May 2014. Best regards Steph & Mark

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlafosse, Gerente at Dean Lafosse at Pedros, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi Steph & Mark, Thanks for your lovely comments, it was great to meet you and we're so glad you enjoyed your visits to our restaurant. See you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just returned from a second trip to Pedros. What a lovely find. Top class food and service in a lovely setting. Prawns Tempura particularly tasty and melt in the mouth fillet of beef. Thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 0708Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Food & Scandals Loss :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

After being the Chef at Scandals in Es Castell, Dean finally setup on his own. We went there as a table of 6 in Aug. The location although tricky to find is great and the views over the sea superb. We had a number of different starters which were nice however (Dean, please add Mushroom Rissotto as a starter instead of a main).

3 of us had the Lamb which as usual superb. Dean always supplies really good food and its so good to see him generating some business. Shame he left Scandals in Es Castell however there loss it seems is Deans Gain.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gezzerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlafosse, Gerente at Dean Lafosse at Pedros, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to come and try our restaurant. We're really pleased you enjoyed Dean's cooking once again and we just wanted to let you know that we would be very happy to offer a mushroom risotto as a starter even though it is on the menu as a main course. If you come again, please feel free to ask! Best wishes, Dean & Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pedros Cala Torret Menorca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I first sampled the food at Deans Opening night and the tapas where to die for.
The resturant is ideally situated overlooking the Ocean ,have cocktails in the bar prior to enjoying the excellent food on the menu

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rmswhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dean Lafosse at Pedros also viewed

 
Binibeca, Minorca
Binibeca, Minorca
 

Been to Dean Lafosse at Pedros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing