We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lagar El Buho

View of farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of farmhouse
Farmhouse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
View of farmhouse
Farmhouse
Pool terraces with views
Farmhouse Kitchen
Shaded terraces
Rustic outside dining area
Kitchen entrance
Kitchen patio
Hallway
Dining room
Master bedroom
Twin bedroom
views from patio
Lounge
Table tennis with views
Master ensuite
Outside dining
View on arrival
Outside kitchen/bar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Colmenar, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
vtmu
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neglected”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I will start this review by stating that I have never left a review before but felt compelled to do so in order to help others make a more accurate judgement and also, to perhaps inspire the owner into refreshing this very tired property......

There is no doubt that this attached villa is in a beautiful spot with stunning scenery but the advert on both Owners Direct and Trip Advisor is misleading. This villa is attached to another property and we actually saw another person walking on our roof and overlooking the pool area. Unfortunately, despite the fact that the property has huge potential, it is undoubtedly tired and rather unkempt both in and outside of the property. We expected a rustic charm but one working fan when we arrived during a heat wave was really taking the mickey. In fairness, the owner mended the 1 existing ceiling fan after a couple of days and provided, albeit tiny fans, for the children's rooms. The property is habitable both in and outside but a few things could have made this a much better experience. For instance, better fans - or air conditioning; a comfortable seating area outside with proper lighting, clean cushions (not ripped and threadbare) and pool area, not covered in bird droppings; sealed walls etc to stop or deter ants nests appearing: sealed mesh on the doors and windows to prevent mosquitoes flying in at night and bed linen changed as promised, on a weekly basis.
I will say that we still enjoyed our holiday because we were determined that after saving all year to go on holiday, we would do. However, for the money we spent - this property was not worth it.

Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a peaceful and beautiful place to stay! My parents in law joined my husband and I and our three children for a week's holiday and we have a wonderful time. The villa is comfortable and well equipped and the garden is very pretty.
We used the pool a lot and all played a lot of table tennis!
Angela, the owner, was very welcoming and helpful.
I would highly recommend this property for a relaxing holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longtimea...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Idyllic setting, breath-taking views & tranquility in abundance!”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The views from this beautifully restored farmhouse are spectacular. It’s situated in a wonderfully peaceful location and all that can be heard are the gentle tinkle of the goat’s bells as they pass by with their herder.
The farmhouse is equipped with everything you could possibly need for your stay and is wonderfully comfortable and inviting. Breakfast was taken care of most days courtesy of the resident chickens.
The owner (Angela) was very helpful & informative (without being obtrusive) and told us about local places of interest/restaurants and even booked a table along with taxi for us!
We stayed here for a week, the weather was perfect and all 4 of us had a thoroughly relaxing time, just wish we’d booked for a fortnight.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the property & location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evs59
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful scenery, peaceful setting, lovely big house with everything you need”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Lagar el Buho for 9 nights as part of our 25th wedding anniversary holiday and loved every minute of it.
It's like staying in someone's (well furnished) home as opposed to the usual holiday let.
We would highly recommend it to anyone looking to get away from it all - or for a group looking for their own little party-haven.
Angela, the owner was also very helpful and the local supermarket has virtually all you might need (at very good prices).
Thank you - we'll be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting and house
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All you could want from a villa holiday and more!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I cannot stress how much me and my family enjoyed staying here. We were literally breathtaken from the moment we arrived. It is impossible not to be when you set eyes on the sprawling spanish villa, set on the side of a beautiful hillside, with views that go on for miles and miles. This villa is of a very high standard and met all our needs and more. As a large group of 6, this villa housed us so comfortably. The you go outside to the pool area and you are met with a beautiful, decent sized sparkling pool and loads of comfortable sun loungers. Not to mention the numerous areas for eating al fresco. Both under a shade should you want to escape the midday sun. We barely left the villa except to stock up on food and drink. The views in the evening were spectacular.
I could go on and on about this place but take my word, book it and you will be guaranteed an excellent holiday.
Angela was the perfect blend of helpful and discrete in that she left us alone to enjoy the property but was always on hand should we need anything. She recommended a very decent restaurant, booked us a table and even ordered the taxi. You can't ask for me.
Thank you Angela for making my mum's 60th birthday such a special one. See you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 14, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stratford, Canada
Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazingly wonderful hostess, amazing views, amazing accommodation, so easy to relax here.
Liked least: That we had to leave !
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing