We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful villa, spectacular scenery”
other travelers have booked this property
Large pool and outside dining area with large table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large pool and outside dining area with large table
The kids love the pool! Views to die for. This is facing south towards the sea. Photo taken from the verandah.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Large pool and outside dining area with large table
The kids love the pool!
Views to die for. This is facing south towards the sea. Photo taken from the verandah.
Relax and enjoy the view with a glass of wine
Barbecue time! 
We spend most summer meals by the pool.
Fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher
Fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher
All round views and plenty of fresh air.
Large open plan living area
Dining table for internal dining when not by the pool.
Breakfast on the patio.
Large master bedroom with en-suite shower room and built in cupboards.
Second upstairs double bedroom.
One of the twin bedrooms.
Second twin bedroom
Downstairs double bedroom with en-suite
Second downstairs double bedroom with en-suite
Both downstairs bedrooms  also have a single bed
Table for sitting with a coffee outside the downstairs bedroom
Games and Utility Room.
Breakfast on the back terrace.
Surrounded by olive and almond trees
All round views of open countryside
Totally private and yet only 10 minutes drive from the nearest village
Totally private
A good dirt road leads up to the house from the tarmac main road.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Colmenar, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sarah C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa, spectacular scenery”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Myself and family members stayed at this wonderful villa for one week. We were a group of 12 with 5 adults and 7 kids (ranging from 3 years to 14 years). We only wished we'd booked for longer!
The pictures do not do this villa justice - all of us were so impressed with how beautiful this place really is. Yes, the drive up to the villa is a little bit of an 'experience' (and as recommended a 4x4 rather than a little car is definitely the best way to go!). However, once you've done the journey a couple of times, its absolutely fine.
We were greeted with a wonderful view and a lovely 'home from home' villa. Thanks to Colin and Mary for the complimentary bottles of wine too - very welcomed after our travels :o)
Everything you need is here - it really is a home from home (although we couldn't find any oven gloves!). The kids had hours of fun in the pool, and the fact that li-lo's and balls etc were left too added to the fun. (We appreciated this so also left a couple of li-lo's for other families to enjoy).
The weather was changeable. We had a couple of very overcast days but in general it was hot and sunny. We visited the Aqua Park in Mijas which was good for younger kids....but try and book online for extra discounts.
Thank you Colin and Mary once again for letting out such a lovely villa. We all enjoyed it and were sad to leave. We hope to be back some day soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool definitely
Liked least: car hire with Goldcar
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your holiday and thank you for the lovely review. We would be delighted to see you back - and we offer a discount to returning guests! ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat A
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet Holiday”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our whole family (8 people) stayed at Piltraque for one week in August. The weather, not unexpectedly was very hot and the air con in the villa was very welcome. The description of the villa is very accurate with the added adventure of negotiating the track up to it. It was quite exciting the first time we drove up to the villa, but after a few trips in and out we got the hang of it and found it was best to go slow, in bottom gear and enjoy the view. The position of the villa is amazing, sort of hanging on the side of a mountain, surrounded by steep slopes covered in almond and olive trees. A farmer was harvesting the almonds while we were there and we vow never to question the price of almonds again. The villa is very large, with 2 large en suite bedrooms downstairs, which were very cool even on the hottest day. Upstairs, the master bedroom has air con, but the others were a bit warmer (mostly because my family err on the side of caution and refuse to have the windows open at night!) I would not hesitate to recommend this property if you, like us, want a remote, comfortable and private accommodation. Don't think it would suit anyone who likes to shop easily! Stunning views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and the views
Liked least: The track, although not too bad.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2015
Thank you for the kind review. We are so glad you and your family had a great stay at Piltraque - I know you said this would be one of your most memorable holidays and I loved some of the photographs you shared with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe L
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Blissfully Peaceful”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We drove up to the villa and both went 'wow'! It was even better than we had imagined and when we went inside and walked out onto the verandah and looked at the view we felt the strain of the journey and work drain from us.

The villa is very well equipped and very comfortable. On its own in the countryside it is uber peaceful - sitting by the pool with a glass of wine watching the swifts diving down and drinking from the pool felt like a million miles from our normal city life.

We only had a week, but it felt like a fortnight's holiday and we were very loath to leave. I am sure we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet!
Liked least: The dirt road although this was not too bad.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
So glad you enjoyed yourself - it is as you say 'uber peaceful'. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo H
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning luxury- perfect holiday destination”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had the most relaxing holiday ever here.The villa is absolutely beautiful with every possible gadget available including WiFi, essential for teenagers!
The weather was very hot and the air conditioning a real blessing. When all the doors and windows are open there is also a cooling breeze blowing through which made the villa a calm and comfortable place to eat, drink and relax. The pool is fantastic and the many towels and loungers made using it a continual pleasure. Having the dishwasher, washing machine, gas barbecue and every conceivable kitchen utensil also added to the comfort and enjoyment of the holiday.
It was amazing to wake to the quiet countryside in the morning, only to be broken by the farmer's tractor later in the day. The swifts flying overhead were also stunning to watch from the pool and breakfast terrace.

All in all, a truly stunning villa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2015
So pleased you had a wonderful holiday in our 'Spanish Home' ... we love it out there. We would love to see you back sometime (we give returning guests a discount!).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna201...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect, relaxing holiday with friends”
Reviewed May 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Came with my husband and some friends for a week. It was better than we could have hoped for. So relaxing, we spent days just chilling by the pool! Loved the tranquility of the place and the wildlife. When we went, there were lots of pretty wildflowers and swallows flying about. My favourite place in the house was the breakfast terrace, to sit quietly and watch the world go by.

Although it felt like we were in the middle of nowhere, we found that the house was perfectly located for days out - we went to Setenil de las Bodegas and Ronda, Antequera and El Torcal, and a beach in the Malaga area. It was really handy to have Riogordo close by for when we needed top-up shops (more wine!) and so many restaurants in the nearby area.

We had a great holiday and would recommend this villa to anyone who wants a holiday away from the crowds! I'm sure we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2015
So glad you had a good time - hope you managed to get plenty of climbing in. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitymay
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Peace & quiet with incredible views”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Piltraque is a secluded villa in the rolling Spanish hills, with the terrace and pool area enjoying stunning views over orchards of olive and almond trees. We found the villa to be clean, modern and well-equipped. We found everything we needed in the kitchen, from a cheese grater to a small herb & spice collection, and the dishwasher was a godsend. In May, the pool area benefited from sun all day until around 7pm, and there was even a collection of board games should we have found ourselves having a rainy day. The Wi-Fi was fast and fairly reliable, and although the track up to the villa was at first fairly arduous to drive, we got used to its foibles quickly and found it no trouble after a couple of days.

The area was lovely, with the Spanish towns of Riogordo and Colmenar nearby the perfect antitdote to the "Brits abroad" atmosphere of Malaga and other towns on the coast. We were also within easy driving distance of Ronda and other places of interest. The cost of eating in the area was so cheap that we ate out almost every day, and a special mention must go to Maison El Pilar in Colmenar, which was our favourite restaurant of the trip.

In all, Piltraque was an excellent find and we would have no hesitations about staying here again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beautiful views, the peace and quiet
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2015
Delighted you enjoyed your stay. It is a most wonderful part of Spain and having the option to either remain in the peace and quiet of the countryside or join in with the activity of the local villages is a real bonus.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Reviewed August 31, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views were spectacular
Liked least: Pool needed frequent attention
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 19, 2015
Glad you enjoyed yourselves. There really is a huge amount to explore in the area. You are welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing