We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful, relaxing and characterful place for...”
A beautifully restored Mill in the heart of Andalucia. Easy access Granada,Ronda, Cordoba, Malaga
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautifully restored Mill in the heart of Andalucia. Easy access Granada,Ronda, Cordoba, Malaga
The big Old Bakery kitchen with 2 ovens, 4 sinks, dishwasher and large tables Large country villa with swimming pool, sports court, easy access to Granada, Malaga, Cordoba, Ronda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
A beautifully restored Mill in the heart of Andalucia. Easy access Granada,Ronda, Cordoba, Malaga
The big Old Bakery kitchen with 2 ovens, 4 sinks, dishwasher and large tables
Large country villa with swimming pool, sports court, easy access to Granada, Malaga, Cordoba, Ronda
Holiday in the heart of Andalucia. Large secluded gardens, private pool, sports court, yoga studio
Private swimming pool set in large secluded gardens
Large dining room next to the Old Bakery kitchen
Swimming pool and terraces set in 3 acres of private gardens
A large double bedroom with Queen-size bed and en-suite shower room
A twin bedroom overlooking the central courtyard
Large double bedroom with Queen-size bed and en-suite bathroom
Beautiful double bedroom with en-suite shower room and door to the gardens
Large living room with beamed ceiling, wood-stove fireplace and door to gardens
View over part of the gardens
One of 7 bathrooms - this one is en-suite
The vine-shaded courtyard
Breakfast in the Old Bakery kitchen
El Molino del Conde's ducks - Hammond, Ethel and May
A Wedding celebration at El Molino del Conde
The Mill Room Studio - A large heated studio for pilates, yoga, art instruction, indoor cinema
El Molino del Conde
Evening light on El Molino del Conde
The swimming pool terraces at night
As well as large gardens, El Molino has several peaceful, shady terraces
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
10 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Villanueva de Tapia, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
pilkhind
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful, relaxing and characterful place for big parties”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I booked El Molino del Conde for my grown up family and their friends. Kimberley was incredibly helpful, helping us to settle, advising us on local facilities and always being available if we needed help. El Molino is a beautiful place, full of character and with wonderful facilities: a a great pool and covered patio, badminton court and table tennis. There are lots of smaller patios if you want a quieter space and the place feels amazingly tranquil and secluded.

The main house has a wonderful, rambling feel to it with a well equipped kitchen and space for large parties to eat, either inside or outside. The annexe provides self-contained accommodation, ideal for our daughter and her boyfriend and our son and his girlfriend.

The house is perfectly placed to explore the local area: Iznajar is a beautiful little town with a delightful Moorish castle. Villanueva de Tapia has a good range of shops. The nearest large supermarket is at Archidona, a lovely hill top town. We managed to get to Ronda, Granada, Cordoba and Antequera during the week that we were there, all are within 90' of the house.

I would wholeheartedly recommend El Molino to anybody taking a large party on holiday. It is perfect!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed June 20, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are a group of 15 mature friends who have enjoyed walking holidays in the UK over the last 9 years. For our 10th anniversary we wanted to do something special so we booked El Molino for a week in June. We weren't dissapointed as it met all of our needs and what you see on the website is what you get. The converted mill has retained so much character with some original quirky features. Yes, there are some low doorways and a few uneven steep steps, but this in no way detracts from how fabulous this house is. The swimming pool and garden area are superb and if you can't relax here you never will. The house manager Kimberley was brilliant and always at the end of a phone to assist with any problems. Nothing was too much trouble and her help was invaluable. We booked two local Spanish ladies she recommended to cook for us on our first night but they were so good we ended up booking them for the rest of the week. There was more than enough food to eat which was always well cooked and presented. They do absolutely everything from the shopping, preparation, cooking, serving, washing up and all at a reasonable cost. Kimberley also arranged airport transfers for us with a local mini bus company who were so good, we also booked them for trips to Iznajar, Sevilla and the not to be missed Caminto del Rey walk. We always thought our biggest problems would revolve around food, cooking and transport but we need not have worried as we were so well looked after by Kimberley. She definitely played a major part in making our holiday something really special to remember. We all very much hope to return to El Molino sometime in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick F
Biggin Hill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect family event venue”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2016

This review is a bit late....there's been a lot going on.....but we could not miss letting everyone know about El Molino.

My wife was looking for a venue for a 20+ family gathering for her 60th birthday celebration, and stumbled upon El Molino which seemed perfect. She booked in March 2015 for a week in July 2016, and was lucky that the week was available.

There were numerous prior communications with the Manager, Kimberley, to ensure that everything went well. Carole was very exacting in what she wanted and Kimberley was very helpful and accommodating.

When we arrived we found that the house was everything we wanted and more. The website photos really do not do it justice, and did not prepare us for how beautiful the venue is, both house and grounds, when you are there. It is truly stunning.
The layout was perfect for our extended family from 5 to 67 in age, the facilities superb, the grounds beautiful.
As we were there in July it was extremely hot; luckily for us the air conditioning had been extended to include the hayloft. (Our only negative comment would be that in July / August we feel that fixed or mobile a/c should ideally be offered in all bedrooms).

Several of our meals were cooked and served by 'the Spanish ladies' (Isabel / Nieve) and were superb, plentiful and extremely good value. On these occasions they also did the shopping too. For those that wanted to do their own food, the facilities were great and there was plenty of room to store things, and to move around in the kitchen(s) comfortably. There is also a big barbeque, and two of our group were on regular BBQ duties.

Carole had originally booked a mobile chef for her special meal but when that arrangement didn't work out, she asked the Spanish ladies to do it, and was so glad that she did.
Kimberley had organised the Spanish guitarist / singers and flamenco dancers for the evening, and they were fantastic, making the evening very special.

This was a wonderful opportunity and setting to spend quality time as a family. Days were spent mostly around the pool, visits to the Alhambra, and boating on the nearby lake.

The chickens provided us with lovely fresh eggs daily, and the children enjoyed collecting them. A special mention goes to a very well behaved local dog who the children became very attached to, naming him Toby, whilst the adults called him El Scrapitano, since he very much enjoyed our generosity and hospitality. The cats didn't really get much of a look in.

El Molino does not have any near neighbours, and whilst we are not particularly noisy people, we did not feel at all restricted, and played music all day around the pool and into the night.

We all loved it so much and were gushing about El Molino, and friends have already booked it for 2018.

Thank you for a terrific and memorable time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique tranquil home”
Reviewed July 8, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I selected other because we traveled with friends, extended multi-generational family, and at times we were a large group.We stayed for two weeks this June...some of our group of 16 stayed the entire time; others stayed three, four, eight, or ten days. About half of us were over sixty, the other half less than 40, including one toddler. The occasion was my husband's 70th birthday celebration. El Molino was a great venue in which to celebrate. Some visited the surrounding towns and cities, including Seville, Granada, Córdoba, Malaga, and Ronda, as day trips. Others spent most of their time at the villa enjoying the tranquillity. The birthday dinner, prepared at the villa by two local women, was a perfect celebration meal. We supplemented the tapas, paella, and ribs with our own sangria, both red and white. EVERYONE had the best time during the stay at the villa. Kimberly, the manager, was great at her job. The only thing I wish I had known ahead of time would have been the steep, and uneven, steps going to the top level of the main house. Luckily, we were in good shape when we arrived...and in great shape at the end of the two weeks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Communication with manager and owners, location, uniqueness
Liked least: Not all bedrooms have A/C...
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themcclel...
Largs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, relaxing week”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We are a group of friends who have a trip away together every year . The house and grounds are beautiful and comments from the group were ' best trip yet' .
Kimberly was really helpful with local knowledge, although it was a little more than 20 minutes walk to the local bar.
All the rooms were very comfortable but I would say that some of my taller friends found the low beams interesting!
We loved the fresh eggs every day and the peaceful countryside. A fantastic house, we would definitely recommend it and visit again.
The gang.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful surroundings and degree of comfort
Liked least: The cat , but we are dog people
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margi10E
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from a stay at El Molino del Conde during May 2016 and it was wonderful. I wish we could have stayed on for longer. The house was everything it seems to be on the website, very spacious and welcoming. The grounds were lovingly tended, green and lush with flowers, lemon trees, cherries, lavender, and roses scenting the air. We spent our mornings over coffee around the pool listening to the bird song that filled the air.
The house is well stocked with everything you may need for a large group. There is an outdoor grill, two indoor cookers, and two fridges. There is a good notebook full of local info to help you navigate the area. The house is within a few miles of a major road so access to the larger tourist areas is quite easy for day excursions.
We were a family of twelve, older siblings and spouses, without the kids. There are stairs to navigate and at least one of the bedrooms is accessed through another bedroom but that was not an issue for us.
The caretaker, Kimberley, was a huge help and met us at the house for a welcome and a tour to show us around upon arrival. She was charming, lived nearby, and was available by phone during our stay if anything was needed.
One of the highlights of our stay was a visit from the goat herder who lives up on top of the hill overlooking El Molino. He came down with his herd of goats, their bells ringing all the way down the hill, and offered us fresh goat milk which he proceeded to get from the nanny goat right there in the field in front of us. We made goat milk flan and goat milk pancakes with eggs from the house hens and milk from the herders goats. Delicious!
We all loved our stay at El Molino del Conde and would love to go back. We would also recommend it to others looking for a wonderful stay in the countryside of Andalucia.
Thank you Nick and Amanda for restoring this lovely property and making it available for holiday renters!
Margi T, Austin Texas

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor areas, the gardens and the bird life. The location.
Liked least: Need good knives in the kitchen. Free the ducks!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janbo53
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We were a large group of family and friends - 7 adults and 4 children. The Mill is big and rambling and very pretty, with lots of nooks and crannies for us to get into. The area around the pool has plenty of shaded areas and a huge table for us to eat around. It was comfortable and clean, with piles of toys and games for the children, books, squashy sofas, a generous amount of crockery , pots and pans in the kitchen. The manager, Kimberley was helpful and friendly and her attitude contributed to the overall feeling of generosity. She arranged for all the beds to be made up, for instance, which meant we could be flexible about where we slept. Even the chickens were generous -we had more eggs than we knew what to do with!
If you are coming with young children, you should be warned that the pool area isn't fenced off in any way and is very near the house. We had a couple of 3 year olds with us so we had to be constantly vigilant and always have an adult on duty.

Overall, a magical holiday and a great place to stay

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the small patio with the morroccan table.
Liked least: our bed was small.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing